Reviews Thyme at Bawtry

BawtryBritish, European££££
Excellent
5.0/6
38 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 1 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Giraffe - Sheffield Meadowhall

Wincobank
3.6/65
Giraffe - Sheffield Meadowhall

38 Thyme at Bawtry Reviews

Read reviews about Thyme at Bawtry here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Thyme at Bawtry. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Thyme at Bawtry.

Excellent
5.0/6
38 Reviews
Food:Great
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Shahin A.2 years ago · 1 review

I wanted a local restaurant where I could catch up with friends whom I hadn't seen for ages. the food and service were first rate. I would recommend it and we will be sure to go there again

"Excellent"
6/6
Julie A.2 years ago · 1 review

Booked for afternoon tea was not disappointed, lovely food, good choice of sandwiches, cakes were delicious and the waitresses were charming and friendly. Had a fab time thank you.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sally W.2 years ago · 1 review

Friendly, Wonderful staff, delicious food, which is always tasty and a very nice treat! The afternoon tea is yummy and you get plenty to eat. Highly recommend

"Excellent"
6/6
Kevin J.2 years ago · 1 review

Booked as a birthday treat for my partner, could not be more pleased. Both the Food and the service were very good. The food was presented very well and locally sourced, gained brownie points with this one

"Okay"
3/6
Janine D.2 years ago · 1 review

We were a little disappointed with our visit to Thyme at Bawtry as it was not as good as our previous visits. We felt that the menu had been rationalised and didn't have as much choice but the prices were significantly higher than our last visit (which was probably around 12 months ago). Three of us dined and we all ordered different meals, however, each plate somehow looked the same - same potatoes, same vegetables and all were pretty dry - no sauces etc! I personally ordered the vegetarian main meal option - trio of cheese tart. I have to say this was the worst value I have ever had - a very small, overcooked, shallow cheese tart which had little resemblance to anything cheesy! At just shy of £14, I thought this was very poor value as the rest of the plate barely made up for the lack of a cheese tart. Since we last visited Thyme, it looked as though the place had been decorated, albeit on a shoestring..? There just wasn't a nice feel about the place anymore. It felt like there was a real lack of attention to detail, e.g. it looked like the walls had been painted and there were picture hooks in the wall where pictures used to be, and a few Xmas fairy lights strung up around the window etc....it just looked a bit shoddy to us! On the whole, it was disappointing. A restaurant is only ever as good as its last meal....we've been to Thyme several times before but we won't be rushing back this time. Too expensive for what's being served up unfortunately!

"Bad"
2/6
Lorna P.2 years ago · 1 review

We have visited the Thyme at Bawtry on a few ocassions and always be more than happy with the quality of food and service. However on this ocassion the standard of the afternoon tea left a lot to be desired. The tea pot and cups were stained, though not unsightly, they could of been cleaner. The sandwiches were very poor, and lacked filling and presentation. The cakes on first impression looked nice but lacked flavour. My husband purchased the Afternoon tea as a Birthday treat, even though it was half the RRP it even lacked value for money then. We had two glasses of prosecco with the offer, but on reflection of the quality of the afternoon tea I would of forfeited the bubbly for a more substantial combination of sandwiches and cakes. I appreciate cucumber sandwiches, are regarded as"posh" but one slice on dry bread didnt leave me feeling posh, more like under priviliged! Sorry to say I was very under whelmed by the whole expierence and will think twice before visiting again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter K.2 years ago · 1 review

We liked the online reservation system, which ensured that there was no overcrowding or long wait for service. Other diners with reservations seemed to arrive at 10-15 minute intervals. Our order was taken politely, & followed quickly with excellent coffee & tea. A few minutes later, our freshly- made sandwiches, cakes & scones arrived; these were delicious, & despite our best efforts, we could not finish the last piece of coffee & walnut cake, & we politely declined the offer to take the cake home. The glass of delicious Prosecco was the perfect finish! The ambiance, location & service were perfect, & we have already informed our friends about the excellent vfm!

"Good"
4/6
Margaret H.2 years ago · 1 review

We were welcomed and seated straight away. Then offered our wine or our afternoon tea, we chose the wine first. We were asked if we had any allergies before starting. As we preferred all brown bread we were told thast they would do their best as a mixture was the norm, but they came up good with all brown. Four finger sandwiches with different fillings, two half scones with jam and cream, and two pieces of cake each.All good, the only thing we found amiss was that there was no selection of teas, only "normal".

"Great"
5/6
Gareth B.2 years ago · 1 review

Very nice experience at thyme, food was really good and the service was just the right amount of attention without being annoying. 5 and not a 6 rating as we were the only ones (not there fault we got there just as they opened on a quiet day) in due it being the first sitting on a Sunday so no clue to how well they cope when busy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julie M.2 years ago · 1 review

Very helpful and friendly staff and lovely afternoon tea, all cakes were amazing, all nice and light! Comfortable surroundings, we will definitely visit Thyme at Bawtry again.