Reviews The Lowther

City CentreInternational££££
Very Good
4.2/6
17 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 1 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Southbank Boston Spa

Boston Spa
5.3/690
Southbank Boston Spa

17 The Lowther Reviews

Read reviews about The Lowther here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Lowther. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Lowther.

Very Good
4.2/6
17 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Service:Great
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Lively
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Philip I.9 months ago · 1 review

A fine carvery Sunday lunch, a friendly chef and bar staff, a lovely river view from our table. The meal was very enjoyable as was our whole weekend visit to York.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rick D.a year ago · 1 review

Had a great morning with our daughter and friends on Sunday, it was our first visit to the lowther. Great food and service also very well price

"Excellent"
6/6
Neil B.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent carvery, great service My family and I often visit the Lowther and find the Sunday lunch carvery to be great value for money and the quality of food to be excellent.

"Excellent"
6/6
Diana L.a year ago · 1 review

My Husband and had a good time and the food was 1st class, the young lady who looked after us was very kind and good at her job, in fact all the staff were.

"Great"
5/6
Sarah O.a year ago · 1 review

Food was lovely. A nice selection. It was very busy though and they could of done with a few more staff working. Apart from that we had a very pleasant meal. We will definitely return. I have recommended The Lowther to my friends as a place to go for a good Sunday lunch.

"Okay"
3/6
Sven L.a year ago · 1 review

The Sunday Carvery was excellent but i'm sorry, service really let us down.The chap behind the bar was so busy twiddling his mustache I pretty much had to wave at him, standing in front of him, to capture his attention. Unforutnately, it wasn't until we were taken to our table that we were then told, if we want carvery, we have to get the tickets from the bar back downstairs. Would have been helpful to say so while we were there. At the end, trying to work out the bill (I prebooked with a TasteCard) we were delayed by the fact that the guy who put the order in the till who needed to use his card to give us the bill, was on a break. Really?! such a shame, great food, nice venue and location, ?staff training needed?

"Excellent"
6/6
Anthony B.a year ago · 1 review

The Lowther was flooded when we got there but our money was refunded within minutes from my email. Impressive ! Very impressive service indeed. Thanks!

"Great"
5/6
Alan F.a year ago · 3 reviews

Had Sunday Carvery using a Groupon offer. Meat was very good, but vegetables were the usual "Carvery Problem" of being kept on hot plates and not really warm enough. Would go back again. Groupon value was over inflated at we could have got two meals for £16 but Groupon claimed a £20 value.

"Great"
5/6
JOHN R.a year ago · 1 review

Arrived ten minutes early for our 1pm booking, table was ready and had the seniors offer for £6-95. selected beef for our meat which was cooked to perfection, a good selection of vegetables and a very nice yorkshire pudding with tasty thick gravy.

"Great"
5/6
Andrew B.a year ago · 2 reviews

The food was good, nice and hot. The ambience was a little different given that the ground floor was flooded, this meant there was limited room and no access to the draft beers. That all said we enjoyed our meal.