Reviews The Gate at Bournheath

BournheathInternational££££
Excellent
5.4/6
575 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Flavourz World Buffet

Bearwood
5.0/61624
Flavourz World Buffet

Casa Med

Bromsgrove
5.7/6544
Casa Med

575 The Gate at Bournheath Reviews

Read reviews about The Gate at Bournheath here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Gate at Bournheath. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Gate at Bournheath.

Excellent
5.4/6
575 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle A.5 months ago · 6 reviews

Lovely food and atmosphere, attentive staff and would definitely come again

"Excellent"
6/6
Lindsey L.10 months ago · 6 reviews

Amazing as always. The best food around bromsgrove never fails

"Excellent"
6/6
Carol T.a year ago · 3 reviews

Fabulous, friendly, restaurant with great children's menu - pretty much anything on the adults menu served in a child's size. Dietary requirements catered for happily by staff.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lee T.a year ago · 2 reviews

We visited as with a large table of 11on a Saturday, it was superb, great food & service. thanks to the team at the Gate.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jason W.2 years ago · 12 reviews

Wow where do i start? From the moment you step into the place, until you leave, its second to non, upon entering the building your greeted with a smile & a warm welcome, sorry i didnt get any names, but you are all excellent, & that includes the change over of the staff on Friday 4th November, the establishment should be proud of you all, now onto the food, we dont normally have starters, but for £1 what could go wrong? Well nothing we both chose the pulled pork nacho's, no skimping on the amount, & ever so tasty, well worth the price at normal rate, then onto the mains, i had the Tex Mex, i had been here before but many moons ago, the steak was cooked pefectly, the knife just sliced through it with ease, the chilli had a kick to it, & i decided to have the Mexican rice, however it came with chips, i didnt complain as the food was excellent, then the waitress came over & appologised for the mistake, no need, & then came back with the rice at no extra cost, great customer service, my eyes was getting bigger than my belly, & i was unable to finish it all, as whenever i look to eat out, i firstly look at the desert menu, my partners fajita's where also excellently cooked & presented, so after a 10/15 minute break we had dessert, Missazippi mud pie, it didnt dissapoint, every mouthful was so tasty, fluffy & light, just talking about it now, i want to go back for more

"Excellent"
6/6
Victoria B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

This is a lovely place to eat. Whether you want lunch with ladies, a romantic meal a deuce or a celebration with the family his is the perfect place. We have been coming to The Gate for over 30 years but hadn't visited for a few years. The food is exciting and excellent quality. There is something for everyone. Our favourite is the signature Tex Mex steak with 3 alarm bell chilli. It's cooked perfectly to your choice. Served with salad and your choice of chips etc. Personally the Cajun fries are big favourite. The fish and chips looked like Moby Dick had been landed and it was all fantastically fresh. The English Mojitio was amazing and very moorish. Excellent value and the fix price menus offer an affordable way to have something incredible, different and very filling. I would definitely recommend a visit. We're going back next week - I can't wait. The staff are friendly and attentive and very helpful. 5*

"Excellent"
6/6
Judy F.2 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic food, fantastic service. High on quality and quantity too. Had an amazing and substantial sharer starter but I was gutted not to be able to quite finish my main course so our server kindly packed up the leftovers so I could take them home. Recommend anyone wanting to eat here book early and don't eat for a few days beforehand! Ps for anyone on a diet don't be put off. One of my dining partners had a fantastic salad in place of chips with her steak and staff were more than happy to provide an extra spoon for her to share a fab home made dessert with her husband. ( who really enjoyed the dessert too but would probably have rather had it all to himself! )

"Excellent"
6/6
Graham R.2 years ago · 1 review

Sunday lunch with relatives from Devon, everytime they visit they insist that we book sunday lunch at "The Gate" Bournheath You can choose to either sit in the bar area/conservatory, or the restaurant (you will need to book in advance to guarantee a seat in either the conservatory or the restaurant) The food was excellent, and reasonably priced, including a lovely choice of "starters" for just an additional pound. The staff are alway very welcoming, friendly, polite and willing to go that extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. The choice of ales available is also very good, and there is a lovely little beer garden on the site. We intend to keep going back whenever possible .

"Good"
4/6
Julie W.a year ago · 1 review

Welcome, food and service very good. Score would have been a bit higher if we hadn't been kept waiting for about 10 minutes after asking the waitress to come back and take a drinks order after she'd finished taking away the plates from our main course. In our party for Sunday lunch of 8 people, we had 3 Roast beef dinners, 1 roast chicken, 1 Nut roast, 1 Tex Mex, 1 Scampi with Mexican rice and 1 Sea Bass with house salad. All were thoroughly enjoyed. Tennessee Toffee Pie with ice cream was as nice as ever (my favourite) and the Key Lime pie very enjoyable. Again one small criticism in that two people asked for Vanilla ice cream with one being asked how many scoops they wanted whilst the other wasn't. The one who wasn't received only one scoop. The staff were friendly and pleasant but just needed to be a tad more attentive re the drink issue mentioned earlier. We would definitely re-visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Frank P.2 years ago · 1 review

The service was impecible, service with a smile and cheery disposition. I wasi there on Trump Tuseday, 'Making American Food Great Again'. The mushrooms coated in breadcrumbs were "out of this world". I followed this by a blue, rump steak served with twisters and salad and cole slaw. Superb! My only feedback, certainly not critisism, was that the large quantity of quite spicy sauce might be better served up in a jug for the diner to decide how much to apply rather than floodind the plate. Wondsrful place and certainly lived up to its reputation as one of the best, if not the best, eateries in the region.