Reviews The Clay Oven

Bo'nessIndian££££
Excellent
4.8/6
17 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Shezan

New Town
5.1/6316
Shezan

Bombay Lounge Dalkeith

Town Centre
5.6/6223
Bombay Lounge Dalkeith

17 The Clay Oven Reviews

Read reviews about The Clay Oven here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Clay Oven. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Clay Oven.

Excellent
4.8/6
17 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Fraser G.2 years ago · 1 review

The service was lovely and the food even better. Very authentic and well thought out. A good range of dishes for all. The only low point was perhaps the price: it was definitely in the higher range and not a usual haunt for students like myself however everything considered it was not grudged.

"Excellent"
6/6
James W.2 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic food. Highly recommend it! I had the lamb saag and it was out of this world! Great venue for our Christmas party and staff were entertaining!

"Excellent"
6/6
Oscar M.2 years ago · 1 review

Great food, friendly service, reasonably priced. Great all round - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"Excellent"
6/6
Joyce F.2 years ago · 1 review

Very attentive staff, great service and wonderful food. Our friends from out of town were very impressed. It was an all round enjoyable evening. We would highly recommend recommend The Clay Oven.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dorothy F.2 years ago · 1 review

My husband & I had not been to The Clay Oven in years & forgot how good this little gem of a restaurant was. The staff were courteous, helpful & very pleasant, but most importantly the food was delicious. We will definitely return to this little curry house delight.

"Great"
5/6
Roddy M.2 years ago · 3 reviews

Excellent choice of food for the all day Sunday buffet, something for everyone's taste. Very good value. Not too much out at one time so nothing drying up, as soon as a platter was near empty it was filled up again never had to wait. We were mid afternoon so i can only rate atmosphere as normal, there were only 3 at my table and another table of 2.

"Great"
5/6
anne p.2 years ago · 1 review

Hi Meal was lovely. Served hot too and we did not have to wait long either inbetween each course. Bit overcrowded tables next to each other and not much space but again remember that was due to the time of year Hogmanay. We were lucky to get booked up at short notice and it was very very busy while we were there.

"Great"
5/6
Mairi A.2 years ago · 6 reviews

Food is always good here, and the staff are friendly and attentive, but without being over bearing. It's a relaxed atmosphere and even when busy, is not noisy, and the dining experience is never rushed.

"Good"
4/6
Jason G.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was great but got charged for tap water and £2.25 for a can of juice that had a 69p price on it. Had to wait 10 minutes after main meal was delivered for the rice so food was cold.

"Good"
4/6
claire s.2 years ago · 14 reviews

Decent curry restaurant. Interesting menu, with more fish and seafood options than usual. Lovely fresh poppadums to start. Fish pakora and salmon kebab both well cooked and tasty. Tandoori king prawns were lovely but salty. Good side dishes.