Reviews CAU - Wimbledon

WimbledonArgentinian££££
Excellent
4.8/6
25 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Gaucho - Piccadilly

Mayfair
4.9/668
Gaucho - Piccadilly

Gaucho - Tower Bridge

Southwark
4.3/632
Gaucho - Tower Bridge

25 CAU - Wimbledon Reviews

Read reviews about CAU - Wimbledon here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at CAU - Wimbledon. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about CAU - Wimbledon.

Excellent
4.8/6
25 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Clémence C.10 months ago · 1 review

The food was very tasty, steak was cooked perfectly and to our exact specification. Service was great, our waitress was very accommodating with our toddler.

"Excellent"
6/6
Susan P.a year ago · 1 review

On our visit we enjoyed a well cooked meal.Unfortunately the ceiling started leaking. The water hit my Grandaughters coat. The Manager and staff dealt with the situation smoothly. We were moved to a different area. The Manager said she would get the coat dry cleaned and we didn't have to pay for our meal. We were very gratefull but didn't take up the offer of dry cleaning the coat as it was machine washable. I would recommend this restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Erika B.a year ago · 1 review

Fantastic service, food and ambiance in the lovely Wimbledon Village. Could not recommend more highly. The lunch time deal made it an extremely affordable treat.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tim S.a year ago · 1 review

Brilliant food, wonderful choices, starters amazing, steaks of course top notch. Coupled with attentive service and good atmospher we had a great evening out. A worthy side note was the Malbec was gorgeous after an informed discussion. Had breakfast here a month or so ago which was a revelation - a great Argentinian take on a traditional British institution of a late breakfast after a walk on the common.

"Great"
5/6
Mandy S.a year ago · 10 reviews

First time at this restaurant and will visit again. We ordered small glasses of a Malbec wine but the waiter initially brought a whole bottle which he left on the table, as we were both driving we had to make it clear that we had asked for a small glass each only. At which point he took all the wine away and returned with measured small glasses. The steaks were good as were both the chunky chips and sweet potato fries. Sadly they had run out of the flourless chocolate cake which I was looking forward to. It was a Friday night, so was fairly loud in the restaurant, but not to loud to hold a conversation.

"Great"
5/6
Sara S.a year ago · 17 reviews

We had a lovely lunch at Cau. The food was great, with the starters being a standout for us. Unfortunately the cooking of the steaks we had for main course was a bit inconsistent - my husband had to send his back as it was over cooked, mine was under, and another of our friends said their's was over cooked. For a steak restaurant, they really need to get that right! However, when we brought it to their attention they dealt with it quickly and without any fuss. The steak was great quality with lots of flavour, it was just the cooking that let it down.

"Great"
5/6
Eric G.a year ago · 1 review

I booked online and had great communications, arrived on time and welcomed warmly. A hot day but very good temperature in the restaurant, shown to our table quickly, with a choice which was good. The waiter was efficient and chilled, drinks and orders were taken without rushing and our food arrived without a huge delay even though it was a busy time. Good choices on the menu and was well cooked and off excellent quality. Great Argentinian beer with our meal and tasty espressos to finish. A good lunch venue.

"Good"
4/6
Annabelle M.a year ago · 1 review

Steak is excellent. I have been a few times and the quality is consistent. The starters that I've had have also been very nice. I am not over impressed with the other main courses or desserts however. I'd also say that the portion of sauce is very mean. Service is not great. Staff are friendly but badly managed, despite the "optional" service charge on the bill. The place advertises itself as Argentinian, it really couldn't be much further from Argentinian. All in all, the steak is very good of you go for the large sizes and the sides and sauces are tasty so it is worth a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sara S.2 years ago · 17 reviews

Fab time at Cau! Our first time here, and we will definitely be back. Steaks were delicious, and considering we did the special lunch menu the portion size was great and very good value for money. Good choice of wines, the Malbec we had was one of the nicest I've had for a long time.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sara S.2 years ago · 17 reviews

This was our second visit to Cau, and the food was even nicer than our first visit! We did the lunch special menu, the fish tacos to start were delicious, and we both had steaks for mains which were really good. Service as always was spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed it!