Reviews The Nelson Tavern

MudefordDrinks££££
Excellent
5.1/6
23 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 3 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Forest Home

Hardley
5.0/619
The Forest Home

The White Swan

Swanage
5.0/63
The White Swan

23 The Nelson Tavern Reviews

Read reviews about The Nelson Tavern here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Nelson Tavern. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Nelson Tavern.

Excellent
5.1/6
23 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Sam H.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food and good service. Free kids meal too which was a bonus! Thank you. Will definitely return and recommend to our friends and family

"Excellent"
6/6
Sally B.2 years ago · 3 reviews

Had a lovely meal in The Nelson Tavern. A lovely restaurant which seems very popular. Would definitely recommend to anybody visiting the area to try it out.

"Excellent"
6/6
Heather C.2 years ago · 1 review

Great food and service! The team were really helpful and offered to decorate the area we were sitting in with decorations. A great range of tasty food and perfect atmosphere for our hen do party.

"Excellent"
6/6
Christine M.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely meal with staff happy to accommodate dietary requirements of elderly member of party. Very good value for money. We will definitely be going again.

"Okay"
3/6
Lisa H.2 years ago · 1 review

I booked on line and requested special vegan requirements. Unfortunately due to take over/ new system it was not noted on arrival to our booked table. Walking through the pub to the restaurant with the locals was like being on the set of American werewolf in London!!! Then sat down chef came out to discuss vegan option " whose causing trouble" re the menu, but it was fine the one choice of veggie was adequate. Friendly manager but over exposing new issues experiencing by new take over.... Something I don't need to hear. Nice meal but over priced for what it was. Overall disappointing.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julia P.2 years ago · 1 review

Delicious home made Steak & Kidney pie, with chunky chips & red wine gravy, I had Prawn & Samphire Risotto with Cod, equally delicious. Followed by Sticky Toffee Pudding. Helpful friendly staff. looking forward to a return visit soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
steve w.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The Nelson has really stepped up it's position in Christchurch for places to eat! Service was wonderful and the food exceptional, well done to the new management, we'll be back soon!

"Great"
5/6
Jean S.2 years ago · 1 review

Apart from the fact that I thought it was still a Thai restaurant...silly me for not checking... It was a great evening. The new decor was nice and food very nice. Nice and hot and good portions.

"Good"
4/6
Matthew C.2 years ago · 1 review

Nice atmosphere and pleasant service. Food was average. We had the Fishermans Platter sharing dish (£19.95) and it was ok but all fried and basic. Brooklyn lager draught not kept very well. Would go back again for decent pub grub at reasonable prices

"Excellent"
6/6
David M.2 years ago · 5 reviews

Enjoyable food and a very relaxing evening. Bubble recommended as starter. This was followed by great Steak all accompanied by great beer. Well recommended and will visit again.