Reviews Da Paolo

FitzroviaItalian££££
Excellent
5.4/6
255 Reviews
Da Paolo London image 1
Da Paolo London image 2
Da Paolo London image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

255 Da Paolo Reviews

Read reviews about Da Paolo here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Da Paolo. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Da Paolo.

Excellent
5.4/6
255 Reviews
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Alan E.a day ago · 1 review

Da Paolo was as brilliant as ever.....It was so lovely to visit our favourite restaurant again. Carlos and his team provide fabulous food, excellent service and so friendly and welcoming....see you soon, Best wishes Alam and family

New"Excellent"
6/6
Chris W.2 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic! Great, genuine, Italian dining experience. Food was fantastic - huge portions. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It’s certainly ‘cosy’ but all the better for it!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Rita V.6 days ago · 1 review

What an exciting find! A good friend recommended Da Paolo and I visited the restaurant on the anniversary of the death of my mother - I always choose an Italian restaurant, as she was Italian - to celebrate her life. The food was amazing: and true to good Italian cooking, beautifully presented and perfectly cooked. My friend and I chose antipasti - Goats cheese salad and a prawn and avocado dish. The portions were enormous and so were our main dishes of monkfish cooked with cherry tomatoes and vongole (four monkfish steaks!) and another prawn dish. The dishes were cooked according to the principles of good, Italian cooking: the fresh ingredients of the highest quality. Praise, too goes to our waitress, who was very helpful and friendly and was not phased when we explained that another friend had been stuck at work and could not come., Da Paolo has a traditional interior and the atmosphere is cosy and intimate - though it never felt overcrowded and we out conversation did not compete with the other patrons. All in all, a great experience and we will definitely return.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Jan T.9 days ago · 1 review

We had a really lovely evening. With tasty food, generous portions, very good service and a great ambience. We'll definitely be back again. Thank you.

"Good"
4/6
Kate M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Da Paolo is OK at best. The tables are very close together, but that's OK if you want a jolly atmosphere and you don't need to have a serious conversation. There was certainly a jolly atmosphere. But this thing about "generous portions" is crazy. I had a starter that would have fed 4 people and the main course was enough for 2. I left at least half of both dishes and it was such a waste. My starter was mountains of charcuterie perched on a mound of salad - which incidentally was rather wet. I ploughed my way through half of it before thinking "this is ridiculous" and giving up. I don't enjoy eating like that. When taking my order, I was asked - very properly - how I'd like my tuna to be cooked. I said rare. A double helping arrived, with two large pieces of tuna fighting their way through a deluge of cherry tomatoes. Neither piece of tuna was rare. I was too depressed to complain. Having gone to the bother of asking, then ruining two pieces of fish, I was reluctant to suggest the chef had a go at another two. Serve half the amount of food; charge the same amount of money. Then they could afford to improve the cooking.

"Great"
5/6
Michele S.a year ago · 1 review

Da Paolo is a genuine Italian restaurant. The recipes are not the usual ones, but more on the regional specialties, make sure to enquire about the special dishes of the day that are always an amazing treat. It tends to be a little expensive (dishes on the range of 18/20£) but this is the price for genuine Italian quality and let's remember that they serve pretty big portions, for example a single main dish is usually enough to fill me up. As dessert the Tiramisu' is deliciously home made. The real deal.

"Excellent"
6/6
uday t.a year ago · 3 reviews

The service was excellent throughout. The manager or he may have been the owner helped choose our wine - excellent choices. Her also mixed our Negronis - very good Very good menu and chalked special of the day made for a difficult choice as they all looked good. Watching the other diners we could see the portions were big. We had a plate of grilled sardines - delicious and plenty of them, a mixed starter which was pleasing and two salads that were enjoyed. We had the papardalle special which was very, very good and another pasta dish from the main menu - everything greatly enjoyed. We finished with a very good pana cota and 3 scoops of sorbet of various flavours. These were accompanied by grappas and coffee. Our friends who live part of the year in Italy were impressed with the meal. All in all an excellent evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
John b.2 months ago · 2 reviews

I think this was our fourth visit to Da Paolo's. The food, as ever, was delicious. The service was friendly, helpful but not intrusive. It's a great, atmospheric setting. It's become a bit of a go-to to celebrate a special occasion as it always feels a bit special, without being over-formal.

"Great"
5/6
Frank F.a year ago · 2 reviews

Friendly efficient service.Food and wine, perfectly adequate, but sound rather than exciting. At £40 per head for two courses and a bottle of house red (one of the main courses being a straight pasta dish) ,prices bordering on the high end of mid price.The restaurant space is small, the decor cosy in a traditional Italian style, the seating is very cramped however and once the restaurant became crowded a degree of manoeuvering was required whenever customers needed to leave their table space,by those seated at adjoining tables.There is the potential to dine al fresco during the warmer months and this may ease the pressure on indoor space.Overall Da Paolo offers a pleasant dining experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
John G.9 months ago · 1 review

Fantastic'o!!! No need to look elsewhere the atmosphere is perfect the service second to none the "genuine" friendliness made us both feel like the restaurant was open just for us both. OH! yes and the food scored top' marks all round. My partner who has restaurant experience finished every plat that was bought with enthusiasm to our table. Which is a first as that is not always the case..............We will be looking to go back when next in London, as I said there is no need to think about looking elsewhere.