Reviews The Birchwood

MarchmontCake & Coffee££££
Excellent
5.3/6
42 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 4 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Checkpoint

Old Town
5.0/6176
Checkpoint

Cafe Domenico

Leith
5.7/6128
Cafe Domenico

42 The Birchwood Reviews

Read reviews about The Birchwood here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Birchwood. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Birchwood.

Excellent
5.3/6
42 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Reese P.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service, literally no complaints. The chai latte and cappuccino are some of the best we had. Definitely the best full Scottish breakfast we've had in Edinburgh, will be visiting again soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Suzie M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Very nice and welcoming atmosphere, service was good, excellent value for money - will definitely be returning and recommending that others pay The Birchwood a visit

"Excellent"
6/6
Bridget M.a year ago · 1 review

The food was delicious and a great deal. The service was fast. The server was friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was pleasant and cozy. An outstanding dinner! Even if you don’t live in the neighborhood, it’s worth the trek. And for their yummy brunches, worth the wait...

"Excellent"
6/6
Elizabeth T.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was lovely and so were the servers. Knowledgable about gluten free and plenty of gluten free options. Also quite reasonably priced. Had two main courses and glasses of wine for £27.

"Great"
5/6
Manisha T.2 years ago · 1 review

The Birchwood was an excellent location for brunch. The food was great and the portions were generous. The only slight drawback was that getting coffee and a glass of wine took much longer than it should have - our food got to us before our beverages. Would definitely recommend and will go back!

"Great"
5/6
Elaine I.10 months ago · 2 reviews

2 visits to Birchwood recently. 2/7 for lunch was really enjoyable . 3/7 not so good. I ordered coffee and scone. Coffee arrived but no scone. It was obvious waitress had forgotten. When I reminded her about scone she was very sullen and acted as if it was my fault. Not so good. I was with a friend on 2/7 but alone on 3/7. It made me feel i did want to return alone. I live locally.

"Okay"
3/6
Lindsay S.2 years ago · 1 review

The restaurant was comfortable and bright. Could have been a little warmer. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. The food had potential, however the plates it was served on were freezing cold and as a result the scallops I had for starter although seared well, were luke warm. I had duck to follow which was tender and tasted okay, but there was no hint of pink left which in my opinion is no way to serve duck. The sticky toffee pudding I had to follow tasted quite nice but was very dry and not sticky or much like a sticky toffee pudding. We left feeling neither one way or the other about this place, so I doubt I will be returning anytime soon.

"Great"
5/6
Alison R.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely dinner and not too expensive. Lamb cooked beautifully. Also duck egg - runny as meant to be! Sticky toffee pudding yummy.Excellent, friendly service. Pleasant, airy atmosphere in freshly decorated and candlelit room. Our party of 5 all thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Good wine too! Would definitely revisit.

"Great"
5/6
John N.2 years ago · 1 review

Great neighbourhood bistro. Decor is a little stark but don't let that put you off. Food very well priced and wine too. Great Goat's Cheese starter and superb burger. Only wee comment t the chef is - no need for salad with everything!

"Okay"
3/6
Pat M.2 years ago · 1 review

Only 1 portion of scallops left @ 7pm and they were Luke warm when served. Lamb was good nicely cooked but not enough of it. The restaurant was no different to being in the daytime cafe. Tables were not set with glasses cutlery etc. There was an old microwave in the corner and bread crates piled up crates of veg piled up on the fridge - doesn't look good