Reviews Rothay Manor

AmblesideBritish, European, Contemporary££££
Wonderful
5.6/6
43 Reviews
Rothay Manor Ambleside image 1
Rothay Manor Ambleside image 2
Rothay Manor Ambleside image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

43 Rothay Manor Reviews

Read reviews about Rothay Manor here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Rothay Manor. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Rothay Manor.

Wonderful
5.6/6
43 Reviews
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
John W.19 days ago · 1 review

Lovely food, beautifully cooked and presented Good service and helpful

"Excellent"
6/6
Susan B.3 months ago · 1 review

Superb service, food worthy of the extra rosette, sticky toffee pudding maker needs to be knighted!! All in all very good VFM- we will return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda K.4 months ago · 1 review

It was Christmas Eve so it probably isn’t the night to review a local restaurant as they were, understandably, only serving their Christmas Tasting Menu and the majority of the diners there were people staying on a Christmas package. But, we knew all of that before booking it for our wedding anniversary and they had remembered that and served us complimentary glasses of fizz 🥂 on arrival, a lovely gesture. We had an excellent meal which was thoughtfully varied, excellently cooked and beautifully presented and served by staff who were friendly, attentive and extremely helpful. Although we’re generally not pudding eaters, the deserts were wonderful! We will definitely be going back.....on a normal evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
Janet M.4 months ago · 1 review

Absolutely delicious meal. All courses were excellent. Lovely relaxed dining experience. Can you get a dry prosecco on to the wine menu for our next visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Catriona S.5 months ago · 1 review

My husband and I visited on my birthday weekend. It was a last minute decision as we normally go to The Old Stamp House but they were fully booked. We chose to eat the taster menu and what a delight it was. The food was so tasty. Every single course, both our plates were empty. For me it was the food combinations on the plate that brought each dish to a whole new level. Rothay Manor Hotel is in a lovely setting (close to the centre of Ambleside), is tastefully decorated and the staff were very attentive. I would be more than happy to eat here again. All that was missing for me to make this a real top notch fine dining experience is more theatre in the serving of the food, more atmosphere in the restaurant (music not turned on until half way through our meal), more knowledge from the staff about what they are serving (our waitress got it wrong a couple of times) and a copy of the menu to keep (so you can compare with what your eating - so many flavours and textures to remember). For me I'd come back to try a Rothay Manor taster menu again. Why? Because I loved every course. A clever chef. I look forward to tasting his food again!

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris L.2 years ago · 3 reviews

We have eaten at all the best restaurants in Ambleside over the years but our first meal at Rothay Manor was fantastic in every aspect and beats all the others hands down. Booking on line was simple and they contacted us a couple of days before hand to see if any of our party had any allergies, which was useful as our friend is allergic to cream. On arrival the welcome was warm and friendly and we enjoyed some excellent well priced champagne in the lounge over looking the garden. We chose the testing menu and were not disappointed. The presentation of every course was stunning and at times very theatrical but the chef was keen to ensure that our taste buds were subjected to a wide range of taste and texture. The maitre d' was very welcoming and informative whilst the chef himself presented 2 course where he came to explain the techniques involved in creating the dish. The Stonebass was wrapped in vine leaves and covered in soil before heating to impart an earthy flavour. Wine was excellent and again very reasonably price and we took the Sommelier's recommendation. They even produced two separate cream free courses for our friend who has an allergy. The dining room was well decorated and tables nicely spaced to give a homely atmosphere where you could actually converse with your fellow diners. The meal was not rushed with a nice spacing between courses although the whole meal took over 2 hours. I will definitely be visiting again and recommending this restaurant to all our friends and family.

"Great"
5/6
Paul S.2 years ago · 1 review

We had dinner at the Rothay Manor Restaurant, we did not stay as hotel guests. Firstly, we had a warm welcome, then shown into the lounge for drinks and canapés. There is a good drinks menu and a reasonable choice of wines by the glass. The canapés, of which there were three, were excellent. The decor is minimalist and fairly austere, but do not let that put one off. As one would expect with a fine dining restaurant, the service was well paced with no rush betweeen courses. Breads with butter or beef dripping and herbs spread were provided. Our thoughts were that the crusts were a bit too hard, possibly as it was a Sunday and the bread was from a day ago. The amuse bouche was followed by starters of scallops with squid ink and one of artichoke. Both were excellent in taste and presentation. For mains we had the lamb three ways with baby roasted potatoes and the grouse. Again both were top quality dishes. I must comment on the roast potatoes, these were perfectly seasoned and had a wonderful earthy flavour to them, could have eaten twice as many. The grouse is cooked using a water bath thus allowing it to be both served correctly but avoiding the "rare juices" on the plate, which pleased my wife. Pre-desert and deserts were again excellent. Highly recommended is the chocolate dome which comes with a superb rose-chocolate fondant. The rhubarb is also an excellent choice. Desert wine suggestions are provided. Service was good, but could have been a bit more attentive during the dinner with regard to provision of water and ensuring we were not running out of wine (by the glass). Overall, excellent value for money.

"Excellent"
6/6
Joanne E.2 years ago · 1 review

We had a fantastic 9 course tasting menu at Rothay Manor. We have had many tasting menus and thought that this was excellent and also very good value for money. We were amazed that there were only 6 of us in the restaurant. We dined on Thursday 18 August so expected it to be full. The chef came out to explain all the dishes and it was quite theatrical with dry ice and gas canisters, etc. Will definitely be dining there again when we are next in the Lake District.

"Excellent"
6/6
Keith L.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our second visit to Rothay Manor since July. Our meals were superb.....prepared with great flair and imagination by Brandon, the chef, and his team. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, particularly Craig, whose passion for wine is highly infectious! Victoria was the perfect hostess and was very enthusiastic about the future plans for the hotel, which will now be a regular destination for us whenever we visit the Lakes.

"Excellent"
6/6
Carlos S.2 years ago · 1 review

Most wonderful cuisine ! This is one of the things you must do in your life: Have dinner at the Rothay Manor and enjoy the delicacies and flavour of Brandon Shepherd's cuisine. A really enjoyable experience with wonderful service worth of royalty.