Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Amersham
Amersham
Hawkyns Restaurant
Hawkyns Restaurant Reviews

Hawkyns Restaurant

British, Indian, European

Dishes priced around£14

Photo of restaurant Hawkyns Restaurant in Amersham, Amersham

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of Hawkyns Restaurant (64)

Read what people think about Hawkyns Restaurant. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about Hawkyns Restaurant before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about Hawkyns Restaurant and book a table with confidence!

5.0/6

64 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
630
515
411
34
24
1
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Very good"
5/6
STEVE B.a month ago · 2 reviews

Great new twist on everyone's favourite - good service and food at top level

"Average"
3/6
Ellen S.a month ago · 1 review

It was nice but expensive for what it was. Invited my Indian friend along and she was not that impressed.

"Excellent"
6/6
Stephen M.2 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food, complex flavours make this a very enjoyable experience!

"Excellent"
6/6
Barry M.2 months ago · 1 review

The food and service were exceptional!! Definitely worth a visit

"Excellent"
6/6
Anesu M.2 months ago · 1 review

Very nice staff and excellent food will definitely come back again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Amy R.2 months ago · 1 review

Food was amazing staff was amazing!!! Absolutely recommend to anyone!

"Very good"
5/6
Ravi R.2 months ago · 1 review

Friendly staff and service. Great food with right amount of spices and aroma.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mal C.3 months ago · 1 review

Excellent fare served by very helpful and professional staff. Definitely dining here again. Thank you Hawkyns

"Good"
4/6
Connie N.3 months ago · 1 review

Food was well presented and delicious. The waiters not as attentive as last time we visited. Had to ask twice to see the menu and the wrong size of drink given.

"Very good"
5/6
Carole G.3 months ago · 1 review

Enjoyable evening cosy and food amazing and staff went out of their way to be helpful.

"Very good"
5/6
Alex G.3 months ago · 1 review

A truly fantastic meal in a relaxed friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lucy F.3 months ago · 1 review

A memorable dining experience with a warm welcome from the team ensuring everything was as expected and more with good knowledge of the dishes. Each plate gave such incredible flavours and thoroughly enjoyed. A great experience for my husbands birthday and we hope to return in the future.

"Very good"
5/6
Edwina G.4 months ago · 1 review

Lovely place, lovely food but a couple of things let it down, the squid was chewy and after ordering our drinks we and another table had to remind the staff to bring them.

"Excellent"
6/6
PETER L.4 months ago · 1 review

Amazing as ever. Replaced the best ever curry (Railway Curry) with something EVEN BETTER. Really, it just can’t get better.

"Excellent"
6/6
Alan R.4 months ago · 1 review

Smaller restaurant than we expected. Excellent food as usual and the kulfi was to die for

"Very good"
5/6
Freda B.4 months ago · 1 review

The food, atmosphere, decor in restaurant and staff were great. Only small negative was we asked for extra chutney with starter and they didn't arrive and we had 2 rice between 3, felt 1 each would have been appreciated .. but still 10/10

"Very good"
5/6
Owen B.5 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food at reasonable price, presented by efficient friendly staff.

"Very good"
5/6
chris d.5 months ago · 1 review

Great evening Food was fantastic will certainly go back again

"Excellent"
6/6
Paulette A.5 months ago · 17 reviews

Amazing food and service - black lentils mango wine a must

"Excellent"
6/6
Emily C.6 months ago · 1 review

Food is delicious and the ambience is very relaxed. Service was good overall but not quite as good as our last visit 2 years ago. This is still the best Atul Kutcher restaurant/dining experience in the area though - and our favourite. We will definitely be returning.

"Excellent"
6/6
Iyantha P.6 months ago · 1 review

Overall a very good service, quality food, attentive staff so we really enjoyed. One thing if needs improving would be the sticky toffee pudding which was very dry and spoilt the final taste.

"Good"
4/6
Ushma T.6 months ago · 1 review

Food arrived in good time and all the food was very tasty

"Excellent"
6/6
Jill D.7 months ago · 1 review

Coconut curry was fabulous. Excellent service and very friendly staff.

"Good"
4/6
Graham G.9 months ago · 1 review

Food was lovely but wouldn't plan to visit this venue again due to price /value for money and uncomfortable wooden seats.

