Reviews Côte Harpenden

Town CentreFrench, European££££
Excellent
5.1/6
723 Reviews
Côte Harpenden Harpenden image 1
Côte Harpenden Harpenden image 2
Côte Harpenden Harpenden image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

723 Côte Harpenden Reviews

Read reviews about Côte Harpenden here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Côte Harpenden. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Côte Harpenden.

Excellent
5.1/6
723 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Food:Great
Noise levels:Average
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Brenda O.2 days ago · 2 reviews

Always an excellent place with excellent staff and great food.The staff are always very attentive and friendly the restaurant is nice bright and airy and the food always fresh.

New"Excellent"
6/6
David L.2 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic range of dishes especially for Coeliacs and kids. Excellent food quality, restaurant decor and value for money. Great service too. What's not to like? Restaurant chains don't get any better than Cote!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Kevin B.3 days ago · 1 review

We had an amazing evening really enjoyed it very much

New"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny C.4 days ago · 1 review

Great food, excellent service and some really nice touches for a birthday celebration. Was a recommendation from a friend and would also recommend. Many thanks!

"Great"
5/6
Steve M.a month ago · 1 review

We dined at 7:30pm on a Sunday as a group of 5. The restaurant was quiet upon arrival with quite a few empty tables. We were seated in a nice booth with just enough room for 3 per side comfortably. Drink orders were taken quickly although I would prefer a wider range of beers on offer, and certainly something on draught. When the beer bottles arrived they did have an oily substance on the outside. When commented on they were replaced (or at least returned having been cleaned) but on the second round, the same issue. Starters were universally good. The table enjoyed a mix of the Parfait, the Calamari, the Charcuterie board and the French onion soup and there was food envy all round the table! Mains next, a mix of Fish Parmentier which was particularly flavoursome, Steak Frites (excellent but not quite the advertised pink), Veal Escalope (very tasty and a decent serving, but be prepared for the extra cost of some sides to bring it to being a full course) and Cod Goujons (perfect for those who want their French cuisine to be a bit more Fish and Chippy!) Our only gripe was that a couple of the sides took a little while to arrive after the mains were served. All were devoured hungrily and there were a few rumblings about having to come back soon to taste more of the menu. We had a lovely Cotes du Rhone Red with the main course which was very smooth and served at perfect temperature. Finally we had all saved room for desert so Creme Brulee (very well flavoured and a nice crust, not too thick), Tarte aux Pommes (very good), a very well received Praline Crepe (good Creme Chantilly) and finally a Tarte Aux Citron. All the food across all the courses was universally excellent, prefectly cooked and full of flavour. The waiting times between courses were perfect for me, but possibly a bit long for some on a fairly quiet night. Certainly long enough for food to settle and a natter between courses. The bill at just under £45 a head was perfectly reasonable for the quality of food we received and a couple of very minor service points certainly did not detract from a fantastic evening. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Amanda B.4 months ago · 12 reviews

We responded to a January sale invite of £9.95 for a two course lunch/dinner. We were allowed in 20 minutes early to an empty restaurant at 4:40 PM which was marvellous! The menus were new as well and we enjoyed delicious food there that afternoon. I was offered a taster of an aperitif before buying which was very kind as well. The only problem with this restaurant could be the parking. It is on a main road and parking on the road is only for one hour until 5:30 PM. This means the nearest car park is quite a trek away but it’s worth it nonetheless. Drinks are expensive and our bill was £40 for the two courses plus a soft drink, a beer and two coffees. The drinks cost £20 i.e. the same cost as the two courses for two of us. We didn’t mind at all because the food is so beautifully prepared and tasty. We will look forward to another visit in January.

"Excellent"
6/6
Brian C.a year ago · 1 review

I had a table for four on Saturday.The table was booked for 2030.We arrived just before this and were told we would have to wait a short time which was no problem at all.After five minutes the manager arrived with Four glasses of Kir-Royal for the delay which was very considerate of him.we were then shown to our table,which was a booth,from then onwards every thing was fantastic especially the waitress,Ashton who was excellent.The only negative thing that all off us said was it was far to crowded.We were OK as we were in the booth had we bin elsewhere it would have been a different story but we will be back let's hope it's less crowded.

"Great"
5/6
Norman H.a year ago · 2 reviews

Excellent range of dishes all expertly prepared, hot and served at the right time. No rush with the meal and considerate pleasant service, especially from Dan the manager and his team. Feeling of dining in a good place and prices are good. Wine choice limited to French wines but prices comparable to other places. My fifth time of dining at the place and have had the same main dish every time...so good...have never tasted such good roasted sea bass and fennel. My guest today had breast of duck..I asked how many ducks had been prepared to fill her plate ! Good full plates and non of this stupid fancy cuisine with squishes of this and sprays of that and juis ! Cote have it just right. Recommend it very highly.

"Good"
4/6
Maggie G.a year ago · 1 review

Food and service always good but the same old noise problem still spoils the otherwise very enjoyable experience. I understand this has been brought to your attention..... some soft furnishings would help to absorb the noise levels. Sadly yesterday was particularly bad due to screaming children who unfortunately( with the new 30 something parents) are allowed to continue their noise without any consideration to fellow diners..... no I am not some dried up old maid but I am a Mother with a grown up family and when my family were small, they would never have been allowed to disturb or annoy other diners but sadly, times have changed and consideration for others, has diminished. It will not stop me dining at Cote but I pick my times carefully when hopefully the noise levels are almost acceptable because the noisier it gets the more everyone shouts to be heard .....and there lies the problem.

"Great"
5/6
S P.a year ago · 1 review

Very pleasant food , ate from the early bird menu on a Friday. However the layout needs to be addressed . There is no where to stand while you wait to be seated. You end up being very close to the first table. There is no space by the bar where you would imagine you could stand as 3 little tables for 2 are squeezed in there. Once seated we were very cramped , 2 of our party being bumped into frequently. Staff quite attentive though there were groups of them chatting between themselves which appeared unprofessional. Noisy atmosphere made conversation difficult. So pleasant hot food but attention required to environment if this is to compete against the similar more intimate Lussmans.