Reviews Old Chain Pier

NewhavenBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.2/6
195 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Cellar Door

Old Town
5.3/6354
The Cellar Door

Hendersons Salad Table & Restaurant

New Town
4.8/6173
Hendersons Salad Table & Restaurant

195 Old Chain Pier Reviews

Read reviews about Old Chain Pier here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Old Chain Pier. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Old Chain Pier.

Excellent
5.2/6
195 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah K.a year ago · 1 review

Good, lovely customer service. Vegan options too and friendly staff, chatted to us for a good amount of time, really enjoyed it here. Back to AUS now

"Excellent"
6/6
rena m.a year ago · 2 reviews

the best fish and chips we have had in a while, the service was topclass could not fault it will be back thankyou for a lovely day

"Excellent"
6/6
Monika M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Staff is very good made me feel like home , the dishes are great everything was fresh good quality food Definitely will be back with family and friends

"Excellent"
6/6
JEAN F.a year ago · 2 reviews

Excellent as usual. Service was fast and very pleasant. And the view superb with a sunny day. To see the ships sailing past is always a great pleasure.

"Okay"
3/6
Sally C.2 years ago · 1 review

An mainly enjoyable meal for 6 people in the busy and picturesque Old Chain Pier with a couple of exceptions. We requested a swap of the vegetable accompaniment to the Sea Bass (due to a dietary requirement of one of the party) and were told that the Chef did not have any other veg to swap it with (something I found difficult to believe in a busy restaurant). We were then told that we couldn't have anything off the festive menu as we hadn't pre booked it - fair comment until we realised that the Turkey dinner was in fact on the a la carte menu as well. We were then advised that we would have to wait for this to be prepared which we happily did. When the Turkey dinners arrived there was no cranberry sauce and no gravy, and as Turkey is quite dry it really needed something with it.

"Okay"
3/6
Miguel G.a year ago · 1 review

Having been to the Old Chain Pier before and really enjoying it, this visit was a bit of a disappointment. It was busy but I felt that didn’t justify being forgot about. We were shown to our table but weren't given any menus or offered drinks. After 20 mins a staff member who hadn’t shown us to our seats asked if we were ok. We got menus and drinks and eventually ordered and the food was good. Afterwards I asked for the bill and again it seemed we had been forgotten about as we had to ask again. Would I come back again ? Yes , good views and good food ,

"Excellent"
6/6
Aileen H.2 years ago · 2 reviews

A friend and I went there for our evening meal and we had the best cullen skink I have ever tasted followed by a huge portion of mussels - fab! We returned on Sunday for brunch and the full Scottish breakfast was enormous - it set me up for the whole day. What a wonderful restaurant - friendly and helpful staff who were more than able to cater for my friend who has to have a gluten free diet. The views over the Firth of Forth are an added bonus to an already great wee place to eat!

"Great"
5/6
Martin B.2 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic pub! Friendly staff, great range of drinks and the food was delicious - Will most definitely be back for more. Not a 6 star review as when we sat down for an early meal we were told immediately that they needed the table in 90 minutes - not a massive deal as this place is obviously popular and busy (for good reason) but to be told as soon as we were sitting down immediately put us under pressure to order and eat quickly. Again, not that big a deal and I would recommend this pub to everyone for a great drink and great food - reserve early!!.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mike S.a year ago · 1 review

The Old Chain Pier is a great place for lunch. There are wonderful views over the River Forth to enjoy while you tuck into a delicious meal. Fish & chips comes in two sizes, and the small one is just right for lunch.

"Great"
5/6
Jane W.2 years ago · 1 review

We had a very enjoyable evening in the Old Chain Pier having a meal with friends. The food is very good and there is plenty of choice. It's lovely being able to eat and look at the sea at the same time.