Reviews The King Alfred

City CentreBritish, European££££
Excellent
4.9/6
25 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Bird in Hand

Cowplain
5.3/6460
Bird in Hand

The Ship Inn

Redbridge
5.3/6132
The Ship Inn

25 The King Alfred Reviews

Read reviews about The King Alfred here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The King Alfred. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The King Alfred.

Excellent
4.9/6
25 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Karl S.a year ago · 1 review

Great food. We had the roast beef Sunday lunch. The plate was loaded and we didn’t have to wait long. Great service from Alison Longhurst

"Excellent"
6/6
James K.a year ago · 1 review

Wonderful lunch. Perfect setting. All good. Can not recommend more highly. Great garden for the kids too. Best pub in Winchester I’ve found so far.

"Excellent"
6/6
Katherine D.a year ago · 1 review

Fabulous experience! Staff very friendly- nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and very good value. Free glass of fizz on mothers day was very welcome!

"Excellent"
6/6
Claire A.a year ago · 1 review

We took family out for Sunday lunch at The King Alfred Pub. Staff were friendly and the food was delicious. Sunday roast and Seafood Chowder.

"Okay"
3/6
Anna D.2 years ago · 1 review

Instantly met with hostility as we walked in with a buggy, no "hello" or "how are you?" Just the rules and regulations of where I am and am not allowed with my child. This was backed up with a patronising poem in the toilets reminding me how to be a good parent. Food was ok, some of it a little over priced in my opinion and the menu was a little predictable, mainly consisting of Roast dinners. We had a cold meat sharing dish for £16.50 that was about 8 slices of meat and 4 slices of bread, the value for money of this was negligible. Then a chicken roast and a beef roast, both were tasty and filling. Staff were mainly friendly but slow at clearing tables, we took our own glasses back to the bar and our empty starter plates remained on the table for the whole meal. I think the pub lacked atmosphere, it used to have a real hustle and bustle about it but just felt a little flat when we were there. Maybe it was my greeting when I arrived that put me on the wrong footing and then tainted my visit, but I don't think we'll go back, and I don't think they'll care as we have a child and they'd rather we weren't there anyway.

"Great"
5/6
Paul T.2 years ago · 1 review

Great pub lovely atmosphere and superb staff, and food was really excellent. We are regulars there and it seems to get better and better each time we are there, a huge improvement since it was taken over by the littlepubgroup

"Excellent"
6/6
ANDREA G.a year ago · 1 review

Fantastic evening food very good had the steak evening menu great value service and staff very good Took my husband and two other friends who had never been before they were impressed!

"Great"
5/6
Amanda R.a year ago · 1 review

The staff were very attentive and friendly, but we did have to wait 45 mins for our food. The staff did advise of this when we were about to order. Overall good atmosphere and we enjoyed the food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Catherine W.a year ago · 1 review

This was the best roast diner in a pub that I have ever had. The meat was tender, wonderful veg, gorgeous chocolate brownie with a lovely glass of wine. Superb!! 🥂

"Great"
5/6
Sarah T.a year ago · 2 reviews

Delicious food with a good variety of choices. The service was attentive and friendly. Atmosphere was good although some people may find it rather dark but there were well positioned lights over the table. Slightly over priced.