Reviews The Channel Restaurant

CentreBritish, European££££
Excellent
4.5/6
11 Reviews
The Channel Restaurant Eastbourne image 1
The Channel Restaurant Eastbourne image 2
The Channel Restaurant Eastbourne image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

11 The Channel Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about The Channel Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Channel Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Channel Restaurant.

Excellent
4.5/6
11 Reviews
Atmosphere:Lively
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Very Good
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Laurent Z.a year ago · 1 review

Very nice setting, nice people and efficient service. The quality of the food (product and dishes) was very good! I would come back without thinking! Highly recommended :)

"Great"
5/6
Tim M.8 months ago · 8 reviews

Delightful surroundings coupled with good food made for an excellent evening. The staff were discreet yet attentive. We are certainly looking forward to visiting again.

"Great"
5/6
Jackie B.9 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food. Delicious menu. Lots of good choices. Lovely wine available by the glass or a bottle. Delicious panna cotta. Staff very friendly. Service a little uncoordinated at times..

"Great"
5/6
Chris T.10 months ago · 3 reviews

Limited but good menu. Food was very good. Staff were all very helpful, pleasant and efficient. We were in Eastbourne at the tennis, had booked for 8.00PM but then wanted to move this back so that we could stay later at the tennis. Rang and they were very helpful. We were the only people still eating in the restaurant, but there was no hint of this being a problem.

"Good"
4/6
Clare K.9 months ago · 1 review

The restaurant has a great location overlooking the sea, between the Bandstand and the Wish Tower. The food was very good - starters of tiger prawns and veggie risotto plus mains of fillet steak and chicken supreme were all very good. Prices are very fair. The service is what you'd expect from a pub - informal and more "hi guys" than "good evening". A downside is that the restaurant seems to be in the middle of the hotel and it's used as a corridor for non-restaurant guests and for staff walking from one area of the hotel to the other. It was a quiet evening with only a handful of diners, but it was still surprising to hear the waitresses and other staff calling to each other through the restaurant. The low score reflects a lack of ambience and a disappointment at some details such as the wood of the sash windows being rotten and the water jug being rather grubby.

"Good"
4/6
LORNA T.8 months ago · 1 review

The food was lovely but the service was not. Was fine when I first arrived, the waiter was very attentive but when more guests arrived they couldn't cope. One minute he was serving behind the bar, then taking phone calls, then at the reception desk then disappeared altogether. After my main course I waited 25 minutes for someone to come and ask if I wanted anything else. Eventually I had to go to the bar to ask for the bill. He took me to reception and said ' its like Fawlty Towers in here' and banged his head on the desk! Very very unprofessional.

"Great"
5/6
Ann B.a year ago · 2 reviews

Great food. Great service. Went for dinner with friends and we were the only people there. Nice for us but not for them. I’m surprised because we had such a lovely evening. Go there people it really is fabulous. 2 of us had the sea bass for main. It was perfectly cooked and plentiful. The boys had lamb tagine which they said was utterly delicious. Friendly helpful staff too.

"Good"
4/6
Guy L.8 months ago · 1 review

They have a terrific idea with the lava stones and we both enjoyed our food. The restaurants needs to change it's marketing strategy. Less hotel and bar, more restaurant. It felt like a dining room in a hotel (which I imagine it is). It need to have more exclusivity, so you cannot here the bar and people at reception. Change the layout. Put the restaurant where the bar is and block it off from the hotel.

"Good"
4/6
Gill W.a year ago · 2 reviews

For a wine bar the wine list was mediocre. Food was superb and beautifully presented. However there didn’t seem to be enough staff which left those working struggling to be able to focus on each customer adequately

"Great"
5/6
Florian S.a year ago · 4 reviews

Lovely room and good service. The seafood chowder ans Fish and Chips were well made, but nothing extraordinary. Absolutely recommendable