Reviews Cheerful Chilli

OtleyVegetarian, Vegan, British££££
Excellent
5.2/6
248 Reviews
Cheerful Chilli Leeds image 1
Cheerful Chilli Leeds image 2
Cheerful Chilli Leeds image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

248 Cheerful Chilli Reviews

Read reviews about Cheerful Chilli here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Cheerful Chilli. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Cheerful Chilli.

Excellent
5.2/6
248 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Carolyn G.9 hours ago · 1 review

Party of seven only one vegetarian, everybody loved it. Had the banquet. Food was lovely, tasty and well presented. Service was good.

"Excellent"
6/6
Anne H.19 days ago · 2 reviews

We both enjoyed our tasty starters and main courses. Too full on this occasion to enjoy a desert but they looked delicious too.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jacqui M.22 days ago · 1 review

Brilliant little place. Would definitely visit again. Just wondered with it being in otley if pets are allowed.

"Excellent"
6/6
Viv T.a month ago · 1 review

We shared a starter which was delicious. Discrete tables. Very pleasant service. Generally an excellent evening.

"Good"
4/6
Michael D.2 years ago · 2 reviews

We've been visiting the Cheerful Chilli on and off for 20 years or so seeing it grow from its (very) humble beginnings to present day and with consistently good food and value throughout. This visit however was not one of the best experiences we've had. First of all the option to take alcohol is now banned as there have a licence to sell so the attraction to that was a good selling point for a very reasonable night out. Second the food quality on this occasion was not quite on it. My partner loves the blue cheese burger they have produced for many years to find it has been removed from the menu. Costs of making it was the reason given. Great shame, she would have happily paid what it takes to make it profitable. There's nothing quite like it anywhere else. The echilladas chosen as the replacement were also not of the quality experienced in previous times. Apparently they ran out of cheddar cheese so replaced it with mozzarella which was tasteless. The Kerala curry I had was particularly good however so recommend that to anyone. All in all the Cheerful Chilli still represents a quirky, reasonably priced night out, even factoring in the wine and 3 courses with coffee it comes in cheaper than most other restaurants we visit so I am being harsh with this review. Everything goes around I find so maybe this is the Chilli's little dip in form. Get it back guys, you deserve more than what I've said in this review. I want to be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Roy E.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our first visit to The Cheerful Chilli and this will not be our last. With a drive of 45 minutes you really do hope the food is going to be good. Well it was excellent. We had 3 starters, 3 mains with a shared jerk halloumi salad and 3 puddings (One was my favorite was cheesecake). In addition 4 glasses of wine and water. The price was £70. All the food was fresh, vibrant, colourful and obviously homemade. With anything home made there is that expected wait, which there was. Nothing crazy but you should be forewarned. The wait is worth it. How come this has been running for 18 years and I have just found out about it. Now my favourite vegetarian place to go.

"Bad"
2/6
Linda J.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Three of us went to the Cheerful Chilli on 30 August 2017 and were very disappointed. We had been last year and loved it. We had booked and when we arrived we were taken upstairs. The guy who showed us to our table mumbled something about Indian buffet and touched what we thought was a menu but it was a list of drinks. At least twenty minutes passed and we had to shout out at a waitress who had finally come up to bring some food to another table. She tried to ignore us but some people at another table told her we were trying to get her attention. We asked for a menu and she said "the food will just arrive - there is no menu". After another twenty minutes we were brought a large plate of food.. The food was nice but mostly cold . It was a lot of food. He then brought three large bowls of curry, rice and salads. We had no idea that there was no longer a menu. Nothing was explained and we were give far too much food - which although was nice was spoiled by the amount. When we paid we were shocked to discover that we were charged £20 each for food. You need to sort this out and explain the system when people arrive. In addition the service seemed non existent. We did not want to eat this ridiculous amount of food and or paid this much. However we would have rather have paid £20 each for the amount of food we wanted and had chosen. We left a lot of food which is not a good feeling.

"Excellent"
6/6
Craig S.2 years ago · 1 review

Personally loved it but some may find the surroundings a little uncomfortable, with a few creepy crawlies knocking around, but as you are in the middle of the countryside these things are to be expected. Only a small place which I had been meaning to visit previously but had never found the time, I went with my vegetarian daughter and both of us really enjoyed it. We had the chilli potato skins for starters, these came covered in delicious guacamole, for main I had the Kerala curry, a creamy curry contains chickpeas and courgettes again this was fantastic, the portion size was good as well , I couldn't finish the dinner never mind entertain a pudding. Being a meat eater it is easy to overlook these type of places , but I'll definitely be returning soon, my daughter wants to work through the menu.

"Great"
5/6
John H.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Great cosy vegetarian restaurant on Otley Chevin, handy for superb views and walks. Interesting tasty and spicy menu, plus offered my wife a vegan pizza special which was not listed on the menu--Mary chose extremely well! Staff very attentive and helpful and welcoming. Extremely busy for a Tuesday evening resulted in the service being rather slow which might not suit everyone. Cheerful Chilli opens as a tea room Saturday and Sunday only, also well worth a visit as cakes and puddings yummy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jane S.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Just moved into the area !!! Really enjoyed this cute little please , although not so little as it is full of dining areas. Staff were so friendly and just generally nice people . Food was .... Ermmm AMAZING !! Everything I ordered was presented well and looked as though time had been spent on it . Puddings were to die for !! I had deep fried goats cheese , aubergine feta spinach bake thingy and raspberry cheesecake!!! Mmmm !!! Defo going again , have to anyway as I want to work through the menu !!!! Oh and did I say that ..... It's AMAZING !!! You really need to go !!!! See ya soon folks !!