Reviews New New Bengal

GosforthIndian, Asian, Bangladeshi££££
Excellent
5.4/6
70 Reviews
New New Bengal Newcastle image 1
New New Bengal Newcastle image 2
New New Bengal Newcastle image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

70 New New Bengal Reviews

Read reviews about New New Bengal here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at New New Bengal. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about New New Bengal.

Excellent
5.4/6
70 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Turton A.18 hours ago · 2 reviews

Amazing tasty food and great service Lamb chops are delicious

New"Excellent"
6/6
Jo W.7 days ago · 2 reviews

The NNB was buzzing, loads of atmosphere and the food was delicious.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Louise R.14 days ago · 2 reviews

Authentic top quality Indian food, as always. Great service too.

"Excellent"
6/6
Derek F.a month ago · 1 review

Excellent food and service as always. Has the chicken korai this time- amazing!

"Good"
4/6
Richard H.a year ago · 1 review

We've now been twice to the New New Bengal (surely the next owners have to come up with something a bit more original?) and on both occasions the food has been exceptional but the service 'eccentric'. The menu blends some classics with a range of dishes we'd never heard of and the quality is superb, light and distinctive, quite the best Indian cuisine we've enjoyed. The service is eccentric in that the staff are friendly and helpful but - and this may be a case of a relatively new business still finding its feet - a tad chaotic. On both occasions we'd booked in advance but our arrival seemed to be something of a surprise, with the first time involving a 30" wait for our table. On being seated we were immediately asked for a drinks order, literally before we'd sat down and seen a menu, but taking our food order took much longer and one course failed to arrive at all. The demands of serving both the restaurant customers and a very busy takeaway service may be the cause of the confusion and the two areas would benefit from being kept separate. The prices are a bit on the high side but the quality of the food justifies the expense - in future we may be more likely to use the takeaway, slightly cheaper and with an extraordinary range of dishes (over 130!). In its relatively short new identity the NNB has proved very popular and as such may be the victim of its own success in struggling to meet demand - simply a couple more staff and a bit more training would likely iron out the quirks in the service. Overall a safe recommendation for an excellent night out - you just may need to be a bit flexible if you're hoping for a smooth flawless dining experience.

"Good"
4/6
Janet H.2 years ago · 1 review

We visited on a Saturday evening at 7.30 it was are first visit to the New New Bengal the menu is not vast and I thought a bit on the pricey side, the food was very nice but the chef must have liked his food very spicey were four of us and all of our dishes were on the hot side but we enjoyed it anyway, it was not that busy, the service was not good, by the time we came out it was very busy.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nick n.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Brilliant night with friends. The manager greeted us by name as we were shown to our table and later his father came to speak to us too, wonderful. The food was amazing, 2 members of the party tried dishes they hadn’t had before and were not disappointed. The restaurant never rushes you, the staff are attentive but not over the top. You’re given plenty of time to make your choices, and the food is served piping hot , Love this restaurant will definitely go again

"Excellent"
6/6
Margaret L.a year ago · 2 reviews

Lovely food and attentive staff. However spoilt by a group of men who were using bad language and inapproptiate conversation. They were obviously fairly well served and I understand it is a dilemma a for the restaurant but it should have been dealt with as it did spoil our first experience ofvdning atvthe restaurant. However we won't let this put us off returning

"Good"
4/6
Steve M.a year ago · 1 review

I’ve previously ordered takeaways from here and was impressed both by the service and the food enough that I thought I would book a table for me and my friends. The staff were courteous and took orders promptly, the food arrived a little later, however to my disappointment my lamb jalfrezi tasted a little of burnt spices, the lamb was also a little overdone and slightly tough to eat. Also I felt the restaurant while sitting in it was too bright. Because of my initial good experience though I will consider trying once more.

"Great"
5/6
Edgar G.5 months ago · 1 review

Looks like a small venue but it's larger than it looks, has a first floor, and looks very clean. Staff managed to fit in our requirements (party of 4 on a budget), and arranged for a pleasant evening with plenty of food throughout. Food was really good, and to top things off, its location is right at the start of the high street (next to Gosforth Hotel). Will be back!