Reviews The Wheatsheaf - Chester-le-Street

BirtleyBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.1/6
9 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Blackbird Inn

Ponteland
5.3/6343
The Blackbird Inn

The Patricia

Jesmond
5.5/6172
The Patricia

9 The Wheatsheaf - Chester-le-Street Reviews

Read reviews about The Wheatsheaf - Chester-le-Street here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Wheatsheaf - Chester-le-Street. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Wheatsheaf - Chester-le-Street.

Excellent
5.1/6
9 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Heather D.2 years ago · 5 reviews

The restaurant looks fantastic since it has been refurbished. A great menu choice and prices to go with it. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. Will be back very soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris M.2 years ago · 1 review

We were there for my sons birthday.. The service was excellent and staff very friendly.. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals..This was our second visit would definitely recommend the wheatsheaf.

"Great"
5/6
Sue S.2 years ago · 1 review

Friendly staff, restaurant had great Christmas atmosphere and the food was great.Great place to visit. Did not have long to wait was very satisfied with meal.

"Great"
5/6
Gillian H.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The food was very nice and the waitress was very helpful too. Will be going back. Only problem we had was it was cold in the restaurant on Saturday night we were by the window so maybe that is why, and there was not a dessert menu and the waitress had to tell us what was available and there were only 3 desserts. I presume they will have a better choice on desserts sometime in the future. Otherwise, the food and service was faultless.

"Good"
4/6
Ian S.2 years ago · 1 review

We made our booking online after reviewing the menu which was posted on the website. On arrival at the restaurant we were presented with a single page menu which bore no resemblance to the menu displayed on the website. The waitress explained that a new chef had just started that morning and had changed the menu. We made our selection from the new menu and asked to look at the wine menu. We requested a bottle of merlot, only to be told that there was only shiraz or cabernet sauvignion available. We ordered a bottle of cabernet sauvignion. A selection of warm bread was brought to the table on a slate platter but no side plates or cutlery were provided. The bread was delicious. The starters which we selected were delicious. As we were running low on wine by this time we requested another bottle of cabernet sauvignion, only to be told that the wine delivery had not been received that day and that there was now only white wine available. We ordered a bottle of sauvignion blanc. The main courses which we had selected were presented. These were also beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Overall, the food provided was first class, and the waitress was attentive and very apologetic. She did the best she could in an embarrassing situation. we will try the restaurant again in the future, hopefully they may have their act a little tighter by then.

"Great"
5/6
kevin w.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely Mothers Day meal. Staff really great with us and nothing too much trouble when dealing with the kids. Will be back later in summer when the garden is open.

"Great"
5/6
Carol N.2 years ago · 1 review

Nice little pub.clean bright and spacious.service was good with pleasant and friendly staff. Did not have to wait long for food to be served and was hot and tasty.

"Good"
4/6
Lisa T.2 years ago · 1 review

Waited over an hour for our lunch! The portion sizes where very small. Won't be returning. However the waitress was very polite and apologised regular.