Reviews The Kensington Wine Rooms

KensingtonDrinks, British, European££££
Excellent
4.8/6
181 Reviews
The Kensington Wine Rooms London image 1
The Kensington Wine Rooms London image 2
The Kensington Wine Rooms London image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

181 The Kensington Wine Rooms Reviews

Read reviews about The Kensington Wine Rooms here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Kensington Wine Rooms. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Kensington Wine Rooms.

Excellent
4.8/6
181 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Marco F.2 months ago · 2 reviews

Outstanding wine selection! I would suggest every wine lover to pay a visit to the Kensington Wine Rooms

"Excellent"
6/6
Jay M.4 months ago · 1 review

Excellent place with first class food, service and wines!! The manager is from South Africa and had some good suggestions, A fine choice all around!

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew F.3 months ago · 1 review

A lovely evening of food and wine. Friendly service with good advice on pairings and individual glasses. A few extra words to get to 25.

"Excellent"
6/6
Marco S.4 months ago · 15 reviews

Incredibly good wines and excellent food. You‘ll be happy to pay a little more for that. The waiters work fast, are courteous and attentive. An absolute recommendation!

"Great"
5/6
George F.2 years ago · 1 review

The first course of crab arrived looking rather like "Wine bar food " very tasty and very well made. Lovely fresh crab but poor presentation. For main courses two of our party of six shared a Chateaubriand steak which was cooked rare and absolutely perfect. I have seen Chateaubriand written on Menus as Chateaubrian ha ha and with cooking worse than the spelling. No-this was a great piece of meat cooked to perfection. I sampled a piece as my two friends could not finish the generous portion.. I and my partner both had Duck. Slightly too rare for me but a nice portion with a good cherry sauce which was not over sweet. The other two had lamb which looked great and was well presented and garnished. We had sides of tempura courgette with an aioli dip and sautéed new potatoes. Both great and I especially liked the tempura courgette which I have not had before. No room for puddings so we finished with Coffee. £390 for 6 or £130 per couple. A bit pricey for a wine bar but then it is Kensington and the food is restaurant quality. The price was bumped up by the wines where there is not really anything worth drinking under £30 per bottle which is on the high side. We had 2 bottles of a South African Pinot Noir which was well served and well presented.

"Good"
4/6
Sonja S.a year ago · 1 review

Atmosphere was nice. Food was good when it arrived - though we needed to remind the waiter numerous times for some dishes, and the olives never arrived - though we were charged for them. There was a problem with the wine dispenser for the large glass. It was plunked down on the table at the same volume as the small glasses with no explanation. We mentioned it to the waiter who then did a manual pour to top up, but it was very unclear if it was the right amount. A service charge of 12.5% was added for our lackadaisical, inattentive service. Would I go back? Possibly, if I was standing outside the door and wanted a glass of wine and a nibble. Otherwise, there are a lot of alternatives with less hassle nearby.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joanne E.2 years ago · 1 review

Absolutely loved The Kensington Wine Rooms. Perfect venue for a catch up with a friend over dinner, Excellent food/menu, I really liked the fact they can pick the wine to go with each of the dishes. Friendly atmosphere and nice staff. Would definitely recommend!

"Okay"
3/6
Freddy B.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely wine and nice bites to eat Unfortunately , after having a lovely time and being served by a really nice waitress, we were met by rudeness from the manager that literally turned to us and said:” you have to leave now “. Of course we were having a very good conversation and as it happens were just waiting on our taxis to arrive ( since, once lights were up we had gotten the hint it was closing). The chock was as we were leaving and walked to the other room the place was still kinda full and no one looked like they were leaving any time soon. My question is why would he be so rude to us and clearly hadn’t bother with anyone else. So yes go there for sure but be ready to meet a less friendly service from management which makes a lovely night slightly bitter.

"Excellent"
6/6
Shipra S.a year ago · 1 review

I requested a table by the window.. though on arriving all the places by the window were taken. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. The food (calamari as starter and onglet steak) were delicious combined with the recommendation of wine.. the desert Umathum was so delicious (recommended by a member of the staff) that I bought a bottle to take it with me back home!! Most definitely recommended..

"Great"
5/6
Emi A.8 months ago · 1 review

Friendly staff, nice wine selection, concept of bar, and good food. The foi gras when I went during winter was amazing, however this time I was very disappointed. Had this very tangy taste. Jason iberico was not as aged as last time, though the cutting skills were excellent. The staff at the beginning were not very attentive, and forgot to give us the wine list although we bought the card for the tasting machines. Very friendly though understaffed perhaps.