210 Da Paolo Reviews

Read reviews about Da Paolo here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Da Paolo. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Da Paolo.

Excellent
5.4/6
210 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"6/6
john J.2 days ago · 2 reviews

Da Paolo never fails to deliver. Excellent food , service and the jovial Carlos. Situated in a busy side street with plenty of outside sitting. A winner.

"Excellent"6/6
Steven R.8 days ago · 1 review

We booked a table to celebrate a special occasion. The staff were welcoming and attentive. There were plenty of dishes to choose from and a specials board. I had a large caprese salad followed by pappardelle all'anatra. The pasta was fresh with a large portion of duck sauce. My husband had bresaola then wild boar pasta. The portions were generous leaving no room for desserts. We thought our meal was good value and we would definitely return.

"Excellent"6/6
Paul M.8 days ago · 1 review

70% of this establishment are local Italians, so the good is as expected to be of a high quality and standard, it is off the beaten track with only about 5% of tourist do not low standards here at all. Super dry bottle of Pulia wine complimented one of the most amazing Italians meal we have had in the UK. Freindly, at tentative and happy owner and staff. Big thumbs up 100% recommendation and will definitely be going back and taking others with us.

"Excellent"6/6
Wayne E.11 days ago · 2 reviews

This is the third time we have eaten at Da Paolo, for both lunch and evening meals. Excellent food and service as always I would highly recommend it.

"Good"4/6
Kate M.10 months ago · 2 reviews

Da Paolo is OK at best. The tables are very close together, but that's OK if you want a jolly atmosphere and you don't need to have a serious conversation. There was certainly a jolly atmosphere. But this thing about "generous portions" is crazy. I had a starter that would have fed 4 people and the main course was enough for 2. I left at least half of both dishes and it was such a waste. My starter was mountains of charcuterie perched on a mound of salad - which incidentally was rather wet. I ploughed my way through half of it before thinking "this is ridiculous" and giving up. I don't enjoy eating like that. When taking my order, I was asked - very properly - how I'd like my tuna to be cooked. I said rare. A double helping arrived, with two large pieces of tuna fighting their way through a deluge of cherry tomatoes. Neither piece of tuna was rare. I was too depressed to complain. Having gone to the bother of asking, then ruining two pieces of fish, I was reluctant to suggest the chef had a go at another two. Serve half the amount of food; charge the same amount of money. Then they could afford to improve the cooking.

"Great"5/6
Michele S.10 months ago · 1 review

Da Paolo is a genuine Italian restaurant. The recipes are not the usual ones, but more on the regional specialties, make sure to enquire about the special dishes of the day that are always an amazing treat. It tends to be a little expensive (dishes on the range of 18/20£) but this is the price for genuine Italian quality and let's remember that they serve pretty big portions, for example a single main dish is usually enough to fill me up. As dessert the Tiramisu' is deliciously home made. The real deal.

"Excellent"6/6
uday t.7 months ago · 2 reviews

The service was excellent throughout. The manager or he may have been the owner helped choose our wine - excellent choices. Her also mixed our Negronis - very good Very good menu and chalked special of the day made for a difficult choice as they all looked good. Watching the other diners we could see the portions were big. We had a plate of grilled sardines - delicious and plenty of them, a mixed starter which was pleasing and two salads that were enjoyed. We had the papardalle special which was very, very good and another pasta dish from the main menu - everything greatly enjoyed. We finished with a very good pana cota and 3 scoops of sorbet of various flavours. These were accompanied by grappas and coffee. Our friends who live part of the year in Italy were impressed with the meal. All in all an excellent evening.

"Great"5/6
Frank F.a year ago · 2 reviews

Friendly efficient service.Food and wine, perfectly adequate, but sound rather than exciting. At £40 per head for two courses and a bottle of house red (one of the main courses being a straight pasta dish) ,prices bordering on the high end of mid price.The restaurant space is small, the decor cosy in a traditional Italian style, the seating is very cramped however and once the restaurant became crowded a degree of manoeuvering was required whenever customers needed to leave their table space,by those seated at adjoining tables.There is the potential to dine al fresco during the warmer months and this may ease the pressure on indoor space.Overall Da Paolo offers a pleasant dining experience.

"Excellent"6/6
John G.5 months ago · 1 review

Fantastic'o!!! No need to look elsewhere the atmosphere is perfect the service second to none the "genuine" friendliness made us both feel like the restaurant was open just for us both. OH! yes and the food scored top' marks all round. My partner who has restaurant experience finished every plat that was bought with enthusiasm to our table. Which is a first as that is not always the case..............We will be looking to go back when next in London, as I said there is no need to think about looking elsewhere.

"Great"5/6
John B.10 months ago · 1 review

Da Paolo is intimate and atmospheric. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, but not intrusive (a real trick in such cosy surroundings). Our party of 8 had a snug fit but we were never cramped. The food was really good - no one regretted their choice and the portions were generous. Thoroughly recommended.