Reviews The Royal McGregor

Old TownBritish, European, Scottish££££
Excellent
5.3/6
241 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Cellar Door

Old Town
5.3/6354
The Cellar Door

Hendersons Salad Table & Restaurant

New Town
4.8/6173
Hendersons Salad Table & Restaurant

241 The Royal McGregor Reviews

Read reviews about The Royal McGregor here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Royal McGregor. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Royal McGregor.

Excellent
5.3/6
241 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Iona G.a month ago · 1 review

A lovely start to our stay in Edinburgh. Very friendly, delicious meal and knowledgeable staff

"Excellent"
6/6
Angela R.4 months ago · 1 review

A small friendly restaurant on the Royal Mile.Food was excellent and very reasonably priced .We loved the haggis fritters and haggis stuffed chicken.Well worth a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrea V.4 months ago · 1 review

Staff gentilissimo, posto e cibo autentici, ci tornerò sicuramente , anche perché rimane in zona centrale, sulla royal mile. Ottima scelta di birre, sidro e wihsky.

"Excellent"
6/6
Heather T.4 months ago · 1 review

Came for a meal whilst away for the weekend. Very good food and drink and excellent service from the staff. Haggis fritters were delicious. Would go again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dawn C.a year ago · 1 review

The Royal McGregor was fantastic! The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We had a large party and everyone was happy with both the food and the service. I had the pork belly which was cooked perfectly, it was so tender and flavorful. I also would suggest the cranachan for dessert, a completely lovely Scottish dessert and the Royal McGregor does it well. I loved everything about the Royal McGergor!

"Excellent"
6/6
Tony O.2 years ago · 1 review

My wife and I really enjoyed our experience at The Royal McGregor last night. Food was excellent and the service superb and it was very good value for the money. We will be happy to recommend The Royal McGregor to our friends.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jacco G.2 years ago · 1 review

We were three and all of us had Haggis, one of us rhe vegitarian. It was realy very good and the meat and vega ones were almost simular. The service was very attentive. Wanna try Haggis, go to The Royal McGregor and ask a flight of 4 different malts to go with it. Too much? Share one flight together.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jacqueline K.2 years ago · 2 reviews

This is my favourite restaurant in Edinburgh. A trip up here for me or any member of my family would be incomplete unless we eat here. It is cosy, friendly, always has a lovely buzz about it and the food is really good, Can recommend the haggis fritters for starters. Then Crofters Chicken, a haggis tower or the duo of pork for mains. Every order is taken and then served with a smile. Have already booked a table for another visit later in the year. We have recommended this restaurant to lots of people and they always say how much they enjoyed it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dr Frances M.a year ago · 1 review

A warm welcome, quick and friendly service and such lovely good!! This was a real treat!! The staff were so helpful, even charging our phone so we could get an Uber after the meal! The drinks menu was extensive with ‘flights’ of spirits and beers - a great way to try s few drinks. Food = sublime. The Moroccan ravine was spicy and warming and the haggis tower a treat for the eyes and the stomach. Topped off with a beautiful and boozy cranachan, s perfect ending to a lovely evening. Thank you!

"Excellent"
6/6
Danielle A.2 years ago · 1 review

Beautiful restaurant atmosphere is welcoming and friendly Food is out of this world, this is how Scottish food should be done 😊 James his wife and their team do a brilliant job can't fault them We've been many times we had our wedding dinner here so holds a special place for us we visited with my aunt and uncle who couldn't make our wedding and the also love the place. We will be back again very soon Thanks for having us