Reviews Checco's - Preston

FulwoodPasta, Italian££££
Excellent
5.0/6
47 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Vittorias

Centre
4.7/6315
Vittorias

Papa Luigis - Euxton

Euxton
5.5/6173
Papa Luigis - Euxton

47 Checco's - Preston Reviews

Read reviews about Checco's - Preston here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Checco's - Preston. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Checco's - Preston.

Excellent
5.0/6
47 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very Good
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Robin T.a year ago · 1 review

Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulous restaurant. We always have a lovely time at Checco's, and last night was so exception. They even changed the sauce on one of the specials dishes to accommodate dietary requirements. Thanks for a great evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
samantha f.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent service and staff are very friendly, very qood quality of food, sad to hear that the restaurant is soon to close. One of our favourite restaurants.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jon G.2 years ago · 1 review

Nice venue very relaxed atmosphere , good service, didnt feel rushed . Staff friendly and helpful.food came out as ordered and all very nice. I really liked it here on my first visit, cant find anything negative about it . There were 5 of us ,3 adults and 2 kids. We had two big garlic breads to start and all had a main and dessert and a drink or two. Cost £93 in total which i think was good considering the good service snd standards. Will definitely return

"Excellent"
6/6
Colin C.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was excellent and the staff we’re really friendly the whole service and atmosphere of the place was brilliant we will definitely be visiting again. Thanks for a great evening xx

"Great"
5/6
Mick R.2 years ago · 1 review

The place has a lovely atmosphere. Love the bar area...bright and inviting. Staff with smiling faces....very accommodating. It was lunchtime....late lunch. We liked the look of the duck egg with sesamme seeds....sesamme seeds when toasted are amazing....they were not toasted or fried - but the asparagus it came with were beautifully cooked and tasty. For this reason plus the chicken Milanese from the main menu at £14.50 which was burnt on one side, we decided a 5 out of 6 score. If I had to be very picky, the way in which the veg is displayed leaves a lot to be desired....watery carrots and headless broccoli florets...but the fried potatoes were really lovely.....as was my Calamari and homemade tartare sauce - faultless and my maincourse Halibut in a delicate sauce was beautiful too. The star of the meal was the tomato sauce - wow....that was REALLY good. Lovely cut glass to drink out of - very nice. Drinks were not over priced as in a lot of restaurants. Service was really good...the waitress had a constant smile on her face......very professional.....her communication skills were faultless - rarely seen these days....a HUGE plus! The room itself is large and airey with some very fancy lighting...it's clean and plenty of room between tables. A big bonus is the parking to the rear of the place. Would I go again - yes but would go at night...why...to be honest...maybe they keep their 'more experienced' Chef's for evening and weekend service? Don't want to disrespect the Chef's because 85% of the meal was done to a high standard...this bit is for you guys.....it's the little things that need looking at, the attention to detail...you don't send a breadcrumbed chicken fillet out which is in ANY way black on one side...it takes just a few minutes to cook another chicken breast fillet if you have made a mistake. For the duck egg....just a little under done - the white was still a little gelatinous.... pre-fry the sesamme seeds ...maybe with a sprinkling of breadcrumbs in butter to give the most wonderful flavour or finish off under the salamander before serving - get some colour and more flavour into what could be a brilliant starter. Don't keep the veg steeping in water too long....and try to make it look pretty...it looked mediocre Cafe style...not worthy of the most beautiful Halibut dish you produced. Finally, the Italian themed music was really VERY good....it gave the place a lovely lively and fun atmosphere which we have become accustomed to in many Italian restaurants. Don't let any of my negative comments put you off going to try this place out.....having been in the Food Training Industry I am a little picky!

"Good"
4/6
Paula R.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was lovely as always however sadly on this occasion the service was not up to standard. The waiters never seemed to notice when we were ready for more drinks, tried to take starters away when one of us was still clearly eating, cleared main plates away with no mention of whether we would like desserts or drinks. It then took some time to gain their attention to request the dessert menu. On asking for the bill again we waited a significant time and in the end got our coats on to leave at which point the bill was then hurriedly sent over. Whilst I appreciate the restaurant was busy the maitre d was clearly paying more attention to some tables than others and he was less than welcoming. The background music which I would describe as nightclub dance music was a little bizarre for an authentic Italian experience. If it wasn't for the fact that the food is so lovely we wouldn't be returning. Disappointed this time.

"Excellent"
6/6
Catherine B.2 years ago · 1 review

I had a lovely lunch with family to celebrate my birthday at Checcos. The service was good and the staff were very accommodating and welcoming. The food was very good, the prices were reasonable and as a nice surprise a staff member brought my dessert over with a candle and sang happy birthday. I would recommend anyone to visit and will be returning. Thank you Checcos

"Great"
5/6
Lorna B.a year ago · 1 review

Very nice, tasty, well presented food, friendly and helpful staff and good wine, which made for a very enjoyable experience. Restaurant can become a little noisy at times (the acoustics of the room I think), but during this visit the noise levels remained fine and it remained easy to converse across the table without having to strain your voice.

"Excellent"
6/6
Beatrice P.2 years ago · 1 review

We ordered pizza and garlic bread, it was the best I have tasted for a long time, the price was over the top for a bottle of wine, the reastrant was big with high ceilings, seating very comfortable, service very good, we would go back again,

"Great"
5/6
Jillian F.2 years ago · 1 review

Went for a late lunch with friends and we all enjoyed delicious food even though we had all had different dishes off the 2 course special menu. The staff were very professional and ready to please, would have given a "6" if I had not of noticed that a spillage had only been partially removed.