Reviews The Marmion

SouthseaBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
68 Reviews
The Marmion Portsmouth image 1
The Marmion Portsmouth image 2
The Marmion Portsmouth image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

68 The Marmion Reviews

Read reviews about The Marmion here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Marmion. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Marmion.

Excellent
5.3/6
68 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Average
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Olivia P.16 days ago · 1 review

Great food, everyone was very happy with their meal. Nice atmosphere, good decor, clean and spacious. Good service and staff were very helpful. Would recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Corinne M.a month ago · 1 review

Fantastic service, extremely lovely staff. My partner forgot to tip and remembered about it once we left, we felt awful as they deserve praise. The food was amazing and the ambience and decor was truly wonderful. We aim to go again many more times to come.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sophie P.3 months ago · 2 reviews

I visited for lunch, the food was lovely and a very reasonable price for the quality. The staff were friendly and helpful. I only have positive things to say and will be visiting again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Diana U.4 months ago · 1 review

Lively place with very friendly staff. We had a delicious cheeseburger and truly excellent fish and chips! We would love to return next time we visit Portsmouth. A reservation was a good idea on Saturday night.

"Excellent"
6/6
William B.a year ago · 3 reviews

Well, it’s no wonder the Marmion gets such great reviews having sampled their fayre tonight I can only but agree. We booked a table on line and went straight to the table after ordering drinks about 5:30 PM, nice atmosphere and an ideal setting for a restaurant in a busy, social pub. The girl who served us was very helpful and friendly, difficult when you are the only one front of house, we just got there before the evening staff arrived, so no complaints. I Initially thought it funny there were no starters (trust me, you would struggle to get through mains course with their portion sizes), just olives and bread – bit more than that, bread with salsa dip, bowl of olives, bowl of red peppers with soft cheese and balsamic vinegar dip for the warm bread, lovely and filling which is why our eyes were bigger than our tummies. Mrs B had nachos with cheese and chicken with bowls of sour cream, guacamole and salsa plus jalapeno chillies, quite fiery but very nice. I had battered cod with humungous chips, mushy pea bowl and tarte sauce (all sauces chef prepared). What a gorgeous fish, so fresh too in a thin batter and a large piece too, as good or better than any fish & chip shop. We both went for the GF lemon cheesecake, wowsers, this took the experience to a new level, it was beautiful in every way, artistic presentation with a nice strawberry & a couple of raspberries’, little bowl of sorbet to balance what I can only describe as handmade lemon curd taste to die for and a sumptious cheesecake on a light fluffy base of biscuit. At this point, there was no room for an espresso, I /we were done, you know that over-eaten feeling after a blowout Sunday roast, that feeling… To conclude, you better be hungry

"Excellent"
6/6
Daniel B.10 months ago · 1 review

Booked it for a meal for 10, which was in a nice spot in the corner of the pub, food was fantastic and servers were attentive as possible. This is where the issue lay because perhaps really this pub was not the correct location for meals as it was trying to be a restaurant but also a party pub at the same time. The music was a bit too loud at the table, though it was turned down in our corner upon request, and it was difficult once the evening got going to get refreshments from the table or to settle the bill because of how busy it was and how stretched the staff were, as there were waiting tables and tending the bar at the same time. I would recommend this establishment as an after meal venue for a good atmosphere drinking pub. There was a nice selection of beers, ales and particularly an impressive gin selection. Very nice pub, but wouldn't recommend eating the food in the evening, it would be better as a lunch or really early evening restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah B.a year ago · 1 review

Great. I booked online, but was going to be a bit late so when I rang in to say so the girl thanked me for letting them know, which was kind of her considering we were at fault. The table was ready and they gave us a few minutes before asking us what we wanted to drink. They made an effort to ensure my friend avoided certain foods and that we all had what we wanted. The food was fresh and tasty. Very good gin too!

"Okay"
3/6
Michael A.10 months ago · 1 review

We dined with friends on a Saturday night. We all enjoyed the food and had no complaints about the service BUT the noise of the music was unbearable and completely ruined the evening. We spent the whole time shouting at each other, I have never had a meal like it. In between songs the pub was still noisy, as there were a lot of people, but fine. We asked for the music to be turned down, which it was for about 15 seconds and then turned up again. We could not hear the waiter speaking, who continuously apologised for the noise. I suspect that the music was catering for the regular drinkers in which case the Marion needs to decide if it wants to be purely a drinking establishment or offer good food in a pleasant environment. Pleasant it wasn’t. Sorry but we will not be back

"Excellent"
6/6
Tony S.8 months ago · 4 reviews

The food was excellent. My wife had a chick pea curry and the other two of us harissa chicken on potato. The dishes seemed to be individually made rather than the very standard dishes at chains. The service from Matt and Holly was excellent too. We had not been to the Marmion first r a long while but I would recommend it!

"Excellent"
6/6
Pauline P.5 months ago · 1 review

Spent the evening of England's Semi Final here and had a wonderful night. We book a table to eat and they politely phone me and told me that as the football was on it would be a limited menu and would probably rather loud. We didn't care! The food was to die for. We will return. Great night and great atmosphere.