Reviews Shane's On Chatsworth

HackneyBritish, European££££
Excellent
4.9/6
99 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Abbeville

Clapham
4.9/6487
The Abbeville

The Stonhouse

Clapham
5.0/6504
The Stonhouse

99 Shane's On Chatsworth Reviews

Read reviews about Shane's On Chatsworth here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Shane's On Chatsworth. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Shane's On Chatsworth.

Excellent
4.9/6
99 Reviews
Waiting time:Very good
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Gemma R.2 years ago · 1 review

Great atmosphere, lovely staff, wrath food and good value. Went with a friend who has coeliacs and the menu was clearly marked for that and other food requirements. Will definitely return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Philip L.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Great food and a great price, the wine list was also very reasonable and the service was friendly would definitely recommend to others. We had the steak!

"Excellent"
6/6
mathew w.2 years ago · 2 reviews

All in all an excellent place to come for dinner. The food is brilliant and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. I highly recommend Shanes!

"Excellent"
6/6
mathew w.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Really great food and in a lovely calm atmosphere. The Steak night on Thursday is excellent. Every time I've been here it has been enjoyable.

"Okay"
3/6
Andrew P.2 years ago · 1 review

I think Shane's is overrated and certainly overpriced. It's interesting food, no doubt about that, with some real inventiveness and a commitment to local produce – a little bit "Scandi" in its use of foraged ingredients (lots of lovely wild garlic, nettles, sea purslane, marsh samphire) and the presentation on wooden boards, etc. The word that characterises it, though, is meagre. I slightly resent paying £7 for a negroni that comes in a small primary school-style beaker. More generosity please! My starter of wild rabbit rillettes was fine, but the "pickled vegetables" comprised a single slice of vinegary courgette folded over. Come on! My family's starters were awful: over-salty, slippery smoked salmon pepared with beetroot; and a soft-shell crab in tempura batter, rubbery and with a chewy membrane of a shell beginning to form: not very nice and again meagre, with virtually no crab meat. The mains redeemed the meal (terrific chargrilled steak; a very meaty, rich and savoury dish of rolled, slow-roasted Muntjac deer with buttery dauphinoise potatoes; and perfectly cooked Muscovy duck breast with very more-ish wild garlic butter mash, the best thing on the plate) but the desserts were a bit so-what. My buttermilk and rosemary set cream with rhubarb and buckwheat shortbread stood out, with a very strong rosemary aroma and clean texture. But things like blood orange polenta cake are a little under-ambitious, the kind of thing you might bake at home. The wine we had was fabulous - a soft, raisiny Oltre Passo red from Salento, made with the primitivo grape. Controversially, I think Shane's does drink almost better than food. There's a lovely, curated short menu of whiskies, grappas and other spirits, so maybe go here for a few drinks and a really decent steak. The rest is trying too hard - and at about £120 for a family of three, not the bill you'd expect from a quite modest local bistro.

"Great"
5/6
Nicola A.2 years ago · 1 review

Intimate cosy restaurant with good quality ingredients and a simple menu. Staff were friendly and attentive. Somewhere to leave coats would have been handy (as it was a small space). But that's splitting hairs really. The atmosphere was muted and comfortable. Fairy lights and vintage mirrors. Feist and Nina Simone played in the background. There were some adventurous pairings of ingredients that totally worked: beetroot cured salmon, herbed set cream. Fully flavoursome food. Thanks guys. A truly enjoyable experience.

"Okay"
3/6
Alex L.2 years ago · 1 review

Really wanted to like this place based off of reviews. Had a reservation but due to apparent internet issues they didn't have it so we were told to wait 20 minutes. That was all fine, things happen and they were nice enough to give us a beer on the house. We did end up waiting 45 minutes though, and our starters quite cold in the middle when served so had to send those back, partner wasn't impressed with lack of veg options and given how basic the sides were, they were very over priced - one could get more interesting things for less elsewhere. Overall had the impression that kitchen had gotten lazy, with a good looking menu that really disappointed in reality. Service was lovely though!

"Great"
5/6
Stephen B.2 years ago · 1 review

Saturday lunch surprisingly empty for such a rated venue. Interesting menu well prepared food all 8 dishes well received . Service lacked sparkle and the food was very slow to arrive particularly the main courses given tthe empty restaurant. Hard to imagine the wait when the place is busy. Good on the quality of food , not so impressive on the service. Would try again if we had plenty of time to spare.

"Excellent"
6/6
Harriet M.2 years ago · 1 review

We love Shane's and this is why-- cosy atmosphere, kind, friendly and attentive staff, and amazing food. We went here with our parents so they could meet for the first time which of course is a bit nerve wracking, but we wouldn't have taken them anywhere but Shane's. We go all the time and we love it.

"Excellent"
6/6
Josh D.2 years ago · 1 review

Shane's was a great experience, the steak was perfectly cooked as i required. There a lot of average restaurants opening all of the time in Lower Clapton/ Hackney, so it is nice to discover Shane's that is somewhere I will go back too regularly on those all too precious nights out without the kids. Josh