Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Edinburgh
Newington
Sambuca Italian Restaurant
Sambuca Italian Restaurant Reviews

Sambuca Italian Restaurant

Italian, Vegetarian, Mediterranean, European

Dishes priced around£10

Photo of restaurant Sambuca Italian Restaurant in Newington, Edinburgh

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Sambuca Italian Restaurant (21)

Read what people think about Sambuca Italian Restaurant. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Sambuca Italian Restaurant before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Sambuca Italian Restaurant and book a table with confidence!

5.2/6

21 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
69
58
44
3
2
1
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
New"Very good"
5/6
Adrian C.12 days ago · 2 reviews

Lovely food with excellent customer service. Certainly worth a visit.

"Very good"
5/6
jim M.a month ago · 1 review

a very pleasant evening with nice food and friendly service.

"Good"
4/6
Kanellos P.2 months ago · 1 review

Food was nice , prices also , the atmosphere was moderate ,not exactly Italian but more like fast food aesthetic.

"Excellent"
6/6
Neil W.2 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food, good value and exceptional service by very friendly staff

"Excellent"
6/6
Scott R.2 months ago · 1 review

Delicious food. Lovely friendly service. Reasonably priced, and would highly recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sally F.2 months ago · 1 review

By far the best pizzas in town! Coupled with very friendly efficient service and management.

"Very good"
5/6
Hugh A.5 months ago · 1 review

I often eat in Sambuca. It is a lovely experience.

"Very good"
5/6
Colin C.5 months ago · 2 reviews

A real feeling of being welcome by the owners and getting a meal which is value for money. Excellent service.

"Excellent"
6/6
Paula R.5 months ago · 1 review

Visited here since it opened and never fails to disappoint - the food, the service and the price all great. Will be back

"Good"
4/6
Allan D.a year ago · 1 review

Very nice foods and very good service Will definitely go back

"Excellent"
6/6
Paula R.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was amazing so tasty Service was fast and attentive

"Very good"
5/6
Ian R.2 years ago · 1 review

Very welcoming atmosphere, excellent service and varied menu. Excellent reasonably priced house wine. Will be back!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lorraine M.6 years ago · 1 review

always a great night at sambuca.... authentic Italian food and service excellent and very welcoming of young children. We took our friends and family for a Tuesday night birthday celebration and the evening was fabulous.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michael A.6 years ago · 1 review

We have eaten at Samba many times and the overall standard is still first class! Good size portions and plenty of choice for all appetites!

"Very good"
5/6
gavin h.6 years ago · 1 review

both food and wine were excellent and the service was both very and efficient and the overall ambiance wasvry warm and friendly. we would recommend it to our friends

"Very good"
5/6
Margaret G.6 years ago · 1 review

If you like small, cosy restaurants, good food, friendly service and reasonable prices you will love Sambuca. It was slightly too noisy for my liking because of a large party next to us, hence 5 not 6 - otherwise no complaints at all. 5 of us had delicious meals all round and excellent service from all the staff.

"Good"
4/6
Rose S.6 years ago · 6 reviews

Meals not as flavoursome as the last time we were there. Steak underdone so was taken back and cooked for longer. Veal dish wasn't as good value for money as not much veal, and very few potatoes. Shame our experience on second visit didn't live up to the first.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rose S.6 years ago · 6 reviews

Nice place with simple decor, off the beaten track, which is a bonus. Very friendly and entertaining staff (Cara and Al). Delicious starters of bruschetta and garlic mozzarella bread. Excellent and generous mains of spaghetti marinara, tagliatelle al salmone, spaghetti amatriciana, tagliatelle carbonara and scallopini fungi y crema. Tasty desserts of chocolate banoffie pie, tiramisu, cheesecake and peach melba. Very drinkable house red as well. All in all a very enjoyable experience we hope to repeat

"Good"
4/6
Marie W.6 years ago · 1 review

Decor and table settings a bit basic, my pasta dish was very good and the Tiramisu dessert was light and tasty. My (Italian) companion thought her pizza was "from the freezer and not as good as the ones we buy from the supermarket and top ourselves". The waiter was helpful and polite and my 2 other companions also enjoyed their food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Karen J.6 years ago · 1 review

Staff were lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcome. First time there and the food was lovely - bruschetta recommended. Will definitely be going back little gem of a place!!

"Very good"
5/6
Mark M.6 years ago · 1 review

What a fantastic restaurant, the staff were brilliant, friendly, always had a smile and readily available to answer any questions. The food was lovely, cheese garlic bead as a starter, main course followed by Sicilian cheesecake and profiteroles .....mmmmm. Will definitely come back when visiting Edinburgh :-) Mark & Ann-Marie (Carb load for EMF)