Reviews Hei Hei

City CentreChinese££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
88 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Hei Hei

City Centre
4.2/611
Hei Hei

King Neptune

Chinatown
5.7/627
King Neptune

88 Hei Hei Reviews

Read reviews about Hei Hei here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Hei Hei. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Hei Hei.

Wonderful
5.5/6
88 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Lewis T.a year ago · 4 reviews

Superb food and amazing price! Well worth a visit. Best Cantonese in town.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynne S.a year ago · 1 review

Service and food was delicious. Perfect atmosphere. I have not tasted such delicious salt and pepper squid before. Ideally should have more than one toilet. Had to queue up to use when I first arrived.

"Excellent"
6/6
Laurence H.a year ago · 1 review

Excellent value. Very tasty food. Lovely friendly staff. Would highly reccommend. Went for sons birthday. We were looked after very well. We will return when next in Newcastle.

"Excellent"
6/6
patricia mary j.a year ago · 1 review

hi. it was really good. food excellent. lots of choice for vegetarians which is unusual. staff very courteous and helpful and we were not rushed. will be back |

"Excellent"
6/6
Alan P.2 years ago · 1 review

I worked in Asia for 30 years, the final 18 years I was based in Shanghai, China. Hei Hei is the closest I have seen in The North East which is typical authentic Chinese food, which I prefer to the Westernised Chinese food you get elsewhere. I can choose many dishes from different provinces in China, which many people have not tasted. I took an old friend and his wife who were pleasantly surprised at the dishes I ordered for us. I have taken former Chinese colleagues when they have been in town on business and all agree it is the most authentic Chinese food.

"Excellent"
6/6
Paul P.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our third visit since finding Hei Hei by chance one day out shopping. It is also the third time we have had a great meal with a friendly service at a good price. The special menu before 5pm are great value too and are the same quality and portion size as the evening menu.

"Excellent"
6/6
Carole B.2 years ago · 1 review

What a great find, booked for 6 o'clock (they have happy hour until 6.30 for £8.95). Nobody in suspicion that means it can't be good, how wrong was I within half an hour the place was full, You know it's going to be good when lots of Chinese are eating there. Didn't go for the special although it sounded lovely but went for the £22 set meal. Great choices, fabulous food, if I had to make one little comment it would be some of the waiters need to come across a little more friendly but all in all would highly recommend this restaurant.

"Excellent"
6/6
Christine E.2 years ago · 1 review

Awesome food! We went to Hei Hei for a friend's birthday both of us have recently been to china with school. The food was superb! The whole aubergine tasted like a cloud! The other guests had never been to Hei Hti before and will be going back! Thank you!

"Good"
4/6
katie b.2 years ago · 1 review

Female staff were very polite, we had a male waiter who really doesnt enjoy his job. Never smiled, quite abrupt, almost barked what he was saying. Spilt my hubby's drink as he was like a whirlwind, like he was on fast forward all of the time. His repsonse to spilling the drink was 'oh crap' didnt apologise. Food was ok, hubbys beef in black bean was lovely, my crispy shredded beef was like empty crispy batter that had been over done. Not much beef going on. Fried rice was nice. Sharing platter was tasty although ribs were quite fatty. Drinks were very expensive. All in all was an average night. Atmosphere was quite poor, our own company made up for it. Dont think I would book again I'm afraid.

"Excellent"
6/6
Paula L.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Although we were the only people eating, we were served promptly and didn't feel uncomfortable. We both had the happy hour menu...I had soup followed by sizzling beef with rice...my friend went for the ribs and sweet and sour king prawn. Both sets of meals were delicious...the only reason we left some was because there was a little too much for us both. A fabulously tasty and well presented meal...well worth the price, in lovely surroundings.