Reviews Al Porto

Hull MarinaItalian££££
Excellent
5.2/6
469 Reviews
Al Porto Hull image 1
Al Porto Hull image 2
Al Porto Hull image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

469 Al Porto Reviews

Read reviews about Al Porto here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Al Porto. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Al Porto.

Excellent
5.2/6
469 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Clare T.3 days ago · 1 review

Beautiful meal preceded by delightful drinks. Attentive service completed the excellent food and wine. Highly recommended. And such an atmospheric ambience. A lot of attention to table settings too. Excellent.

"Excellent"
6/6
Emily W.15 days ago · 2 reviews

Lovely food as always - I had the lobster ravioli, which was delicious. The restaurant looks great after refurbishment and the service was fantastic. Although I would like it if next time there was a cocktails menu on the table. I know there are cocktails on offer now but I never know which ones.

"Excellent"
6/6
Robert H.14 days ago · 1 review

This was our fifth or sixth time to Al Porto and we cannot fault the place. The atmosphere is great. The staff were friendly and helpful and most of all the food was fantastic. Perfectly cooked and tasty, all at very reasonable prices. Will definitely be booking again soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris C.23 days ago · 1 review

Brilliant food, well priced with excellent service. I had the specials, scallops followed by venison really good. Wife went for mussels and seafood risotto which was packed with flavour.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joanne I.4 months ago · 1 review

I booked a surprise meal at Al Porto for my fathers 73rd birthday. Having read reviews on trip advisor I was not disappointed. The staff were lovely and accommodating, providing birthday balloons for the table. My husband and I live in Manchester and are fortunate enough to be able to dine in some of the top restuarants in the city. I have to say that the food at Al Porto was equal if not better to some of the meals we have enjoyed there. I would like to thank everyone at Al Porto for taking such good care of us and helping to make the evening special. My father thoroughly enjoyed himself and will be taking mum back for dinner in the not too distant future. Think we may have to gate crash and try the Monkfish next time!!

"Okay"
3/6
Donna H.3 months ago · 1 review

Firstly, the plus points. The restaurant is in a prime position and the decor is very pleasant and welcoming. We arrived very early, but the staff were very accommodating and invited us to go straight to the table. We ordered our starters, which arrived in good time, and were very tasty, but sadly they arrived on pieces of roofing slate instead of crockery. (My pet hate). Then our mains arrived. Meatballs for me, my dish arrived, a bowl of spaghetti with three golf ball sized meatballs. (Could have done with a couple more for the price if I'm honest). They tasted OK, but two out of the three were cold/Luke warm at best. . I asked my fellow diners if theirs were OK, (3 of us had the same) and it appeared that I had just been unlucky. We had had just cleared our dishes but were still eating our side dishes of garlic bread when the waiters came and commenced taking our plates away, we felt under pressure to finish, bearing in mind that we arrived early we should have been given a little more time to enjoy our food. Finally, sweets arrived, once again arriving on pieces of slate. I was so disappointed. The food in general was quite nice, barring the cold meatballs, but the experience was spoiled for me by the lack of decent crockery and the feeling that we were under pressure to eat up and leave. So Al Porto, I suggest that you ensure that your food is served at the right temperature, on crockery instead of pretentiously dishing it up on reject building materials, and that you educate your younger staff to allow your clientele a little more time to digest their food. I know that using slate/chopping boards/plant pots etc to serve food on instead of perfectly decent plates or dishes seems to have become the trend but why not show some class by serving on quality crockery instead of following the herd.

"Good"
4/6
Paul c.a year ago · 1 review

Al Porto: This was our first visit and expectations were high, we were greeted and seated very quickly. We ordered a light starter of garlic bread and olives, unfortunately my wife’s bruschetta came dry so we asked for it to be returned and some garlic butter to be applied. When it returned she received two slices of bread heavily coated with garlic butter. So again we sent it back stating we wanted the bread to be bruschetta style this they did. For mains my wife ordered the duck unfortunately this had been cremated I however ordered the risotto marinara I was thoroughly enjoying it and would go as far as to say it was probably the best risotto I have ever had the texture and taste was amazing until that was, I reached a layer of salt which made it totally unpalatable. We then asked to see the sweet menu and having decided our choices we waited and waited until eventually the waitress returned at which point we decided to take the bill instead. The wine, which has been pointed out by previous reviewers was bang on (for my palate). In summary the front of house were charming, the ambience was relaxing the kitchen made some really bad school boy errors. Would we go again? Yes, we believe they deserve a second chance so watch this space!

"Great"
5/6
lesley h.a month ago · 1 review

Love Al Porto - however the disappearance of the lovely leather settees to the left when you walk in was a disappointment - we were taken to a soul-less room with a few tables and a bar with no-one in attendance and left for a good few minutes before a drinks order was taken. At our table in the main restaurant we chose a starter of bruschetta to share which came on a slate, we waited for a few minutes for sharing plates to come and they didn't so we ate the bruschetta off the slate, then the plates came but we had finished. Just a small thing - but Al Porto the small things matter. Otherwise a lovely meal.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julie R.9 months ago · 1 review

Brilliant night from start to finish. We found this restaurant through trip advisor as we are not from the area. We had the warmest of welcome on arrival which continued throughout the night. Their Parma violet gin cocktail was fabulous! Succulent scallops for me and spicy sausage pasta for my husband. Fantastic starters. Main course of fillet steak for me and a creamy chicken dish for him. Presentation and flavour were 10 out of 10 on every course. So full after the strawberry cheesecake, that s taxi was ordered for us, as attempting to walk would have been futile!!!! When we are back in Hull, we will definitely be coming back. Well done Al Porto, we think this was possibly the best meal and dining experience we have had in a very long time. You should be proud.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rose C.9 months ago · 1 review

We were a party of 6 in Hull just for the weekend so chose and booked Al Porto online. The lady who greeted us let us know they had just seated a large party so the kitchen were very busy and it might take a bit longer than usual for our starters which was fine and we appreciated her honesty. We all really enjoyed our food, the steaks were very well cooked and huge! Staff were very efficient and helpful. We had a great night 👍