Reviews The Mumbai Mansion

HaymarketIndian££££
Excellent
5.2/6
51 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Shezan

New Town
5.1/6315
Shezan

Bombay Lounge Dalkeith

Town Centre
5.6/6222
Bombay Lounge Dalkeith

51 The Mumbai Mansion Reviews

Read reviews about The Mumbai Mansion here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Mumbai Mansion. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Mumbai Mansion.

Excellent
5.2/6
51 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Great
Value for money:Great value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Peter F.10 months ago · 2 reviews

Food and service was very good, would highly recommend to eat here. It is a pity that they are moving location very shortly. Sadly missed.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ken S.10 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food made feel very welcome. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food 🥘 was one of the best Indian meals I have had in Edinburgh! Well done

"Excellent"
6/6
John G.a year ago · 2 reviews

Excellent service first class food good value and attentive staff. For fish lovers a good selection of curries in the extensive menu. Perfectly situated for transport buses Taxi tram and train station all within a five minute walk

"Excellent"
6/6
Georgina D.a year ago · 7 reviews

Extremely attentive and knowledgeable staff. Food second to none combining both old favourites and revolutionary new ideas. Fine dining excelled in this wonderful atmospheric restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris G.2 years ago · 1 review

My family and I love this restaurant. Because they don't cook using butter or fat, the food is surprisingly light. Also the menu covers a wider range of dishes than one would normally find in your ordinary Indian restaurant. Here you will find friendly staff, white linen tablecloths, and a good wine list. The Mumbai Mansion gets a thumbs-up from us.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynne C.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our second visit. The first was a while back when the restaurant was fairly new on the scene. The food is still magnificent, the atmosphere is great and the staff are just wonderful. We were delighted to see that the young man who runs the operation is still as enthusiastic now as he was during our first visit. The interest the staff have in the food is a wonderful thing. A wonderful experience. I would be there all the time if I lived closer to it.

"Great"
5/6
Tracy L.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely restaurant buzzing with atmosphere and in a great location. Staff welcoming and food was of a really high standard, beautifully cooked and extremely tasty. In fact I'd say Some of the best Indian food I've ever tasted. Only shame was after we finished the main course around 9pm they cleared away the plates and table mats and bought the face towels over and assumed we had finished without offering coffees or deserts, so we went with the flow, settled the bill and left. Shame as the desserts on the taster menu sounded rather tasty and I always enjoy a coffee after dinner.

"Okay"
3/6
John P.2 years ago · 1 review

I booked this for a birthday meal as I had been before & enjoyed it. The food was good enough but the service left a lot to be desired. Once the waiter found out the couple next to us was Belgian, he spent the rest off the night chatting to them in Belgian ( he'd obviously spent some time there) and we got ignored. When we finished our main course he brought hot towels for our hands and took our place mats away! We didn't get offered the chance of buying another drink, deserts or coffees so we just got the bill & left. Really disappointed and don't think we'll be back.

"Good"
4/6
claire S.2 years ago · 6 reviews

We usually love this restaurant, but we booked for a curry after an international rugby match at Murrayfield - as had lots of other people. The service was rather chaotic, there was a limited "post-rugby" menu, and we had to leave as soon as we had finished eating (no time for another drink or coffee) as they needed the table back for the queue of people at the door. So not up to its usual standards, but we plan to give it another go.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris L.2 years ago · 1 review

This is the first time we have been to Mumbai Mansion and believe it is the best Indian food we have tasted in Edinburgh. To complete the experience the service is also exceptional and the food is reasonably priced so we will definitely return again.