Reviews The Old Mill - Portishead

Town CentreBritish, European££££
Very Good
3.8/6
37 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Fig Tree - Penarth

Penarth
5.3/6150
The Fig Tree - Penarth

Culley's at The Exchange Hotel

Cardiff Bay
5.0/645
Culley's at The Exchange Hotel

37 The Old Mill - Portishead Reviews

Read reviews about The Old Mill - Portishead here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Old Mill - Portishead. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Old Mill - Portishead.

Very Good
3.8/6
37 Reviews
Value for money:Reasonable value
Service:Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Lively
Food:Good
Waiting time:Good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Lyndon S.a year ago · 8 reviews

Pancakes were a great idea, but 1 plate would have been plenty for the 3 of us. Great service, everyone trying very hard to please. Will use again

"Excellent"
6/6
Will T.a year ago · 1 review

Very nice Sunday lunch. Kids meals were off on a Sunday which was different to what i was informed when I booked. My 2 don't really like roast so that left kids size fish and chips as the only option. Parking procedure and charges overly complicated...

"Excellent"
6/6
Sam B.a year ago · 1 review

Very good meal! Had a lovely time there with good food and drink. Will definitely have another burger night there. Perfect for people on a budget and really good food!

"Excellent"
6/6
Jon P.a year ago · 2 reviews

Sunday lunch, fantastic. Cooked really well with generous portions. Service very friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Will definitely be back to eat here again

"Excellent"
6/6
John M.2 years ago · 1 review

This was the first time we tried the Old Mill since it opened and we were not disappointed. They recognise that they have to work hard to get people through the doors and the deal that was on offer was excellent value for money. We will definitely be back and I urge those that have yet to try the Old Mill to book a table soon. The quality of the food was excellent and the service was top draw also.

"Okay"
3/6
Wendy S.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was OK, not brilliant but acceptable (except the raspberry ripple ice cream with sponge roll for £5:50 which in reality is 4 wafer thin slices of an arctic roll! Yes really!) the setting was fine, the service was not really, in reality they were either very inexperienced or just completely untrained in serving customers, putting another tables dirty plates on our table whilst picking up one of our parties finished plate while the rest of us are still eating was not really acceptable. Service was extremely slow and when we ordered deserts we got 'yes you might just be in time for desert, this at 21:30, distinctly felt we were being rushed so they could leave. Would not go here again. Thankfully the company we were with more than made up for everything else, will just take the company elsewhere in future

"Okay"
3/6
John H.a year ago · 1 review

The food was fine, wasn't bad but wasn't outstanding either, just average pub food really so seemed a little overpriced for the standard. Food came quickly and the waiter was nice. Good to see full English breakfast available until 4pm and the prices for breakfast were very cheap. Only had 1 pudding available from the whole dessert menu and the room was draughty. During a delivery they left the door open for ages so we froze while we ate. They apologised but it's not exactly nice to sit in 2 degree temperatures during my dads birthday lunch and they could have closed the door between each load if they had any sense. Overall a pretty average experience - a weak choice for a birthday meal but good for breakfasts and sandwich lunch deals.

"Great"
5/6
Matthew G.a year ago · 1 review

The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. Great portion size and clearly handmade. We had a lovely evening. The only downside was the toilets are in need of a little tlc but they were still clean just needs the broken bits fixed- we will definitely be going back.

"Good"
4/6
Nicola D.2 years ago · 1 review

a bit of a mish mash of decor,a pub that's unsure of what it wants to be.lighting upstairs is very bright,and sat directly underneath I couldn't see a thing as it reflected off of my specs.Food was good 😁 Staff were ok,although they were short staffed.food was good if a fraction pricey for what it was

"Good"
4/6
Ken M.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was ok - decent pub grub, generous platefuls. Service needs some finessing - had to ask for menus (!), table next to us had to ask for cutlery, another table had empty dishes uncleared for around 20 mins. But that will come with experience - staff are still learning. Not great, but certainly not bad.