Reviews Viva Mexico

Old TownMexican, Tex-Mex, Latin American££££
Excellent
5.4/6
599 Reviews
Viva Mexico Edinburgh image 1
Viva Mexico Edinburgh image 2
Viva Mexico Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

599 Viva Mexico Reviews

Read reviews about Viva Mexico here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Viva Mexico. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Viva Mexico.

Excellent
5.4/6
599 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Martin H.8 days ago · 1 review

Absolutely superb, would 100% recommend the food and the service

New"Excellent"
6/6
Fiona h.8 days ago · 1 review

Love this place, never disappoints. Amazing food, top service xx

New"Excellent"
6/6
Jack S.10 days ago · 1 review

We loved everything! The perfect place for a date night

"Excellent"
6/6
Lana H.15 days ago · 1 review

Literally so good. Real, delicious, insanely incredible Mexican food. They’ve been there for 35 years and I frankly expect them to be around for another hundred at least. Everything was unbelievably delicious, from the homemade traditional margaritas and chocolate chilli cheesecake, to the killer chimichangas and enchiladas. I will HAPPILY get a train up from Newcastle just to go here again. Seriously. Mad love. Oh, and the staff are ridiculously amazing and lovely, and the ambience is pretty darn cool too. Love it. 11/10

"Excellent"
6/6
Joan B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

I visited Viva Mexico with my husband for our wedding anniversary. I used to live in Edinburgh and always loved this restaurant so, being back in town on a rare occasion, I had to see if it was still as good. I wasn't disappointed. The menu was broad, but simple enough to not confuse, and from the initial margarita through stuffed jalapeñas and quesada grande packed with shredded beef it just got better and better. I loved the atmosphere as well; bright decor, music that was not too loud and a casual feel made it a really enjoyable experience, which is often hard since I wear hearing aids. I would recommend Viva Mexico to anyone who likes to eat good, down-to-earth spicy food in a relaxing but fun atmosphere.

"Good"
4/6
Katia F.2 years ago · 3 reviews

This is such a lovely restaurant (I have been here a few times and the food has been amazing). As a Mexican, it is difficult to find authentic food in Edinburgh, but usually Viva Mexico stands out. Unfortunately, this time the food was just okay. I had the pastor tostadas, which you are supposed to pick up and bite into, but the tostada itself was quite soft so couldn't be picked up... The starter of Plato Nacional was quite pricey for what we actually got (pretty much just tortilla chips and a couple bites of quesadillas for £8.50), and we waited almost 30 mins for our drinks order. I will come back as I love the place, and the waitress was very accommodating with my friend's allergy (though it's a bit ridiculous that we had to go back and forth about 5 times between our table and the kitchen because everything seemed to be deep fried in Soya oil...), but will try mid-week rather than Friday night.

"Excellent"
6/6
Isabelle H.a year ago · 1 review

Viva Mexico is a wonderful restaurant. I have been going there since the 80s when I was a student. The food is delicious, with huge main courses (I did not attempt a starter) and wonderful margarita cocktails. I chose the Tacos with chicken, which came with refried beans, guacamole and sour cream and was mahoosive! There was no room for any dessert, sadly. I had to make do with a delicious spicy hot chocolate instead. It came in at a very reasonable £25 including a tip. The ambience is lively - it was full on Friday evening, comfortable, with fast efficient service. A brilliant evening catching up with friends. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rachael G.2 years ago · 2 reviews

My family and I went to Viva Mexico on Sunday 6th December. I booked the table online and requested balloons or similar as decorations for the table as we were there to celebrate our daughters boyfriends 20th birthday. We were met with a lovely warm welcome and taken to our table which had a birthday boy banner hanging above!!! We were served quickly and the food was excellent. I couldn't fault anything. They had ran out of a particular dessert that one of our party asked for, but there was other choices. All in all - a very good evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
Miguel N.2 years ago · 1 review

Viva Mexico is one of the best Mexican food restaurants in the UK. The quality of the food is as good as I remembered growing up in Phoenix Arizona and San Jose California. I'm from the US, and Mexican American, so I know what I'm talking about. I'm 60 now, been in the UK for the last 25 years, and when I want a traditional Mexican meal, I know where to go!

"Good"
4/6
Michael G.2 years ago · 2 reviews

I had not been to Viva Mexico for several years and the place has grown since my last visit. Decor was pretty much as I remembered it but there is a bigger room as well. Staff are excellent and very friendly. Food as anticipated ... to be fair Mexican is not my first choice of cuisine (hence mid-ranging score) but this is good and I would go back. I think if you are a fan of Mexican food you'll enjoy it. Good portions, well presented. I don't know how prices compare with similar restaurants but seemed reasonable given the central location.