Bengal Cymru Newport image 1
Bengal Cymru Newport image 2
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

Bengal Cymru

RiscaIndian££££
Excellent
5.4/6
34 Reviews

About Bengal Cymru

Located in the heart of Risca and only a stone’s throw from Newport, Bengal Cymru offers quality Indian dining that’ll have your taste buds tingling that’s for sure. You’ll find all the favourites you know and love, alongside some signature specialities that’ll have you coming back to this Commercial Street spot time and time again. Whether you’re a fan of spicy king prawn vindaloo, creamy butter chicken or murgi mushroom bagar cooked with ginger, peppers and coriander, Bengal Cymru has got you sorted. This is a local favourite for very good reason though so reservations are recommended.

Opening Times

Open today - Opens at 5:30 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Sunday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am

Address

Bengal Cymru
Commercial Street, Risca
Newport NP11 6AZ

Menu Highlights

1C7EBA56-AA6F-4A1D-8ECB-DACE554D828B

Starters

Chicken paneer stir fry

Chicken tikka stir fried with Indian paneer cheese
£3.50

Paneer cocktail

Prawns in a seafood sauce and salad
£2.90

King prawn puri

With king prawn
£4.50
31CA78D5-C09A-4F44-A73F-187385966112

Chef's Recommendations

Murghi kofta jalfrezi

Chicken minced koftas cooked in a spicy jalfrezi
£6.95

Chicken or meat tikka kurzi

Our chef's reccomendations. A spicy dish of tender meat or chicken marinated in yoghurt, served with pilau rice and green salad.
£10.95

Garlic chicken tikka massala

Tender pieces of boneless chicken marinated and served in a special garlic sauce
£8.95
Don't miss out on a table!

Main Menu

Main Menu

pdf

34 Bengal Cymru Reviews

Excellent
5.4/6
34 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Noise levels:Very pleasant
"Excellent"6/6
Dan R.6 days ago · 0 reviews

To anyone looking for a local Indian buffet in the South Wales area I would highly recommend - they are relematicely new (November 2017?) with friendly staff and fantastic food.

"Excellent"6/6
sarah w.19 days ago · 0 reviews

The restaurant, food and staff was all lovely. The only criticism I have is about the coke. When we first arrived I ordered a coke which was fine. Both myself and a friend ordered another two and we both agreed that they tasted funny. I tried to explain to the waiter that the syrup was running out but I don’t think he understood me, he brought a replacement which again tasted funny, so we opted for lemonade as a replacement, which was fine, but I have a sneaking suspicion that other customers might have had the same experience with the coke. So really the waiter should have arranged to have the syrup changed to avoid other customers having to send cokes back.

"Excellent"6/6
Callum B.19 days ago · 0 reviews

Fast service, lovely food, reasonably priced. Table was ready as soon as we arrived and we were watered and fed within an hour of arriving.

"Excellent"6/6
Martin M.20 days ago · 0 reviews

Great food, lovely service, brilliant value for money now a weekly trip out as can’t fault it

"Great"5/6
Adrian D.3 months ago · 0 reviews

Nice Welcome Starters and Mains we found to be Excellent. I booked for 4 people 2 weeks in advance I received a phone call on the day asking if we could come later or earlier, so we arrived an hour earlier. I would of Given a 6 but unfortunately we were asked by the staff to free up the table, so I never got to try the desserts.

"Excellent"6/6
Susan D.2 months ago · 0 reviews

A fab night, we have visited this restaurant twice before and I must say that Mo and his staff have excellent customer service skills. The food choice is outstanding, even suitable for children. The buffet set price is excellent value for money, we will be visiting again soon. Thanks 👍

"Great"5/6
Ronald B.3 months ago · 0 reviews

Our first visit to the Bengal Cwmru was very nice. The decor was lovely, it was a busy Saturday evening, as a serve your self, there were small queues for the great selection of staters, mains and desserts. My only reservation was the food could have been a bit hotter, temperature wise. We will definitely eat here again.

"Great"5/6
Jacqui S.a month ago · 0 reviews

Starters was great. Only tried a little of 2 curries which were ok but will try different ones next time. Dessert was ok but not a big choice. Service was fine but questioned bill and was over charged but was sorted straight away. I will however go back again.

"Great"5/6
Louisa W.3 months ago · 0 reviews

Staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. The food was presented well and tasted lovely. My only criticism was the colour changing walls with the patterns was a bit too hard on the eye and made things quite blurry. (Sounds petty but was quite distracting)

"Excellent"6/6
David L.2 months ago · 0 reviews

We've just come back from a Valentine's meal here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was excellent, the food was fresh and delicious and it was very reasonably priced. It's quickly become our favourite Indian restaurant!

2 People
There is no availability for this merchant.
Today (Thursday)
April 2018
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Choose a time: