Reviews The Old Siam - Newcastle

QuaysideThai££££
Excellent
5.4/6
66 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 2 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Thai River

Town Centre
5.5/612
Thai River

Star of Siam at the Highfield Hotel

East Rainton
5.4/69
Star of Siam at the Highfield Hotel

66 The Old Siam - Newcastle Reviews

Read reviews about The Old Siam - Newcastle here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Old Siam - Newcastle. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Old Siam - Newcastle.

Excellent
5.4/6
66 Reviews
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Ian P.2 years ago · 1 review

The food was great and the service was excellent. The place is lovely, clean, bright and tastefully decorated, and I had a great time. Thanks

"Excellent"
6/6
Fergus D.2 years ago · 1 review

Food was amazing and the service was spectacular - cant recommended this place enough! Had red curry and red wine chicken wings! Really good prices too

"Excellent"
6/6
nigel h.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent service waitresses quietly in background waiting if needed ,food as always exceptional and would certainly recommend the gang panang curry.Reasonable prices so go and enjoy

"Excellent"
6/6
Christine T.2 years ago · 1 review

Excellent meal good service . Authentic flavours. Great choice on the menu . Very reasonably priced for the position on the quayside . Would visit again

"Excellent"
6/6
Andy K.2 years ago · 1 review

We are lucky to have an Old Siam in York where we live and eat there regularly so when in Newcastle with a party of 10 we booked in the Newcastle venue. Lovely restaurant on two floors, very professional staff and the food was fantastic as usual for 9 of us, one guy ordered steak and it was not that good, we didn't complain at the time as the rest was outsainding, maybe an off night with the steak. Never the cheapest, however you pay for what you get, quality !! We would be straight back next time we are in town, thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
Ian D.2 years ago · 1 review

Very warm welcome. Got our drinks wrong at first but the wrong ones were kept and on the house with profuse apologies even though we really didn't mind (more bemused at the experience of getting sambucca and coke instead of vodka!). Food, as always, out of this world delicious. Only problem was we were so full from our mains that we didn't have room to try one of the scrummy looking new desserts they have started doing. Highly recommend, will definitely go back again.

"Good"
4/6
Laura S.2 years ago · 1 review

We arrived and were quickly seated. The restaurant is over 2 levels although neither room was exceptionally big. Drinks and food order was taken. Service in between courses was a little slow and sometimes we felt like we were missed out. An example being everyone got prawn crackers...we didn't. Food itself was ok. Had a platter to start with which was tasty. Mains were generous...perhaps not as flavoursome as would have liked. Just hot in spice! Lovely location and staff were friendly. Not sure I'd go back again but glad I've been.

"Excellent"
6/6
George T.2 years ago · 1 review

I had booked the table on line, asking for a quiet table upstairs. Everything turned out perfect. We ordered a set meal for three, so that we could try a selection of different dishes. Highly recommended, great food and well presented. The very attentive staff helped to make this a memorable evening. Well done "Old Siam" George Taylor

"Okay"
3/6
Christine H.2 years ago · 1 review

A party of 9 went to this quaint restaurant it felt like sitting in someone's living room, and we were a bit squished. Food was nice, plenty of it but I felt quite overpriced. When I booked I advised that there would be 9 or 10 of us. They charged us £25 service charge saying the booking was for 10 we found this quite extortionate . The front of house staff were very perfunctory and didn't try to build a rapport. Overall ok place but wouldn't go for a special occasion.

"Good"
4/6
Otto V.2 years ago · 1 review

We have been here many times over the years. It is still good, but not as good as we remember it. I think the term "stir fry" is a bit misleading because a lot of the stir fry dishes are basically meat (or fish) but very little by way of vegetables, just some cucumber and decorative carrot. I think they need to improve this. The flavours are good.