Reviews Kalpna

NewingtonIndian, Vegetarian, Vegan, Asian££££
Excellent
4.8/6
99 Reviews
Kalpna Edinburgh image 1
Kalpna Edinburgh image 2
Kalpna Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

99 Kalpna Reviews

Read reviews about Kalpna here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Kalpna. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Kalpna.

Excellent
4.8/6
99 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Ruth B.a month ago · 2 reviews

Deliscious and authentic tasting Indian food. Recommend the dosas and pakora.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mise W.6 months ago · 1 review

No compromise, fantastic food, superb range and beautiful service in beautiful surroundings. A must for anyone who appreciates good food. I am an Ayurvedic sutdent and therapist. It is a complete pain in the bottom to eat out. Compromising means extra work to balance the digestion. Both my husband an I need to consider what we eat becasue of imbalances in our digestive system. We are also vegetarian. And Scotland just loves meat!!! Kalpna to the rescue!!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Mary Teresa C.7 months ago · 1 review

Wonderful food, great server and good atmosphere. Would go there again for sure. Make sure Mr. Khalid is your server. Best vegetarian restaurant we’ve been to in a while.

"Excellent"
6/6
Amandine K.8 months ago · 1 review

This restaurant has a very special place in my heart because it's where my partner and I went for dinner when we started being in a relationship. We come back every year for our anniversary, and it's always an amazing experience. The food is delicious, the service is great, the staff is welcoming and professional, the place is clean and cosy... It is always a pleasure to come here, and I only wish we did so more often.

"Okay"
3/6
Evelyn T.10 months ago · 1 review

Its a shame that the delicious food was spoiled by very poor service. The female waitress was brusque. The main courses were delayed so much so that we were apologised to. Then one of our party had another long delay waiting for his rice to arrive on the table . We ordered Darjeeling and were given Earl Grey tea. One of our party asked which whiskys were available and the waiter said he would have to get his manager to help us but no one came back to help with our request. Finally there was no cash card payments so I had to run along the street to the cashpoint. On a positive note the food was fantastic when we eventually got it, but what was a celebratory night for us was very disappointing. We were so looking forward to our time at Kalpna.

"Great"
5/6
Dorothy G.8 months ago · 1 review

The place has had a makeover however it is still authentically Indian. The food was very good as ever and reasonable cost. Good rec of the food etc is having Indian people dining there too. I had two friends from Nottingham here whoi'd been in S India earlier this year and the enjoyed the Kalpna too.Very busy also as ever even on week night tho it was still Festival time. Will def go again and recommend going to others.

"Okay"
3/6
Sue L.8 months ago · 2 reviews

Although the food here is fantastic unfortunately the management of the customers is not the best. I appreciate that at time all restaurants can be busy but at the moment the Kalpna seems to have got it wrong. Too many tables, nowhere for customers to wait except standing over someone at a very close range whilst they eat or outside. It seems to me that they may be just overstretching themselves at the moment at the expense of the customers. Once seated the staff were friendly and helpful and waiting times between courses was good. Lastly you did feel pressurised to leave once you had finished eating as they had the next incumbents already lined up.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sam E.8 months ago · 3 reviews

Our second family visit to Kalpna - one vegan and 3 of us who normally eat meat. You don't miss meat when you eat at Kalpna. Delicious food, lovingly prepared, filling and beautifully presented. We will be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
George D.2 years ago · 1 review

I have dined at Kalpna many times...and each time I enjoy the experience. The food is always delicious; the ambience simple , decorative and unpretentious; the service efficient and unobtrusive. The all vegetarian menus offers memorable tastes an exciting combinations of fresh ingredients. The very best of Indian dining for the discenrning palate

"Excellent"
6/6
Moira E.2 years ago · 1 review

Made a reservation for five thirty following a meeting in Edinburgh and we had some of the best Indian food we had had in a while. We opted for poori and kebab starters, a spinach patty type main ( only two small ones...could have eaten more or bigger ones but the sauce was sensational), Tarka dal, butter paneer, a bhindi dish, coconut rice and a chapati with an Indian beer for my husband completed our order and we received complimentary poppadam and chutneys. For less than £45 this was a fantastic meal and we will be racing back.