Reviews Da Paolo

FitzroviaItalian, European, Mediterranean££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
308 Reviews
Da Paolo London image 1
Da Paolo London image 2
Da Paolo London image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

308 Da Paolo Reviews

Read reviews about Da Paolo here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Da Paolo. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Da Paolo.

Wonderful
5.5/6
308 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Sebastiaan V.a day ago · 1 review

Hinestly the nicest, most picturesque and most beautifully designed italian restaurant ❤️ Nothing compared to the quality of the food, which is simply put, OUT OF THIS WORLD 🥐

New"Excellent"
6/6
Seth A.2 days ago · 1 review

Great food in generous quantities, friendly staff, cozy environment albeit slightly loud - definitely get what you pay for though in terms of quality of food and service.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Palvi S.3 days ago · 1 review

Great restaurant with lovely staff. They always make me my pasta dish which is amazing! They always make people feel welcome! Thank you Carlos and team!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Shyam L.4 days ago · 1 review

Went for a Valentine’s dinner and it didn’t disappoint! Was a really nice authentic Italian reatuarant. They even gave us free dessert for just moving table, which was really nice of them. Definite recommend

"Excellent"
6/6
Rita V.4 months ago · 1 review

What an exciting find! A good friend recommended Da Paolo and I visited the restaurant on the anniversary of the death of my mother - I always choose an Italian restaurant, as she was Italian - to celebrate her life. The food was amazing: and true to good Italian cooking, beautifully presented and perfectly cooked. My friend and I chose antipasti - Goats cheese salad and a prawn and avocado dish. The portions were enormous and so were our main dishes of monkfish cooked with cherry tomatoes and vongole (four monkfish steaks!) and another prawn dish. The dishes were cooked according to the principles of good, Italian cooking: the fresh ingredients of the highest quality. Praise, too goes to our waitress, who was very helpful and friendly and was not phased when we explained that another friend had been stuck at work and could not come., Da Paolo has a traditional interior and the atmosphere is cosy and intimate - though it never felt overcrowded and we out conversation did not compete with the other patrons. All in all, a great experience and we will definitely return.

"Good"
4/6
Kate M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Da Paolo is OK at best. The tables are very close together, but that's OK if you want a jolly atmosphere and you don't need to have a serious conversation. There was certainly a jolly atmosphere. But this thing about "generous portions" is crazy. I had a starter that would have fed 4 people and the main course was enough for 2. I left at least half of both dishes and it was such a waste. My starter was mountains of charcuterie perched on a mound of salad - which incidentally was rather wet. I ploughed my way through half of it before thinking "this is ridiculous" and giving up. I don't enjoy eating like that. When taking my order, I was asked - very properly - how I'd like my tuna to be cooked. I said rare. A double helping arrived, with two large pieces of tuna fighting their way through a deluge of cherry tomatoes. Neither piece of tuna was rare. I was too depressed to complain. Having gone to the bother of asking, then ruining two pieces of fish, I was reluctant to suggest the chef had a go at another two. Serve half the amount of food; charge the same amount of money. Then they could afford to improve the cooking.

"Great"
5/6
Michele S.a year ago · 1 review

Da Paolo is a genuine Italian restaurant. The recipes are not the usual ones, but more on the regional specialties, make sure to enquire about the special dishes of the day that are always an amazing treat. It tends to be a little expensive (dishes on the range of 18/20£) but this is the price for genuine Italian quality and let's remember that they serve pretty big portions, for example a single main dish is usually enough to fill me up. As dessert the Tiramisu' is deliciously home made. The real deal.

"Excellent"
6/6
uday t.a year ago · 3 reviews

The service was excellent throughout. The manager or he may have been the owner helped choose our wine - excellent choices. Her also mixed our Negronis - very good Very good menu and chalked special of the day made for a difficult choice as they all looked good. Watching the other diners we could see the portions were big. We had a plate of grilled sardines - delicious and plenty of them, a mixed starter which was pleasing and two salads that were enjoyed. We had the papardalle special which was very, very good and another pasta dish from the main menu - everything greatly enjoyed. We finished with a very good pana cota and 3 scoops of sorbet of various flavours. These were accompanied by grappas and coffee. Our friends who live part of the year in Italy were impressed with the meal. All in all an excellent evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
JOHN B.2 months ago · 4 reviews

Although small this restaurant is BIG on service, ambience and food with a good (Italian) wine list. It never fails to impress. I have taken many friends along and every one of them has loved it. Congratulations Da Paolo, even on a busy Thursday with Christmas parties booked downstairs you still managed your usual impeccable standards of service and food. Thank you. I'll be back John

"Excellent"
6/6
John b.5 months ago · 2 reviews

I think this was our fourth visit to Da Paolo's. The food, as ever, was delicious. The service was friendly, helpful but not intrusive. It's a great, atmospheric setting. It's become a bit of a go-to to celebrate a special occasion as it always feels a bit special, without being over-formal.