Reviews Plonkers

City CentreDrinks, British, European££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
74 Reviews
Plonkers York image 1
Plonkers York image 2
Plonkers York image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

74 Plonkers Reviews

Read reviews about Plonkers here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Plonkers. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Plonkers.

Wonderful
5.5/6
74 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
David C.23 days ago · 1 review

I booked ahead as I wasn’t sure how busy it would be and requested a table upstairs. Everything about the place was excellent and the portion size was generous. Well done Plonkers for a great meal experience.

"Excellent"
6/6
lisa F.a month ago · 2 reviews

Fantastic tasting food, really friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
John S.3 months ago · 1 review

Super little restaurant. Good service and excellent food and drinks. Can recommend the homemade steak and ale pie. Handy place to go before a night at the opera house.

"Excellent"
6/6
Adele B.3 months ago · 1 review

The staff and service are excellent. The food are great homemade dishes. Keep up the good work Plonkers. Cannot wait to return.We will recommend to anyone.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sally S.2 years ago · 31 reviews

Realising I was on my own for the weekend as hubby was away with work I made a reservation at Plonkers for Sunday lunch just for me. A little later I had a phone call to check that my table was for one and not 11. This mistake had happened before apparently. I arrived just before 1pm. My table was waiting with menu so I sat down and immediately was asked if I would like a drink. The lady explained the Sunday carvery was also available with a selection of meats. I chose the beef carvery which came with a selection of vegetables potatoes stuffing gravy and an enormous Yorkshire pudding. The meal was delicious and the service fantastic. I have been several times to this restaurant on an evening but never for Sunday lunch. I will definitely be back and next time maybe take my husband

"Excellent"
6/6
Jean D.2 years ago · 1 review

Really great atmosphere and brilliant, attentive helpful staff. We arrived later than expected due to traffic but staff were aware we were seeing show at opera house and got our meals cooked to order and with enough time to eat comfortably before show. Returned back after show and atmosphere still good with good music being played from the dj behind the bar. Saw some of the crew from show and enjoyed people watching and a good few gin/ tonics. Will definitely recommend and return when back visiting York.

"Excellent"
6/6
cath b.2 years ago · 1 review

A great welcome from the staff who provided friendly and attentive service throughout our visit. The chilli was hot but very nice and the lasagne was lovely. I can totally recommend Plonkers and I would definitely visit again.

"Great"
5/6
Anthony Q.2 years ago · 1 review

Very accommodating waitress who arranged a larger mezze starter to share and made us welcome. The fish mezze starter was very good and the main a hanging chicken kebab was also very tasty. The only negative was a male staff member who served the food and appeared defensive bordering on aggressive when asked a couple of questions I. E. Have you forgotten the glass of wine? This was asked because the rest of us had received our drinks several minutes earlier. His unfortunate manner resulted in a reduced tip.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sally S.2 years ago · 31 reviews

Having been to Plonkers a couple of weeks ago for the Sunday carvery I treated my husband and granddaughter. It didn't disappoint. What a lovely way to spend a Sunday. Will be back very soon

"Excellent"
6/6
Anne H.a year ago · 1 review

We have been going for lunch at Plonkers for the last 6 years and have always found the service friendly and excellent and lovely food, our last experience did not let us down.