Looks like something didn't work quite right. Please reload this page.
Restaurants
Mansfield
Blidworth
The Black Bull Bar and Bistro
The Black Bull Bar and Bistro Reviews

The Black Bull Bar and Bistro

Drinks, British, European

Dishes priced around£18

Photo of restaurant The Black Bull Bar and Bistro in Blidworth, Mansfield

Fast and free booking for:

Reviews of The Black Bull Bar and Bistro (113)

Read what people think about The Black Bull Bar and Bistro. All restaurant reviews are written by verified Quandoo diners. Learn more about The Black Bull Bar and Bistro before you go by getting tips and ratings from other restaurant-goers. With real-life reviews, you can see what other diners loved about The Black Bull Bar and Bistro and book a table with confidence!

5.4/6

113 reviews

Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
671
527
46
35
23
11
Most recent
  • Most recent
  • Highest rated
  • Lowest rated
"Excellent"
6/6
Robin D.20 days ago · 1 review

Superb food. The waitress was also superb and so efficient and friendly

"Excellent"
6/6
Galina C.21 days ago · 2 reviews

Good food, good service, enjoyed the atmosphere. Will definitely come back

"Excellent"
6/6
Isu K.a month ago · 1 review

Amazing high quality food as always. This kitchen has two AA rosettes and it shows. Just brilliant!! Well done everyone. Consistent food and service always!

"Excellent"
6/6
Shirley B.a month ago · 1 review

Lovely breakfast ,service great and Monika super .Thanks see you soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Helen L.a month ago · 1 review

This was our first time eating here and the good was amazing. Perfect portion size and great value. We fell lucky that there was also a short play on and a band practising in the dining area which was fantastic!! I have already made a date to return.

"Very good"
5/6
Felicity D.2 months ago · 1 review

Lovely food as usual staff friendly and polite think it needs a bit of a revamp now though as we had to swop chairs as dirty

"Excellent"
6/6
Terry R.2 months ago · 1 review

Our first visit for food wow was really nice service was great too.be back soon.

"Average"
3/6
Adam C.2 months ago · 1 review

A little disappointed with the standard of food, and also the dessert was a frozen block of ice!!

"Good"
4/6
Gloria L.3 months ago · 1 review

The front of the pub was beautifully presented but it is a struggle to find any suitable parking should the 5-6 spaces infront of the pub is taken. The neighbouring pubs all had a dedicated car park so it’s a little off putting. There’s supposed to be an overspill car park but we certainly couldn’t see one. We came with empty stomachs for the highly anticipated AA rosette food and left with stomachs fairly full but maybe a little less fulfilled than we hoped. We shared a hog roast sausage roll for a starter and had a tiramisu dessert on top which we usually seldom have room for after a good Sunday lunch. We both opted

"Very good"
5/6
Julie F.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Fabulous food, friendly staff Nice relaxing atmosphere really enjoyed it

"Excellent"
6/6
Jason B.4 months ago · 1 review

Amazing food, so well done and presented. Tasted incredible. Like it that it's not too big and service was very good.

"Very good"
5/6
Marie S.4 months ago · 1 review

Tastiest and most flavoursome Sunday dinner we have ever had…and we’ve had a few! Staff were lovely too.

"Excellent"
6/6
Fiona H.4 months ago · 2 reviews

The food is amazing. We'll definitely be back to sample the evening menu.

"Not good "
2/6
Des A.4 months ago · 1 review

Great pub, eaten here before. Sadly the Sunday lunch didn’t hit the mark for us. The roast chicken was well cooked but short on vegetables choices or flair. The vegetarian offering was poor - vegetarian sausages made elsewhere. I tried the onion Tart Tatin instead. Just onions and pastry so not balanced or nutritious. Probably best to say you don’t cater for vegetarians on Sundays.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nicola G.5 months ago · 1 review

Excellent and really tasty food, vegetarian choice was a bit limited, with only 1 vegetarian main meal available. However I had this and it was delicious. Also we really enjoyed the atmosphere, including the live music which was not too loud to be intrusive, but made for a very pleasant evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gordon W.5 months ago · 1 review

Staff were polite and friendly, efficient service, good range of drinks and food was of excellent quality and standard.

