Reviews The Curious Townhouse

The Lace MarketBritish, European££££
Very Good
4.1/6
33 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Fothergills

City Centre
5.2/6430
Fothergills

The Chequers Inn

Town centre
5.2/6295
The Chequers Inn

33 The Curious Townhouse Reviews

Read reviews about The Curious Townhouse here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Curious Townhouse. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Curious Townhouse.

Very Good
4.1/6
33 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Food:Great
Noise levels:Average
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Pat W.2 years ago · 1 review

Good food, and well-priced, especially if you go for one of their deals (detailed on the menu; various days). Quirky decorations, nice beer (a bit pricey, but that's Nottingham centre for you...) Friendly and helpful staff. Recommended and will go again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Chelsey H.2 years ago · 1 review

Gorgeous afternoon spent celebrating my best friends birthday! Afternoon tea and cocktails were gorgeous!! Staff were friendly and very helpful! Lovely setting !can't wait to go back!

"Excellent"
6/6
mollie b.2 years ago · 1 review

Wonderful food, wonderful drinks and fantastic atmosphere. Absolutely love the decor of the place, and the selection of teas was fab, will be visiting again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Chloe N.2 years ago · 1 review

We went on Mother's Day for their "nibbles" deal, was really nice as were the pina coladas. Loved the decor and the staff were friendly

"Good"
4/6
Victoria R.2 years ago · 1 review

The venue is quirky and fun and the menu good value. Our food was very tasty, but not as piping hot as we would have expected. Also the service was a bit slow, we were shown to a table, but nobody came to take our order even though it was early evening and quiet. After the waitress brought our food, we had to catch her attention to ask for cutlery, serviettes and sauces. If we were meant to order food at the bar and collect these things from somewhere ourselves, then it wasn't made clear either when we were taken to our table or on the menu for instance. In summary a nice evening meal, let down by not particularly good service.

"Good"
4/6
Emma M.2 years ago · 1 review

The setting is "curious" Alice in Wonderland meets the "real world". Loved it, lots of little details and trinkets that made the visit an experience as well as a delicious late lunch. As much as I appreciate that many people like to be left I was a little disappointed that we had to request drinks service each time instead of being asked even though we were in the dining area. This may have been due to the fact that there was a function up stairs though so staff may have been otherwise engaged, a minor issue that in no way took away from the lovely afternoon. Thank you.

"Great"
5/6
Ben P.2 years ago · 1 review

Great service, great food and nicely decorated. We really enjoyed our evening eating at The Curious Townhouse. I just wish the evening menu was a little bigger.

"Great"
5/6
Nicola U.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food in a gorgeous setting. The only slight problem was when we arrived we were having to wait for our friends to join and although we had informed the staff, they still brought the food out instead of waiting for all our guests to arrive first.

"Okay"
3/6
Emma M.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The food was quite nice...nothing special. We booked the afternoon tea. The service was not great. The staff did not offer to top the "bottomless tea" up or make sure there was cutlery on the table. The staff gave the impression that they didn't really want to be there to be honest. Was quite disappointed overall as I had heard really good things about this place. Don't think I will be visiting again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Judith H.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Great place for afternoon tea. Great quality food with the staff going the extra mile to answer a question about the ingredients of the cakes due to an allergy. Excellent good and value for money.