"Very good"
5/6
roger n.9 months ago · 1 review

excellent all round experience. great food and service. Prices were higher than other restaurants in the area.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jacqueline M.a year ago · 1 review

We had a super evening and can’t recommend Hawkyns enough. As usual the service was as good as the food itself and if you can’t decide what to eat try the tasting menu, you won’t be disappointed

"Good"
4/6
Maxine P.4 years ago · 1 review

Service was quick. One order of food was very nice the other order was ok but nothing special. Would not recommend the squid, very underseasoned and no chilli sauce. Railway lamb was tasty but not tender enough yet Murg chicken was cooked perfectly. Overall a good dinner but shame about the woman serving, verging on moody!

"Very good"
5/6
Jeffrey C.4 years ago · 1 review

very nice well worth a visit. Portions could be larger. Limited wine list.

"Excellent"
6/6
Erica R.4 years ago · 4 reviews

As always, a delicious dinner with subtle flavours + attentive service.

"Average"
3/6
Jane T.4 years ago · 1 review

Poor quality service, had to ask twice for water, staff didn’t seem to serve flawlessly, disappointed. Been twice now, same both times. Re the food, had the rose chicken as a main course, very bland, no flavour,. Black dahl very salty, yellow dahl too runny, it was like soup. Sorry to sound so negative but it was not what I expected from a michigan star 🌟 chef 👩‍🍳

"Very good"
5/6
PHILIP M.5 years ago · 1 review

WE BOTH ENJOYED THE MEAL AND WILL RECOMMEND THE RESTAURANT TO OUR FRIENDS.

"Excellent"
6/6
Pauline G.5 years ago · 1 review

Fab food fab service great to have somewhere like this in amersham

"Excellent"
6/6
Stephen G.5 years ago · 1 review

We booked a table here because another event we were booked in was cancelled at the last minute. Our evening as a substitute did not disappoint. Staff were happy and attentive and seemed excited to be working there. The food more than met the expectation you have when going to an Atul Kotcha (spelling?) restaurant and it was great to see the man himself take the time to talk to diners, although I think it's fair to say we were a bit star struck! A great place we hope to visit again and we have already recommended to family in our area.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gary B.5 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service. Good value too. Loved the sea bass

"Excellent"
6/6
Jean O.5 years ago · 1 review

exceptionally good Indian food and excellent friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere and a beautiful village setting

"Excellent"
6/6
Daemon P.5 years ago · 1 review

Service and food was excellent thank you My favourite Indian restaurant

"Excellent"
6/6
Heather A.5 years ago · 2 reviews

The menu was interesting. Food and service were high quality

"Not good "
2/6
Natacha H.5 years ago · 1 review

The food was excellent but the service was dreadful. Booked it for a friends birthday meal- very disappointed!

"Excellent"
6/6
colin h.5 years ago · 3 reviews

all round excellent. everything just right. shall be back often.

"Excellent"
6/6
lyddy d.5 years ago · 2 reviews

the staff was friendly specially to children and no bother amusing our 1 year old with us, medal to the member of staff who was kind and looking after us. thank you

"Excellent"
6/6
Hugh B.5 years ago · 1 review

First class food and service Always a very high standard!

"Excellent"
6/6
carol k.5 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food and excellent service! Atul Kochur at his best

"Excellent"
6/6
Scott C.5 years ago · 2 reviews

Another great lunch...beautiful Indian fine dining....looking forward to going back

"Not good "
2/6
naz g.5 years ago · 1 review

Sadly the food did not live up to expectations! What we received was worse that you will get st a cafe! The service however was good.

"Very good"
5/6
Elliott N.5 years ago · 1 review

Delicious food and great service. We will be back !

"Good"
4/6
Sarah P.5 years ago · 1 review

The venison was disastrously over cooked, and would strongly recommend not ordering it, because everything else was lovely. The waiting staff were very attentive and overall a good meal.

"Excellent"
6/6
Heather T.6 years ago · 7 reviews

Wonderful food and ambience. Great friendly service. We were delighted with the choices in the menu as they were different and interesting. We will definitely revisit this restaurant.

"Good"
4/6
Lynn B.6 years ago · 5 reviews

The tasting menu was amazing and the presentation was great, but unfortunately the service felt rushed and when we first arrived we weren't even acknowledged.

"Very good"
5/6
Marta W.6 years ago · 1 review

We have had a lovely and quick service. Good food. Nice and calm atmosphere. I would definitely recommend the restaurant for a calm night out.

"Average"
3/6
Andrew M.6 years ago · 1 review

It was ok but having been to Benares a few times we hoped for more. All a bit average. There are much better places locally

Earn cashback as you dine

Create a Quandoo account and earn £3 cashback.

Book a table and earn £1.50 cashback.

Leave a review and earn £0.50 cashback.