252 The King's Head Reviews

Read reviews about The King's Head here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The King's Head. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The King's Head.

Excellent
4.8/6
252 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Kayleigh H.a month ago · 1 review

Very friendly and accommodating, I was unaware that the party size I was with had changed and even though they were incredibly busy the staff were very helpful and positive in accommodating our group size.

"Excellent"
6/6
Amanda G.2 months ago · 1 review

Amazing Sunday roast and service ! Love it here my favourite roast !!

"Excellent"
6/6
Caroline O.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Booked a table for 5pm and got seen to straight away. Staff were lovely and very attentive, food was great and hot and we felt no pressure to rush. We were able to relax and enjoy our meal. Highly recommend this place and great value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rachael W.3 months ago · 1 review

Food was delicious and great value eating from the specials menu. The restaurant was qiuet, only us and one other table so the service was also outstanding!

"Great"
5/6
Julian S.10 months ago · 2 reviews

Very pleasant waiter, Miguel. As on every visit, staff very friendly. Decent beer available, as well as lager. Good variety of food, which we enjoyed. Proper chunky chips with the steak. If I have one observation to make, as a a person who does not like un-processed meat, non-traditional sausages, garlic, oriental cuisine, peppers, olives, chilli and sea-food, it is that, for the old-fashioned English diner who wouldn't eat beef, lamb or pork, the choice of 'unadulterated' traditional English food was a bit limited. e.g, I had to choose sausages with leek (which turned out to be o.k., but I only agreed to have them because the cod was with pureed peas and something called ( I think 'black' lemon), the other fish had prawns with it, another dish had 'sweet ' potato' dauphinois instead of ordinary potatoes. Also, the soup was chilli. In other words, along with the fancy fish and chips, perhaps ordinary fish and chips with garden peas and cheap old-fashioned sauce tartare without those wretched bits in it, and return of steak and kidney pudding, or perhaps a meat pie with ordinary chips or ordinary dauphinois. My leek sausage, mash and spring onions was very nice - but I very nearly didn't pick it because of the choice of sausages., What I am saying is, it would be nice if, along with all the fancy food, there could be one or two traditional staples for the old-fashioned English diner who doesn't like oriental and mediterranean cooking. Perhaps you'll say 'go to the carvery"- but the ambience and the cooking are so good at the King's Head that I prefer to try to pick my way through the exotic offerings available rather than go elsewhere. I do so hope this doesn't sound like a bad review, as the K H is really a nice place for a meal out at a reasonable price - but we native geriatrics would like one or two dishes to appeal to us!

"Okay"
3/6
Simon M.10 months ago · 1 review

I wanted to give it top marks as the venue, value for money along with quality, choice, quantity, presentation of all the dishes we had were exceptional and this is the first visit for several years as it had gone downhill. However, although the service once we sat down until prior to the point of paying our bill was also of a high standard and had no issues. The overall experience was marred by the the wait at the Bar initially to get served (there were 2 staff members serving and no more than 6 people at the bar (including the 2 of us) we were not seen to very quickly and ignored for sometime whilst NEW people were served before us. Heading to the restaurant section, the member of staff was sullen did not look up when we arrived at the front desk and seemed totally un-interested in our booking (I think his name was Sergei and he was either Italian or Spannish). Once we sat down he was the opposite and went out of his way to be helpful and offering high customer service and this continued throughout the meal. We had booked for 2 for 630 through Quandoo and we both ate 3 courses and several drinks with the bill coming to £55 in total which was excellent value for the quantity and quality. About 830pm after coffee we were asked by another member of staff if we wanted anything else which we said no and we would have the bill. 5 mins later the bill arrived with another member of staff to which I asked for the credit card machine to pay with. Over 5 mins later the original member of staff came with the card machine and took my payment and a £5.00 tip. Whilst he was taking payment he was quite abrupt (obviously he now had the money so good customer service was no longer necessary) by saying that we have had the table for over 2 hours and we should have gone by 830pm as other people want the table. We were both taken aback by his behaviour and attitude. Nothing regarding maximum table time was on the booking site (Quandoo) or the 3 emails I received confirming the table booking. He never mentioned anything about this when we arrived at the front desk and were seated. Overall it was an amazing meal but due to this one event at the end of the meal, we have both gone away stunned (I have no problem with restaurants having 2 sittings) and are now not sure if we wish to return which is the opposite as to our discussions during our meal. Such a shame as we want to come back and it would be a friday about the same time, but the last word from this member of staff really has put us off.

"Good"
4/6
Pam R.10 months ago · 1 review

The food was fine. The people on the floor were fine. I had ordered skin on fries though & they didn't come out with my meal & the cheese was missing off another persons plate so the lady took it back. The lady bought some Mayo to the table & that's when I asked for my skin on fries as I thought she might have bought them out on her second trip to the table. The lady then returns with the fries & returns to the kitchen. On her way back with the other plate that was missing the cheese I ask her if my fries were skin on fries as the ones given to me clearly weren't & she replied saying that they were out of skin on fries. Normally I wouldn't mind but if I had known earlier, I would have tried a dish without fries - as you can tell, I was looking forward to them. You may think I'm being picky but I know what I was expecting and its not what I received. Firstly when I ordered they didn't tell me they didn't have what I wanted, secondly they didn't give me fries at all & thirdly they give me a substitute & think I won't notice. I just expected better, I've been there before & thought it was lovely. Probably won't go there for food again.

"Great"
5/6
Sabrina T.10 months ago · 3 reviews

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here and can only compliment our waitress on her attentiveness and service. 3/4 opted for.sunday lunches and I have to say that it was truly tasty and cooked to perfection with a lovely selection of vegetables. The 4th member of the group chose to have traditional fish and chips stating the taste was nice and that the smaller portion suited their lighter appetite. Overall I had a great experience celebrating my birthday here but would say at times the noise level was quite high and it did make conversation slightly more difficult. Although in hindsight I do feel.the buzz of the place does add to the experience usually but due to me visiting with older relatives it was not the best environment on that occasion but I will certainly be visiting again

"Excellent"
6/6
Jayne R.10 months ago · 1 review

We have visited the Kings Head 3 times now and have found the atmosphere friendly, the staff are super efficient and the food is fantastic, I am really picky, the only thing I would mention is I would love some more attention paid to the roast potatoes because the Sunday Roast is fantastic, a Roast deserves a very special Roast Potato. We loved the sitting area outside, warm, comfortable and a fun space to hang out if you smoke and I am so excited that you are a dog friendly pub, Broghan our Cavalier loves it too. We live in Bournville so not far for us, see you soon.

"Great"
5/6
Michael C.10 months ago · 1 review

My family and I had a great meal at the restaurant and were well pleased with the quality of the food on all of the different dishes we experienced ranging from the rump of lamb and rib-eyed steak down to a chicken burger. On the negative side was the long wait to get our food - almost an hour - and the lack of a main vegetarian option (we had a starter as a main instead) which is why I can only score a 5 instead of a 6. We will certainly return again and try other dishes on the menu especially as we qualify for 30% off on subsequent visits as three of us are over retirement age!!