Reviews The Chancery

RopewalksEuropean££££
Very Good
4.3/6
22 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Baltic Social

The Baltic Triangle
4.6/6266
The Baltic Social

McCooley's (Concert Square)

Ropewalks
5.0/6130
McCooley's (Concert Square)

22 The Chancery Reviews

Read reviews about The Chancery here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Chancery. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Chancery.

Very Good
4.3/6
22 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Waiting time:Very good
Atmosphere:Lively
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Freddy F.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent food, great service and fantastic wine selection. Would highly recommend the eggs florentine. Main course lamb was cooked perfectly. Others had fish and steak and all very happy. Can't wait to go back

"Excellent"
6/6
Paul B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Excellent range of options on the menu for food, wine and beers, and the food we choose was outstanding. All the staff were great too.

"Excellent"
6/6
Steve W.2 years ago · 1 review

Food 10/10...Wine 10/10...Service 10/10. Don't miss out on this hidden jewel!! The place is very artsy and deserves to have a larger clientelle. Please enjoy this fabulous bar/restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Isabel H.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely staff and decor and the food was absolutely brilliant, have already returned since. Most people don't know the restaurant is there, which is such a shame, but it is perfect for brunch, lunch or a dinner date.

"Excellent"
6/6
Melanie G.2 years ago · 1 review

Well took my daughter here before a concert. It was our first time here and well I have only got High hopes for this restaurant/bar. From the second we arrived here the staff were unbelievably friendly and warming. We got the food from the theatre menu , The food was gorgeous and the variety of wines n beers etc they had on display was great. Highly recommended and intend to arrive back here very soon. Thank you for having us xxx

"Great"
5/6
terry s.2 years ago · 1 review

We went to the chancery for our Sunday lunch, the staff were very attentive and helpful. I wasn't sure what beer to choose and the barman gave me 4 different options of beer to taste which was great. The food was excellent and plenty of it! the only thing that let them down was they forgot to put roast potatoes on our dinner but once we pointed that out the waiter was quick to sort that out. The restaurant itself is lovely and spacious and we would definitely go back again

"Great"
5/6
Sue K.2 years ago · 5 reviews

Experience at The Chancery was excellent. Food was delicious, staff very helpful. I noticed if any other customers came in, the staff arranged seats at the bar if none were available. Would recommend to go, Sunday lunch next time

"Okay"
3/6
Monica B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Was a nice venue however we had a waitress who was on her first shift which was fine but unfortunately didn't even know where the ladies toilets where without asking. I wonder did she have an induction before she was put on the shift?. We were given somebody else's bill. Then whe we got the correct bill it was wrong was charged for a pint of lager instead of a half pint. Felt it is the type of venue that you can maybe leave for 6 months and then go back to see if t has improved.

"Bad"
2/6
Daniel M.2 years ago · 1 review

First of all I will get the positive out of the way, the waiting staff were excellent,they couldn't do enough for our party I would give them 10/10. Now the bad when we first arrived at the restaurant the smell of paint was overpowering, I should of left then and there but foolishly I didn't. Then we ordered food from the lovely waiting staff, but it took over an hour for the food to arrive and it wasn't even busy there were no more than 4 tables of diners in the restaurant at that time. When the food finally arrived it looked nice, but how wrong was I it was inedible. I took 2 bites and had to leave it. The chancery isn't somewhere I would go again once bitten twice shy.

"Okay"
3/6
Sally P.2 years ago · 10 reviews

The restaurant was completely empty when we arrived on Sunday night. From the street in the pouring rain it is badly lit, so not inviting. The menu advertised here - the reason I booked - was not on offer. Wine was substituted (but the given bottle was fine). The bread was stale, chips flaccid, roast beef a little over cooked. Edible, but not what I booked for and after I asked for the à la carte menu, the mood was awkward for the rest of the meal.