Reviews True Thai

NewingtonThai, Asian££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
42 Reviews
True Thai Edinburgh image 1
True Thai Edinburgh image 2
True Thai Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

42 True Thai Reviews

Read reviews about True Thai here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at True Thai. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about True Thai.

Wonderful
5.5/6
42 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah-Jane K.a month ago · 5 reviews

Very friendly service and great value for money. Food is full of wonderful flavors never disappoints and great choice for Vegetarian

"Excellent"
6/6
JAMES M.4 months ago · 2 reviews

Once again we had terrific meals and the service was excellent. We are never disappointed when visiting True Thai and we recommend it to all.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah-Jane K.7 months ago · 5 reviews

Lovely hidden gem away from the city. Attentive and friendly staff. Plenty of choice on the menu and food was full of flavour and very tasty. Not too expensive either

"Excellent"
6/6
Thomas H.8 months ago · 1 review

Having a reservation was a must. The food and service were excellent. Would definitely recommend. We also appreciated the numerous options as to whether you wanted certain items very, or simply mild.

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda D.a year ago · 1 review

Our party of four arrived slightly late but no problem when we arrived at True Thai. Friendliness and service of everyone was, as usual, excellent. Food was very good, if anything, I would say that the fish dish we had from the banquet menu, was slightly over-spiced from what we usually have. Very good value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Victoria B.2 years ago · 1 review

This restaurant is a diamond in the rough....when you walk in it resembles a take away restaurant but then we were led into a quaint and cozy room filled with several tables of happy customers. The owner who was also our waiter was very friendly and courteous. I had the red curry with chicken that had the perfect amount of "heat" and my husband had the seabass which was also excellent. Our "starters" were equally delicious as well. This has been the best Thai restaurant that we have ever eaten at. I would to return to Scotland just to enjoy this meal and ambiance again! Just wonderful. THANK YOU!!!!! Victoria from South Carolina, USA

"Excellent"
6/6
Anna M.2 years ago · 9 reviews

I can highly recommend True Thai. The food was very good, with a large selection of vegetarian options and some very nice starters. The people were also lovely - not only was every very friendly, but they noticed it was one of our party's birthday, and brought out a cake!

"Great"
5/6
JAMES M.a year ago · 2 reviews

As usual the service was top class, we were a party of six and all meals were served together. Staff was very good. Only niggle was the weeping tiger meat dish. Being English and picky I do not like to eat gristle. Unfortunately because of the ambient lighting and sauce/veg covering i could not see to cut these pieces off. This will not put me off true Thai as I will have the Prawn version next time.

"Great"
5/6
Peter R.2 years ago · 1 review

Very good Thai food for four; the mixed starters were particularly fine. Everyone will have their own views about the "best" Thai restaurant and food, whatever that means, and you should give this one a try. The server was very polite, efficient and friendly, despite being kept busy. The chairs were solid, firm and good for someone with a bad back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Carole P.2 years ago · 1 review

Delicious authentic thai food. Menu boasts all favourites, red curry, green curry, massaman, pad thai etc etc. We had mixed starters which came with four delicious dipping sauces. We also tried the sea bass which was lovely and the red curry was fabulous. Friendly staff. Looking forward to going back.