Reviews Il Castello - Edinburgh

West EndItalian££££
Excellent
5.1/6
36 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Bar Napoli

New Town
5.2/6438
Bar Napoli

Nova Pizza Vegetarian Kitchen

New Town
5.6/6219
Nova Pizza Vegetarian Kitchen

36 Il Castello - Edinburgh Reviews

Read reviews about Il Castello - Edinburgh here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Il Castello - Edinburgh. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Il Castello - Edinburgh.

Excellent
5.1/6
36 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
MOIRA M.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food with plenty of choice for all and a warm welcome from great staff. I would highly recommend the II Castello to all my friends.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pam H.2 years ago · 3 reviews

Great welcome, extensive menu, wonderful food, best bruschetta ever, delicious veal and lovely desserts. All at a great price. Superb cooking , great atmosphere, friendly staff

"Excellent"
6/6
David M.2 years ago · 1 review

Great food, great service and good ambience. A most enjoyable evening. We hadn't been for a while but now we are going to be living in East Lothian we will visit more often.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tudor L.2 years ago · 1 review

Delicious authentic food, fantastic service, brilliant with the children. Couldn't ask for more and we'll definitely be back on our next visit to Edinburgh. Recommended

"Great"
5/6
k b.2 years ago · 5 reviews

We ate there on a Sunday evening and started with bruschetta for 2 which was tasty and crunchy. I then had Agnolotti Vegetariani with creamy mushroom sauce which was delicious. My husband had Risotto Giardiniera for his main which he thought was average although a huge helping. A beer and a coffee rounded off the meal with came to £31 including service charge. When we arrived we were the only people there but another couple and a lone diner appeared during our meal. Il Castello is a nice venue with good food Italian food and good service so don't know why it isn't busier.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pam H.2 years ago · 3 reviews

In Il Castello the staff work as a real team and we had a great meal, beautifully prepared and served. The menu is extensive and all dishes are delicious. And all at a very reasonable price. Plenty of great wine too.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nancy P.2 years ago · 1 review

The classic Italian food was beautifully prepared and very tasty. Everything was delicate and fresh from the calamari to the Parmigiana sauce. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and attentive but also let us enjoy our dinner in peace. We had a lovely table where we could see trees out the windows on both front and back of the building. The location is conveniently near the castle, but on the opposite side from the crowds, on a quiet street.

"Good"
4/6
Beth T.2 years ago · 1 review

The restaurant is handy for the Royal Lyceum so we were there for a pre theatre bite to eat. No pre-theatre menu which would be a good idea; usual range of pizzas and pastas available along with meat dishes - several of us had Scallopina. Food was quite good without being spectacular, as were the prices, coming in at about £23 per head for some Bruchetta and a main including wine, coffee and service (which was friendly but not obtrusive)

"Excellent"
6/6
Gillian L.2 years ago · 1 review

Very very disappointing starters were prepared by a child chunky sliced tomatoe and cheese fish not baked just boiled served on plate with lots of water, sliced part cooked potatoes on same plate and a heap of white lettuce looked dull and tasted dull very disappointing ruined our weekend

"Excellent"
6/6
Kayleigh M.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was served quickly and was hot and fresh. Everyone in my party loved their choices. I can particularly recommend the pizza messicana, which was a perfect proper Italian pizza. Good value for the pizza and pasta too. I would definitely go back.