Reviews Hendersons Vegan Restaurant

New TownVegan, British, Scottish££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
324 Reviews
Hendersons Vegan Restaurant Edinburgh image 1
Hendersons Vegan Restaurant Edinburgh image 2
Hendersons Vegan Restaurant Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

324 Hendersons Vegan Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about Hendersons Vegan Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Hendersons Vegan Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Hendersons Vegan Restaurant.

Wonderful
5.5/6
324 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Jo K.3 days ago · 1 review

My first vegan meal out! Delicious. The cheesecake was amazing (no cheese, obviously!).

"Excellent"
6/6
Audrey R.a month ago · 3 reviews

We had a very good time! Nice staff and it was delicious as always:-)

"Excellent"
6/6
Gill S.a month ago · 1 review

Fabulous food, lovely atmosphere and great staff. Would definitely recommend Hendersons for a great vegan meal. Good for vegans and ‘flexitarians’ too. We’ll definitely go again

"Excellent"
6/6
Audrey R.2 months ago · 3 reviews

Always delicious. The best place ever. I love all the dishes.

"Great"
5/6
Jamie R.a year ago · 1 review

Turned up in the dark and found the shop closed... thankfully walked a bit further down the street and found Henderson’s restaurant! Welcoming staff with a warm atmosphere even if the seat by the door was very cold when others were arriving or leaving. Started with the Freekeh salad which was sheer pleasure in a bowl, probably the maple syrup dressing that snapped my senses with a sugar rush (I’ve been following whole foods plant based for several months). Also enjoyed nibbles on my dining partners platter which, due to its monstrous size, I’d recommend only getting as a sharing platter. The dips were a joy and for a newbie vegan a learning experience on how to put together those late night, with a bottle of wine, snacks. For my main I was presented with a generous amount of vegan haggis which, as a reformed meat eater that loved his haggis, completely won me over. I’ll definitely try making this myself. The accompanying sauce was delicious if a little sparse and the turnip was presented sliced and grilled although I found just very slightly under done. All in all, a very pleasant experience. Hats off to the chefs for their creativity and skill. I will return.

"Great"
5/6
Brandon M.2 years ago · 1 review

We booked a table for two to celebrate an anniversary, for the second night in a row (because why not?). We arrived expecting great things from this establishment dedicated to plant based foods (a step above a traditional restaurant offering a vegan menu at the bottom of a list of meat options!). We loved our experience! We dined on raw zucchini ravioli with pesto, cauliflower "steaks" with mushrooms, a tris of spreads served with oat cakes, and finished the meal with a slice of avocado and lime cheesecake. All gluten and dairy free, all delicious! The atmosphere was soft and inviting with wood accents and hints of green from plants sitting in small pots. Friendly and timely service. Book ahead for dinner on a weekend! We saw a handful of people turned away because they didn't have a reservation. Highly recommend Henderson's Vegan.

"Great"
5/6
Hannah A.a year ago · 2 reviews

It was my first time visiting Hendersons Vegan Restaurant. I really liked the decor and we were seated quickly, and brought water straight away, which was nice. It took a while for our order to be taken and even longer for our food. There were only 2 staff on that day. The food was delicious, especially the cured carrot bruschetta. Would definitely recommend.

"Great"
5/6
Rhona M.a year ago · 6 reviews

Was a very pleasant experience but not liking the menu as much as in previous years! Please bring back the vegan nachos, grilled polenta slices and the tofu teriyaki with coconut rice (without the radishes! :(). Would rather have the original comfort food rather than anything too fancy! Also felt sorry for the only guy who was taking the orders - was a bit rushed off his feet and I felt he needed a bit of help - not his fault that my wine order was forgotten about and service was pretty slow at times because of this! Will still come back when in Edinburgh but I don’t feel it’s as good now as previously and would probably choose Mono in Glasgow rather than Henderson’s 😄

"Terrible"
1/6
Ryan S.5 months ago · 1 review

Really disappointing experience. After first going in April of this year I was really excited to go back with my partner last week after raving about my previous experience! We got seated in the restaurant very quickly after reserving a table. Then we were given a menu and some tap water. Both the glasses had bits on them, what it was I do not know but we just took them off and got on with it. After a short while we were asked what we wanted to eat & drink this was roughly at 13:10 we first entered at 13:00. We ordered some olives to start which were absolutely amazing! Then we waited for around 45 mins for our main course to come out. By this time we both started to become very hungry and frustrated that it was taking so long. The restaurant had about 10-15 people in it including us so we thought that the food would arrive swiftly. This however was not the case. When we eventually got our food at around 14:00 we were relived for it to have finally come! I had the Tofu teriyaki which I had, had previously which is the reason for returning & my partner had the sliders. My meal unlike last time was served with very little tofu and the tofu that was there was dry & slightly burnt. Also the rocket was very disappointing as previously I had a lovely fresh leaf salad instead of the bland rocket. My partners sliders came out cold which was a big let down. We then had a banana & chocolate mousse which was very nice for dessert. Overall I don't think I will be returning to Hendersons Vegan Restaurant nor would I recommend it after being severely let down. It was a really disappointing experience after such a great 1st visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jennifer L.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was delicious and the portion sizes were excellent (usually vegan restaurants are quite low on portion size). The staff were really lovely and helpful too and made the vening just that little bit better. One tiny point - and it's not really a point - is that the lights were quite bright (and the music was quite loud) and that surprised me for evening service. It perhaps would have been nicer had the lights and music been turned down a little? But it's a very minor point and the food and service were great. We'll definitely return!