Reviews Nutmeg Indian Restaurant

CliftonIndian££££
Excellent
5.4/6
584 Reviews
Nutmeg Indian Restaurant Bristol image 1
Nutmeg Indian Restaurant Bristol image 2
Nutmeg Indian Restaurant Bristol image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

584 Nutmeg Indian Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about Nutmeg Indian Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Nutmeg Indian Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Nutmeg Indian Restaurant.

Excellent
5.4/6
584 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Waiting time:Very good
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Steve L.an hour ago · 3 reviews

Our first visit very good and would recommend. Very impressed.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Katherine D.9 hours ago · 1 review

Incredible food, and friendly knowledgeable staff. Was worried my second visit couldn’t live up to the first, but it didn’t disappoint!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Tim D.a day ago · 1 review

Brilliant food - the best curry I've had in a long while. Good service too. Will definitely be back.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Tom H.2 days ago · 1 review

Lovely restaurant, lovely staff and even better food! Would highly reccomend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mark S.a year ago · 1 review

We were hosted with a warm welcome and excellent service throughout the night by all the staff we made contact with. The waitress who served us was conscientious, knowledgable, upbeat and professional throughout the night, despite having to serve many other tables. My parents remarked at how much of an enjoyable time they had and how wonderful the food was. I was also told that the food was cooked by the owner of the restaurant as the usual chef was in India at the time. I was heartened to hear this, as it shows how important food is to the people who own the restaurant. It was a memorable evening, made special by the attention to detail across the oh-so-delicious food and the outstanding service. Hopefully it won’t be too long before the next visit!

"Excellent"
6/6
Paul M.a year ago · 7 reviews

This was a supper with friends who we hadn't seen for some time. One of the party was in a wheel chair. The restaurant staff were brilliant. They helped with getting the wheel chair into the restaurant and then with transferring the chair at the table. The had an excellent meal; the Goan cod curry, Monkfish curry and prawn curry were all full of delicate flavours. Peshware naans, saffron rice and popadoms were all as they should be. It was a Monday evening but the restaurant was full; a good marker. The staff kindly ordered a taxi with a ramp and again helped with transferrance to the wheel chair and exit from the restaurant. The was a memorable experience both for the Indian cuisine and the extemely competent and kind staff. Highly recommended.

"Great"
5/6
M l T.a year ago · 1 review

Thoroughly enjoyed the food, a really nice mix of usual Indian classics and more gourmet dishes with a twist. They also had a Kerlan tasting menu on offer with a flight of wines to pair with the food - which looked tempting. The only negative comment I would make was that we were sat quite close to the door and there was a chilly blast of air as each new customer came and went. Perhaps a thick velvet curtain would do the trick - there is a little lobby between the outside and inside restaurant with a door, but this doesn't seem to do the trick. So to round up, Food delicious, nicely presented, unusual combinations as well as old favourites and excellent, attentive service. I would definitely recommend Nutmeg if you fancy a more upmarket Indian rather than the local curry house, no sitar music and flock wallpaper here, a more sophisticated take on the genre!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Bev R.8 days ago · 1 review

I have been wanting to visit Nutmeg for so long having read such great things and seen numerous awards being given. My chance at last came and it is safe to say I was not disappointed. This is authentic cooking, and very far removed from that usually served up to please our English palates. The poppadoms were light, crispy and without the usual oily sheen and the dips were exquisite. I could have quiet happily munched on my starter of onion bhajis all evening but that would have meant missing out on the monkfish curry. It was tasty, gorgeous food in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Make that booking now - I for one am already planning my return trip

"Excellent"
6/6
Steve H.2 years ago · 3 reviews

I have a love for Indian Restaurants that above all else stay true to Indian food. All too often the word Indian is associated with Anglo-Indian curry houses and traditional takeaways. Nutmeg takes traditional Indian foods from a variety of regions and showcases them with as minimal adjustment as possible to a Western market. It does so splendidly, and without fault. The restaurant itself is beautiful in its location and decor. The staff are friendly, courteous and genuinely seem happy to be there, no easy task in such an industry. I cannot fault the place. Easily the best in Bristol, and rivalled only by food I have had from within India.

"Excellent"
6/6
Shilpa D.7 months ago · 7 reviews

We had an early booking as we’d been busy all day. We were shown to our table quickly and given menus. We were asked if we wanted poppadoms & chutneys, we replied yes. They arrived but when it rains, they go slightly soft from having stood around, my husband went to have a quiet word & they were more than happy to change them. Service was faultless but the new young staff were not very attentive, when service was required, it took several attempts to attract their attention. Food was tasty & fantastic as usual. The atmosphere & ambience were great & the place filled up pretty quickly.