Reviews Da Paolo

FitzroviaItalian
Excellent
5.4/6
235 Reviews

235 Da Paolo Reviews

Read reviews about Da Paolo here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Da Paolo. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Da Paolo.

Excellent
5.4/6
235 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Alex H.a day ago · 2 reviews

Excellent meal, service and atmosphere . Massive portions so make sure you go with an empty stomach. Great part of London and close to Dominion Theatre.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Martin R.6 days ago · 1 review

The food was utterly delicious. The portions very generous. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the service was quick but not rushed. Highly recommended.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Thomas W.7 days ago · 1 review

We had a wonderful meal here! The ambience was great, the staff were genuinely friendly, and provided prompt and attentive service without being intrusive. Three of our party ordered from the daily specials offered and they were delicious. Nice, if relatively small wine selection, but they looked carefully chosen and covered a wide price range to accommodate varying budgets. Oh, and we arrived over 30 minutes early on our reservation time but they graciously seated us immediately. We will be back!

New"Excellent"
6/6
John b.9 days ago · 2 reviews

I think this was our fourth visit to Da Paolo's. The food, as ever, was delicious. The service was friendly, helpful but not intrusive. It's a great, atmospheric setting. It's become a bit of a go-to to celebrate a special occasion as it always feels a bit special, without being over-formal.

"Good"
4/6
Kate M.a year ago · 2 reviews

Da Paolo is OK at best. The tables are very close together, but that's OK if you want a jolly atmosphere and you don't need to have a serious conversation. There was certainly a jolly atmosphere. But this thing about "generous portions" is crazy. I had a starter that would have fed 4 people and the main course was enough for 2. I left at least half of both dishes and it was such a waste. My starter was mountains of charcuterie perched on a mound of salad - which incidentally was rather wet. I ploughed my way through half of it before thinking "this is ridiculous" and giving up. I don't enjoy eating like that. When taking my order, I was asked - very properly - how I'd like my tuna to be cooked. I said rare. A double helping arrived, with two large pieces of tuna fighting their way through a deluge of cherry tomatoes. Neither piece of tuna was rare. I was too depressed to complain. Having gone to the bother of asking, then ruining two pieces of fish, I was reluctant to suggest the chef had a go at another two. Serve half the amount of food; charge the same amount of money. Then they could afford to improve the cooking.

"Great"
5/6
Michele S.a year ago · 1 review

Da Paolo is a genuine Italian restaurant. The recipes are not the usual ones, but more on the regional specialties, make sure to enquire about the special dishes of the day that are always an amazing treat. It tends to be a little expensive (dishes on the range of 18/20£) but this is the price for genuine Italian quality and let's remember that they serve pretty big portions, for example a single main dish is usually enough to fill me up. As dessert the Tiramisu' is deliciously home made. The real deal.

"Excellent"
6/6
uday t.9 months ago · 2 reviews

The service was excellent throughout. The manager or he may have been the owner helped choose our wine - excellent choices. Her also mixed our Negronis - very good Very good menu and chalked special of the day made for a difficult choice as they all looked good. Watching the other diners we could see the portions were big. We had a plate of grilled sardines - delicious and plenty of them, a mixed starter which was pleasing and two salads that were enjoyed. We had the papardalle special which was very, very good and another pasta dish from the main menu - everything greatly enjoyed. We finished with a very good pana cota and 3 scoops of sorbet of various flavours. These were accompanied by grappas and coffee. Our friends who live part of the year in Italy were impressed with the meal. All in all an excellent evening.

"Great"
5/6
Frank F.a year ago · 2 reviews

Friendly efficient service.Food and wine, perfectly adequate, but sound rather than exciting. At £40 per head for two courses and a bottle of house red (one of the main courses being a straight pasta dish) ,prices bordering on the high end of mid price.The restaurant space is small, the decor cosy in a traditional Italian style, the seating is very cramped however and once the restaurant became crowded a degree of manoeuvering was required whenever customers needed to leave their table space,by those seated at adjoining tables.There is the potential to dine al fresco during the warmer months and this may ease the pressure on indoor space.Overall Da Paolo offers a pleasant dining experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
John G.7 months ago · 1 review

Fantastic'o!!! No need to look elsewhere the atmosphere is perfect the service second to none the "genuine" friendliness made us both feel like the restaurant was open just for us both. OH! yes and the food scored top' marks all round. My partner who has restaurant experience finished every plat that was bought with enthusiasm to our table. Which is a first as that is not always the case..............We will be looking to go back when next in London, as I said there is no need to think about looking elsewhere.

"Great"
5/6
John b.a year ago · 2 reviews

Da Paolo is intimate and atmospheric. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, but not intrusive (a real trick in such cosy surroundings). Our party of 8 had a snug fit but we were never cramped. The food was really good - no one regretted their choice and the portions were generous. Thoroughly recommended.