Reviews Chop Chop - Edinburgh

HaymarketChinese££££
Excellent
5.0/6
155 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Rendezvous Chinese Restaurant

West End
5.3/6315
Rendezvous Chinese Restaurant

China Red - New Market Road

Slateford
4.8/6207
China Red - New Market Road

155 Chop Chop - Edinburgh Reviews

Read reviews about Chop Chop - Edinburgh here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Chop Chop - Edinburgh. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Chop Chop - Edinburgh.

Excellent
5.0/6
155 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Danny S.5 months ago · 1 review

You have to try the dumplings they are so good. The best ones have to be the boiled ones especially the beef ones

"Excellent"
6/6
Colin R.2 years ago · 1 review

Food lovely as always. We had the "endless" banquet. Wife likes aubergines, I like dumplings so we cleared it! Service friendly, with the attentive but unobtrusive owner/boss quietly circulating around the tables checking that everything was OK. When we got to the end of the set list of courses he organised a couple of further courses and checked later that we had had enough. Couldn't ask for better service.

"Excellent"
6/6
Wj D.2 years ago · 2 reviews

It's a brilliant restaurant -- highly recommended for the best Chinese food and dumplings in Edinburgh. The garlic aubergine and cucumber salad are family favourites.

"Excellent"
6/6
Garry M.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent meal on a very busy evening. Great service and value for money plus they were flexible with us when we wanted to swap items on the fixed menu banquet. We've been many times before and will keep going back

"Great"
5/6
Katherine H.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Service was great, like the "small dishes" approach although there was a bit too much garlic in the spinach & peanuts and the large dish we got - chicken chow mein - was just a bit too much. The world famous dumplings are fabulous though - next time I think we would just order a selection of dumplings and some veg. Atmosphere was lively but a bit echoey due to high ceilings - when it got busier it was difficult to hear my softly spoken companion. Overall, I liked Chop Chop & would definitely return, mostly for the dumplings & good service.

"Great"
5/6
Mary F.2 years ago · 1 review

The head waiter was excellent, friendly, helpful and attentive. The new waitress was a little inexperienced and maybe needs some extra training on the menu and checking if you would like anything else when you have the banquet. The food was brilliant, especially the lamb and cumin dumplings. Some areas including the toilets could have been a bit cleaner, especially as it wasn't hugely busy, however, given that a well known food critic walked in with a large group while we were there it is probably to be expected that the staff were a little distracted. Lovely evening with fabulous food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michael W.2 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic, went with my wife and in laws. We are regulars but not been in a while and the banquet was every bit as good as usual. Staff attentive (although busy) and we had an amazing meal that left us full to bursting and smiling as we left. Woke up today and we are all still remarking how good it was. Do the banquet and try everything - food is fresh, hot and as much as you like served at your table

"Excellent"
6/6
Shelley H.2 years ago · 1 review

Chop Chop is a firm family favourite. The range of food is wide to suit all tastes. Our favourite is definitely the dumplings, both steamed and fried. We also love some of the more unusual dishes that you don't find in other Chinese restaurants-potato salad and the lamb with cumin. The service is always friendly and fast-dishes come as they are ready so it's best to share! I highly recommend for the quality, service and value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Barry C.2 years ago · 1 review

First time there and although I don't ever head for buffet tables this was delivered fresh from the kitchen and lots of it. Lovely new flavours in certain dishes and the hot and sour soup although a tad sweet was quite nice and different to what I'd had before. The menu at 11.95 bring as much as you can eat is borderline ridiculous in that the food never stops coming but some delicious dishes will mean a return

"Excellent"
6/6
Angelika S.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was incredible! Delicious dishes and great portion sizes. I love how food comes as it's cooked, rather than in courses or at the same time - it really makes you appreciate each dish for how great it is. Service was good, with a booking made promptly and no one had to wait for tables, everything was managed quickly. Also, given what it is, it's great value!