"Excellent"
6/6
Galina C.5 months ago · 2 reviews

Food quality is fantastic, full of flavour and good quality ingredients. Decent drink selection, including wine menu. Fairly priced, this is one of our favourite places to visit!

"Very good"
5/6
James J.5 months ago · 1 review

Good service and great breakfast in a nice environment. Recommended.

"Not good "
2/6
Scott J.5 months ago · 2 reviews

Very poor roast, bland & greasy. Used to love this place but being going down hill for a while & looks tired inside. Needs a good luck of paint & refurbish the busted bar stools & ripped sofas… Lamb over cooked for the second time eating there in a few weeks, roast potatoes were bland, barely peeled, tasted old like they had been cooked the day before & reheated. The gravy was tasteless, greasy & like water.. I really don’t know what has happened to this place. Service was slow but that is standard here & the food used to make up for it. We were there an hour & a half from 12-1.30 & only one other table came in before we left. Being there early the food should be the freshest & best & attentive service as there we no other costumers in there! We will not be back for a long time if at all…

"Average"
3/6
Nigel A.6 months ago · 1 review

Sunday dinner was nice, could have done with more and the gravy was tasteless.

"Very good"
5/6
Julie F.6 months ago · 2 reviews

Excellent food and service in great surroundings Would highly recommend

"Excellent"
6/6
Lauren M.8 months ago · 1 review

Amazing food, lovely staff and a great visit for girlfriends birthday

"Very good"
5/6
Liz M.8 months ago · 3 reviews

Lovely freshly cooked breakfast for my husband's 60th. Lots of choice for everyone there

"Very good"
5/6
John S.10 months ago · 2 reviews

Great food and friendly service. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended.

"Very good"
5/6
Susan R.10 months ago · 1 review

Great atmosphere, good service and delicious food. Would recommend to friends

"Very good"
5/6
Ian H.a year ago · 1 review

Very enjoyable visit, prompt service and food was great, thankyou!

"Very good"
5/6
Alison M.a year ago · 1 review

Friendly welcome. Limited lunch menu. Starter of chicken thighs in a crunchy bread crumb was very tasty. We waited a long time but the main course of fish and chips for two of us and ham with egg, onion and pineapple with chips were all vsry good, although the batter shattered and eas a little dry. Would definitely recommend.

"Very good"
5/6
Sarah Jane H.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely food and great service. Will definitely recommend to friends!

"Excellent"
6/6
Justin D.a year ago · 1 review

Always fantastic. Great service, great value and great food. Superb.

"Excellent"
6/6
Liz P.a year ago · 5 reviews

Beautifully cooked Sunday lunch with a twist. The roast sirloin of beef was the best we've had for a very long time. Clotted cream mash and pork shoulder stuffing! Different but delicious.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nigel R.a year ago · 1 review

Great visit all round,food was excellent. We shall return very shortly

"Excellent"
6/6
Lorraine C.a year ago · 1 review

Great food that was well presented, and excellent quality. The beef just melted in your mouth. Good atmosphere, and staff went out of their way to ensure that we were happy with the meals .

"Excellent"
6/6
John S.a year ago · 2 reviews

We had not been before, mainly because of limited parking. However, we got a spot right outside the door! We eat out most Sundays and the food at the Black Bull was by far the best we’ve had. It was high quality, cooked well and, importantly, nice and hot. The service was also excellent. We shall be returning very soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Amy L.a year ago · 2 reviews

Always lovely food, friendly service, and spot-on Sunday dinners :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Mathew M.a year ago · 1 review

Food is amazing and the staff went the extra mile for my wife’s birthday even though I never asked. Overall we were very, very impressed with the food, service and price. We will definitely be back

"Very good"
5/6
Doreen F.a year ago · 1 review

Great food and great service. We enjoyed a delicious Sunday Lunch.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ashley N.2 years ago · 1 review

Amazing restaurant with excellent food and service. Would highly recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Amy L.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Best Sunday dinner around with fresh, home-cooked food. Lovely pub and friendly employees.

"Excellent"
6/6
David C.2 years ago · 1 review

excellent staff and incredible food. i was very impressed with the value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter B.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely atmosphere and the waitress was very efficient and attentive. The Liver Parfait was absolutely amazing, the mixture of the liver and sweet onions was really different, well done chef. We will be re-visiting to try other options on the menu !