Reviews The Mail Coach

City CentreBritish, European££££
Very Good
4.2/6
26 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Hops and Chops

Duston
5.4/6276
Hops and Chops

Fox & Hounds - Charwelton

Charwelton
5.5/6147
Fox & Hounds - Charwelton

26 The Mail Coach Reviews

Read reviews about The Mail Coach here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Mail Coach. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Mail Coach.

Very Good
4.2/6
26 Reviews
Food:Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
June G.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was lovely didn't have to wait long for it. Staff were polite and helpful. We were seated when we arrived and drinks brought to our table.

"Excellent"
6/6
Danny D.2 years ago · 1 review

It was the first time we had been to the Mail Coach and i will be going back for sure the food was great ,plenty to choose from and the staff were very nice and a big plus which was a surprise to us if you are going to the theatre they give you 20% of your meal. Really nice well done The Mail Coach Thankyou

"Excellent"
6/6
Paula T.2 years ago · 1 review

Good food , good value for money , great atmosphere - and staff were helpful and quick to serve . Will go back again soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jean G.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely meal, seved in plenty of time for us to get to a show at the theatre. The 20% discount also made it very affordable.

"Excellent"
6/6
Neil P.2 years ago · 1 review

To start with the staff were extremely friendly from the minute we got there until the minute we finished our meal and left, very polite and happy to help with anything we needed. Next comes the food, and being that after all this is just a pub I was surprised to find the selection of 'different' dishes than you would usually find from a pub menu. But believe me this is 'different' in the best way possible, and there were so many things that I wanted to try on the menu but knew I wouldn't be able to fit in, but it's a great excuse to go back again. The baked camembert for starters was absolutely delicious and is definitely recommended, and the customisable burger option is a great way to have a burger that is not just your standard boring beef or chicken burger, and it tasted excellent. Beer battered gherkins, salt & pepper calamari and sweet chilli halloumi are just some of the other things that offer a different and in my opinion better dining experience than you would get at a normal pub. The food was second to none, the portion sizes were perfect and importantly the price was very reasonable. There really is nothing bad to say about 'The Mail coach' and I'll definitely be going back again soon.

"Okay"
3/6
Gron B.2 years ago · 1 review

We could not fault the young man who served us and took our order he was a credit to the Mail Coach, his customer service was second to none. However the time it took to be served our meal was not acceptable. We booked our table for 6pm, we were told there was a 25 minute wait for food, and were ok with that, however we waited 50 minutes and when it arrived it was luke warm, and not very nice. We spoke with the Manager who said that they had not expected to be so busy, however there were a number of empty tables, and wth all due respect the Kinks musical Sunny Afternoon was on at the Derngate which would have prompted anyone to plan for a busy night. We were going there and had hoped to eat in a relaxed and leisurely manner before hand, but ended with rushing a below standard meal. The bill was adjusted to reflect the poor experience, but that is not the point.

"Excellent"
6/6
alan p.2 years ago · 1 review

A superb pre theatre deal. Very convenient for eating when visiting the Derngate. A good selection of drinks on offer along with a fabulous menu. Cater for vegetarians as well as the meat eaters. Foods tasted nice and was hot. Service from being shown to our table to asking for the bill was effortless. Would recommend

"Great"
5/6
John B.2 years ago · 1 review

We enjoyed a well presented meals of ham,eggs, and chips. We benefitted from the 20 per cent reduction for theatre goers. Friendly pub atmosphere and good service. We will certainly call in for further meals and will suggest it to friends. We came because we overheard someone at the theatre say they had enjoyed one of your meals.

"Bad"
2/6
Maisie C.2 years ago · 1 review

On arrival table was prepared for just 3 people not 7 as requested on booking. We were then very disappointed to be told there was no Sunday roast being served. After ordering food took a long time to get to the table and once it finally did a lot was over cooked and disappointing. Steak overdone, burgers overdone and dry with mushroom on top barely cooked at all, mushy peas with fish and chips over cooked and dried out. Overall not as enjoyable as we had hoped. The staff did take the steak off the bill as it was not cooked how it was ordered. Sharing starters were nice however there was a long wait for mains afterwards.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle B.2 years ago · 1 review

Sunday dinner was delicious and included half a chicken! Was very impressed and iveryt is located next door to the theatre which was ideal for us catching a Sunday 5pm show.