Reviews O Canto Do Passarinho

NewingtonPortuguese, European££££
Very Good
4.3/6
44 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Hendersons Salad Table & Restaurant

New Town
4.8/6172
Hendersons Salad Table & Restaurant

A Room In The West End

West End
5.3/6149
A Room In The West End

44 O Canto Do Passarinho Reviews

Read reviews about O Canto Do Passarinho here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at O Canto Do Passarinho. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about O Canto Do Passarinho.

Very Good
4.3/6
44 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Food:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Great
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Raquel G.2 years ago · 1 review

One of the best restaurants in town. The staff is also wonderful and very kind. We had an amazing dinner, delicious, and everything with a badass bossa-nova! I will go back, no doubts!

"Excellent"
6/6
Nicole A.2 years ago · 1 review

A compact yet cosy restaurant. The food was very tasty and very healthy. The piri piri chicken was delicious. If you like authentic Portuguese food this place is worth a visit

"Excellent"
6/6
Keith H.2 years ago · 1 review

Fantastic night out. Great food and wine. Friendly staff. Will be going back. We live in Portugal and the food is just like home. A must visit when in Edinburgh.

"Excellent"
6/6
Filipa V.2 years ago · 1 review

Amazing experience, excellent food not to mention the professional and lovely staff ! Can't wait to be back at Edinburgh to visit the place again !

"Great"
5/6
Anne C.2 years ago · 2 reviews

On a very cold evening, we received a very warm welcome at this authentically Portuguese restaurant. It is small and potentially cozy, though chilly on the night in question as we were the first customers and it hadn't warmed up yet. The food was exactly what we'd hoped for - a real taste of Portugal. We had bacalhao a bras (salt cod and potatoes in cream sauce) and carne de porco alentejana (pork and clams), both famous dishes in Portugal and both delicious. The choice of wines is very limited, though the bottle of Touriga National Trincadeira we had was good. They should expand their list of Portuguese wines. The portions were very generous and we ate too much but it was hard to resist. All in all, great value for money. We will be going back there soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Scot M.2 years ago · 1 review

Small, intimate restaurant, very good food. The waiter was friendly, helpful and added to the experience of eating here. It was delightful that the chef-owner came round and thanked us for our custom. We will certainly go to this restaurant again and tell all our friends that it is well worth a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joan C.2 years ago · 1 review

We felt like we'd spent an evening in Portugal. The warmth and music and the really really fabulous food. Add to that the live guitar playing, the champagne and chocolate cake for my partner's birthday! So attentive, spontaneous and friendly. We'll be back as soon as we can

"Good"
4/6
Martha M.2 years ago · 1 review

Being Portuguese myself, there were a few things that were missed: the Portuguese bread was one of them and the covert ended up too expensive for the simple bread that was offered. Lots of things listed in the menu weren't available like bacalhau like bacalhau and deserts. On top of that the card machine was broken. Carne de porco à alentejana and bitoque were good but francezinha didn't convince.

"Great"
5/6
Graham P.2 years ago · 1 review

Pauli, owner manager was great. Food was good and white wine was chilled to perfection. The Portuguese sausage was very meaty and very tasty. Pauli has only just got his licence so didn't have and white port when we visited. It is on its way. Definitely recommend this restaurant. I will be back next year.

"Good"
4/6
Amber K.2 years ago · 4 reviews

Great wee restaurant. Been here several times. Unfortunately this time they had the football on as portugal were in the semi finals. When we turned up the only table was right by the door and it was really noisy. The staff were very understanding when we said we didn't now want the table. Food smelt amazing so will bbe back again soon!