The Little Fish Market Brighton image 1
The Little Fish Market Brighton image 2

The Little Fish Market

KemptownFish
Wonderful
5.8/6
297 Reviews

About The Little Fish Market

There’s a lot going on at The Little Fish Market, an award-winning fish and seafood restaurant in the beautiful Regency-era precinct of Brunswick, on the border of Hove and Brighton and right across Upper Market street from the distinguished performing arts centre of The Old Market. Under the leadership of restaurateur and chef Duncan Ray (Latymer Restaurant, Heston Blumenthal’s The Fat Duck), The Little Fish Market has transformed from a traditional fishmonger into a fine dining establishment that makes use of sustainable produce to create dishes served in an exquisite setting.

Opening Times

Closed now
Sunday
Closed
Monday
Closed
Tuesday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Address

The Little Fish Market
10 Upper Market St, Kemptown
Brighton BN3 1AS

Menu Highlights

8F7C12FA-D2A6-4C67-B8E7-644959809875

Seafood

Slip Sole

Seaweed Butter

Soft Shell Crab

Alioli

Brandade

Piquillo Pepper - Sauce Gribiche

Monkfish

Crispy Pork - Carrot & Star Anise - Squid - Peanut
23914FCF-1514-4544-82D9-2C2EDB2B8818

Desserts

Chocolate Delice

Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Don't miss out on a table!

More about The Little Fish Market, Brighton

Gaining accolades from The Good Food Guide and a couple of AA Rosettes for culinary excellence since opening its doors in Brunswick just a few short years ago, The Little Fish Market is undoubtedly one of Brighton and Hove’s premier restaurants, seafood-oriented or otherwise. First impressions are, they say, lasting, and when you first enter the restaurant’s Upper Market Street premises you’ll notice that the walls are lined with maritime-themed artworks, all created by local artists and all for sale. Such decor only adds to the charm of this special venue.

The remit here at Brunswick’s The Little Fish Market is simple. Seating only 20 diners at a time – advance reservations are absolutely essential – chef Duncan Ray and his kitchen team exclusively offer a five-course degustation menu, plus a kaleidoscopic wine list that changes according to season, and of course what the trusted fishermen and seafood suppliers have hauled in that very same day. Every dish is nuanced and minimal in its preparation, allowing essence to prevail over artifice and ensuring that this Brighton and Hove seafood restaurant remains at the top of local gourmet’s charts.

297 The Little Fish Market Reviews

Wonderful
5.8/6
297 Reviews
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"6/6
Josie B.7 months ago · 2 reviews

I would definitely recommend visiting The Little Fish Market, the food was exceptional! We went with the wine paring option and were impressed with how each wine was matched perfectly. The service was also great making us feel very welcome and contributed to a very enjoyable experience.

"Excellent"6/6
Amalia S.2 months ago · 1 review

My husband and I went there last night to celebrate our birthdays and we had the most amazing meal. We knew we were there for a treat after the first canapés. The mackerel pate was incredible and every fish dish that followed was better than the last. However the best thing for me was the bread they served. The focaccia melted in the mouth. I liked it so much that they give us a second serving for free! Thank you very much for such a special evening! Amalia & Ray

"Excellent"6/6
Shirin A.5 months ago · 1 review

We’ve been lucky to eat at many excellent restaurants around the world and I can honestly say that our meal at The Little Fish Market was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Service was also fantastic. Can only highly recommend it.

"Excellent"6/6
Alan H.2 years ago · 1 review

Superb food from Duncan Ray, excellent, professional and friendly service from Robert Smith; relaxing and intimate atmosphere. When you are a Michelin star ticker like us you are brought to the shallowness of that when you discover a restaurant like this. Superbly produced, flavoursome uncomplicated food like this vastly supersedes the frippery of the amuse bouche and other distractions. Nathan Outlaw may be the name for fish only tasting menus but I am sure even his graciousness would accept Duncan Ray competes at every level

"Excellent"6/6
Jo M.4 months ago · 1 review

We had a lovely meal here mid-week. The food was excellent, the set menu was imaginative (and also meant we did not have to tackle the quandry of what to choose!), the pace of the overall meal was well-judged, and we were surprisingly full at the end of it. The waiter was charming and knowledgeable. The only challenge was the steepness of the steps down to where the toilet is - they could be a problem if you are not so agile or mobile.

"Excellent"6/6
Ben H.3 months ago · 1 review

Absolutely stunning food. Quality of the cooking and ingredients, attention to detail, artistry - now we have masterchef on telly everything thinks they know about food, but this is simply out of this world. Rob on front of house is also an absolute star too. Can't wait to return and hope to do so for many years to come, now that we have been introduced to the LFM. Hope that others will read this and make the same journey of discovery which we have.

"Excellent"6/6
teresa a.4 months ago · 1 review

I give this restaurant full marks not just for the exquisite food and wine but for also for the ambience. Although this restaurant is small, the tables have enough space around them to feel private. We were never rushed and this was really appreciated as we were meeting very old friends and had a lot of catching up to do. The front of house was delightfully attentive when appropriate. Fixed price menu was very reasonable with a good selection of wines.Will be returning!

"Excellent"6/6
Martin C.7 months ago · 1 review

A little gem of a restaurant. The service fronm front of house was atentive, charming and happiness was the order of the day. The chefs are very creative and thoughtful when they created the menue and each savory course completed each other as the flavors flowed from one dish to the next. Fine dinning experice was had and I would highly recoment this establishment to all those fish loving eaters. You to may be blown away by the presentation, flavours and textures

"Excellent"6/6
Janie B.10 months ago · 2 reviews

Really fab time - arrived a little early and had the pick of tables. Really warm welcome, the guy on front of house was attentive, really helpful and fun too. The food was amazing, loved the Carlingford oyster with elderflower and jersey cream, the mackerel, sea bream and halibut incredible too. To top that the strawberrys and cream was a real surprise and so luscious. Thank you chef. Would certainly visit again and highly recommend the Little Fish Market. JB

"Excellent"6/6
Susan T.a year ago · 1 review

This is truly a gem ! Award winning dishes created by a skilled chef who obviously cares deeply about his diners experiences . My Taste bugs happily danced while presentation was a feast for my eyes . The service was of class and made me feel welcomed . I would highly suggest if in Brighton and wanting a high quality meal book ! I came all the way from Canada to endulge and I was not disappointed !

2 People
There is no availability for this merchant.
Today (Sunday)
May 2018
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Choose a time: