Reviews Maxi's - York

CliftonAsian, Chinese, Dim Sum, Cantonese££££
Excellent
4.7/6
36 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 1 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant

City Centre
5.6/6164
The Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant

36 Maxi's - York Reviews

Read reviews about Maxi's - York here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Maxi's - York. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Maxi's - York.

Excellent
4.7/6
36 Reviews
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Great
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Sue M.a month ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service. Travelled quite a distance for a family meal and well worth it. Fantastic.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris M.2 months ago · 1 review

Des pite our party being quite large the staff did their best to take care of us and the fo od was exc ell ent.

"Excellent"
6/6
mandy t.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Great food great service bit pricey but worth it as a treat

"Excellent"
6/6
Angela H.4 months ago · 1 review

Food excellent and very filling. Set menu good value for money and very tasty.Friendly service with a smile. Will definitely go again in the near future.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rosslyn R.7 months ago · 1 review

Family gathering of 8. Greeted and welcomed at door and shown to our table which was very well positioned plenty of space and under good lighting. Drinks, ordered so we had something to sip as we studied the menu. After an acceptable time we were asked to give our orders, starters and mains were ordered and a couple of questions were answered / explained by the very helpful lady who served us, she double checked the orders reading them back to us. All the dishes arrived in good time and perfect temperature we all really enjoyed our meal and the serving staff were attentive throughout. Highly recommend anyone who wants a good quality Chinese meal, good portion sizes and reasonably priced, to visit this restaurant I know we most definitely will.

"Bad"
2/6
mandy t.2 months ago · 2 reviews

We visit here regularly and always enjoy however on this occasion we were very disappointed. We were a party of 4 celebrating 2 of the party's birthday it started OK service was a bit slow but starters arrived no problem here we all enjoyed, we then waited for our mains which started to arrive in dribs and drabs. One of us had what he had asked for the other 3 of us were served our meat dish but no rice, they were very apologetic and scurried off to sourt. We waited and waited and it never did turn up!!! Two of us started to pick at the meat dishes during our half hour wait for the rice the other had a curry so didn't touch the dish at all, the worst of it is though it was his birthday and he went home very hungry and very disappointed. They did reduce our bill but now that I think about it we paid 50% of the dishes that we had hardly touched now that I think about it I am unhappy with our reduced bill of £60, and will definitely think twice about booking again.

"Good"
4/6
Peter T.a month ago · 2 reviews

Food great, as ever. But the service is going backwards. It used to be terrible, then it got much, much better, and now it's slipping back again. Drinks don't get offered, and when ordered take ages to arrive. Food takes too long to get ordered. And I'm not sure the new set of waiting staff really care very much, especially compared to those who have been at Maxi's for years who are quick and efficient. Still, the wonderful food makes it worthwhile going, despite that!

"Great"
5/6
Denise P.4 months ago · 1 review

A little bit chaotic as it was New Years Eve and the age range of our party was from 4 to 83 years. Trying to get the bill took rather a long time. The food though was excellent, and we will definitely rebook again .

"Great"
5/6
Richard M.4 months ago · 1 review

We went to Maxi’s on Xmas ever and it was really nice,the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent too.Its decorated with lots of Chinese art and decor to make you feel you’re in china.we will definitely be going again.

"Excellent"
6/6
kimberly R.a year ago · 1 review

perfect!! went with the whole family after being recommended and found it very welcoming. the staff are lovely and the food was exceptional. would highly recommend to anyone of any age and for any occasion