Reviews Ciao Roma - Old Town

Old TownItalian££££
Excellent
5.1/6
145 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Bar Napoli

New Town
5.2/6438
Bar Napoli

Nova Pizza Vegetarian Kitchen

New Town
5.6/6219
Nova Pizza Vegetarian Kitchen

145 Ciao Roma - Old Town Reviews

Read reviews about Ciao Roma - Old Town here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Ciao Roma - Old Town. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Ciao Roma - Old Town.

Excellent
5.1/6
145 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
BRONWYN M.a year ago · 1 review

My friend and I had a lovely lunch. Staff very welcoming and efficient and food was great. Would highly recommend to friends. Were going to theatre to was great to have good service to get to the theatre on time.

"Excellent"
6/6
Angela K.a year ago · 1 review

We recently had a lovely family meal here. The place was very busy but service was good and the food well presented and cooked. A good selection on the menu and reasonably priced. We would recommend the restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
David L.a year ago · 1 review

Beautiful restaurant with a great atmosphere, food was unbelievably good . Nothing was too much trouble for staff members , big plus is that it’s just across from the festival theartre

"Excellent"
6/6
Graham J.a year ago · 2 reviews

A really nice restaurant,excellent food and really friendly and welcoming staff. A varied menu and really good prices. It is a fantastic location when visiting the many attratcions in the Old Town.

"Excellent"
6/6
Beverley T.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The waiting staff were charming and attentive, without being obtrusive. They were also knowledgeable about the menu. My friend and I both had the fillet steak with peppercorn sauce which was exceptionally good. The steaks were of the highest quality - tender and flavoursome - cooked to perfection and exactly to order. To my shame, Ciao Roma was not my first choice that evening for a pre theatre supper, but it will certainly be so in the future.

"Great"
5/6
Alister C.a year ago · 1 review

It was your first time at Cia Roma and it's certainly not going to be our last. We went for a pre theatre meal with our table booked for 5.45pm for a performance at 7.30pm. It was just as well as the place was packed and they were 2 waiting staff down. I had 2 courses form the per theatre venue; delicious minestrone vegetable soup and rigatoni Sicilian and my wife went for a starter of roti (chorizo pate I think) and then rigatoni in a garlic and cheese sauce. All this was washed down with a bottle of house red which was eminently drinkable. The service was very good despite their busyness and the while meal was £47. Would highly recommend for a pre theatre meal if you're going o the Festival Theatre as it's one about 200 metres from the theatre

"Excellent"
6/6
Mikel W.2 years ago · 1 review

This is an under-rated restaurant, particularly for those in need of a break from the lamb and salmon dishes so steadily available in many Edinburgh restaurants that favor traditional Scottish cuisine. It's also perfectly located for those who need to eat early in order to attend a performance at the nearby Festival Theatre. My wife and I enjoyed an excellent thin crust pizza, washed down with a delicious, Sangiovese-dominant Chianti Classico there recently. Two scoops of scrumptious gelato rounded out a perfect meal.

"Excellent"
6/6
JAMES W.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely large and welcoming Italian restaurant very close to Festival theatre. Waiting staff were rushed off their feet, as were the kitchen staff, but were very attentive considering how busy it was pre show time. Delicious food especially the haggis ravioli and the lasagne which was a huge portion. Ice cream to die for. Wasnt too expensive considering its location. Pre theatre deals also looked good value. Will definitely return next time we are in Edinburgh.

"Excellent"
6/6
Brian P.a year ago · 2 reviews

Excellent food and service, reasonably priced and very handy for the Festival Theatre! Have been many times and never been disappointed. On our last visit my wife had chicken caesar salad and sticky toffee pudding while I had chicken in a cream sauce and mushrooms followed by Italian ice cream, all excellent. I also had burrata as a starter, like mozzarella but with creamy inside, not seen that before and thoroughly enjoyed it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gail P.a year ago · 1 review

Great restaurant. Lovely atmosphere. Food was delicious and portion sizes good. They explained how big the portions were so that our children could decide what to have. Room decor kept the children amused with its pirate theme. Food was lovely and arrived promptly. Only downside was having to request our drinks more than once as they forgot our order, however they didn't charge for them which was appreciated.