Reviews Fox & Hounds - Charwelton

CharweltonBritish, European££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
147 Reviews
Fox & Hounds - Charwelton Daventry image 1
Fox & Hounds - Charwelton Daventry image 2
Fox & Hounds - Charwelton Daventry image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

147 Fox & Hounds - Charwelton Reviews

Read reviews about Fox & Hounds - Charwelton here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Fox & Hounds - Charwelton. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Fox & Hounds - Charwelton.

Wonderful
5.5/6
147 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Jof C.24 days ago · 4 reviews

Excellent food, complimented by an above average house red. Pleasure as always.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jof C.24 days ago · 4 reviews

Best food in the area bar none, consistently excellent with proper portions.

"Excellent"
6/6
Emma G.a month ago · 1 review

Always an absolute pleasure dining here. The wine gentleman is a proper star! Food delicious every time. Recommend to everyone.

"Excellent"
6/6
Melindi S.2 months ago · 8 reviews

Consistently good food. Menu updated often. Great ambience. Very relaxed place. Enough staff & they're attentive without being overly so. Always a treat to eat there.

"Excellent"
6/6
David D.4 months ago · 1 review

3 generations enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch for 4 on 16th December. Arriving for 12:45 the restaurant was quiet and clean with well presented and friendly staff. By 1330 the restaurant was all but full. The menu (including the celiac menu) was extensive and interesting with a choice of traditional roasts as well as vegetarian alternatives. We all chose the mushroom and tarragon soup served with hot crusty bread and butter. Tasty and filling this proved our downfall as none of us saved enough room for a pudding. 2 roast beef and 2 venison main meals served with excellent roast potatoes and home made gorgeous Yorkshire puddings. The food was well presented with a choice of vegetables served separately including, carrots, sprouts, cabbage, broccoli, red cabbage and cauliflower cheese. My request for extra gravy was speedily met with my own gravy jug too. Hot and very tasty it was a fabulous meal and while the menu looked pricey represented fair value. One observation, my father likes his beef thinly sliced, so if that is your preference too then be sure to request thin slices from you waitress. The wine list was huge. I could have spent 20 minutes reading it and must cater for all tastes and budgets. I chose a Californian Merlot - it was the ideal accompaniment for our meal. In short we spent £140 and had an excellent lunch for 4 as described above and finished with 4 coffees. Thanks Fox and Hounds - possibly the best Sunday lunch offering within a 10 miles radius of Daventry.

"Great"
5/6
Dana w.2 years ago · 1 review

Service was excellent but it was a quiet night and not a lot of tables, food was excellent my daughter enjoyed her venison, even though she did remove the salt garnish. I had the chicken and it was prepared very well with great sweet potato mash. We asked for dessert to be fixed in a different way and at first the chef was reluctant, but final caved and it was awesome. We had the chocolate/cherry crème Brule warmed. This is a gem of a restaurant in a very small village of Charwelton worth the trip. The restaurant had an extensive wine menu, we did not indulge but it looked very balanced. We ate on the restaurant side, there is a pub side that looked very warm and welcoming. The menu is a little pricey but for a night out it is well worth it!!

"Great"
5/6
Sarah S.2 years ago · 1 review

8 of us booked a table here last night. We sampled the renowned gins to start with which got the evening off to a good start! We wondered if it was all about the gin before we came and so had low expectations on food but we were delighted as every dish we ordered was delicious and the quality was first rate. I think some of the staff may have been new as their knowledge of some of the drinks and food was a little patchy but it didn't detract from the overall good service. We all said we would be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Carol L.a year ago · 1 review

We had a truly lovely family evening at The Fox and Hounds. Food chosen was across the menu selection, well cooked, and imaginative, and very tasty. We very much all enjoyed relaxing in your dining room, and will come again soon to Revisit what was such a pleasure. (Actually it was one members 60th Birthday, but was too embarrassed to have the cake there.) ( it would be a great place to enjoy such a occasion.) Thank You to the Staff at the Pub.

"Great"
5/6
Abigail S.2 years ago · 1 review

We visited the Fox and Hounds for dinner last night (our first time) and we enjoyed the food however our evening was slightly let down by the waitresses who looked like they didn't want to be there and weren't very engaging - we struggled to get a smile out of them! Other than that, good menu choices - some more unusual options which was nice to see - we particularly enjoyed the skate wing with the pea/ham croquettes. Such a shame about the service as the pub clearly has a good chef to its name!

"Good"
4/6
Geoff S.a year ago · 1 review

The adult food was excellent, that's highly recommended. The lower rating is due to the children's food as that's where the Fox and Hounds let themselves down. The four children in our group had sausauges with either mash or chips and there were two problems. The sausages were herb filled and not eaten, if they had provided plain simple pork sausages, they would have been consumed. The mash, although tasty was too small portion, size wise, for a 9 year old very hungry boy. No veg were offered with the children's food which nutrionally, they should have had.