Reviews Shish Mahal - Glasgow

City CentreIndian££££
Excellent
5.2/6
78 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Mister Singh's India

City Centre
5.6/6379
Mister Singh's India

Dalshannon Farm

Cumbernauld
5.6/6115
Dalshannon Farm

78 Shish Mahal - Glasgow Reviews

Read reviews about Shish Mahal - Glasgow here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Shish Mahal - Glasgow. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Shish Mahal - Glasgow.

Excellent
5.2/6
78 Reviews
Value for money:Great value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Gordon M.2 years ago · 1 review

Last time I ate in the Shish it was in Gibson Street...and my first ever curry was in the Shish....now that I am back in Glasgow it will be my regular...all the old favourites are still on the menu and loads of new stuff to try. I was stuffed...could not finish the food. Fantastic

"Excellent"
6/6
Moira H.2 years ago · 1 review

As always, great food and atmosphere. Good vegetarian choices. Love the decor and waiters appropriately very attentive. Parking can be tricky as pay meters round about.

"Excellent"
6/6
roger t.2 years ago · 1 review

I first went to 'The Shish' in 1966 shortly after it opened, and have visited it every time I have returned to Glasgow. The quality of the menu, cooking and welcome have remained of a constant high standard throughout all that time. This year's nostalgia visit was no exception.

"Excellent"
6/6
Agat P.2 years ago · 1 review

Great food every time we go. We usually order a lamb dish and it's always very tender, the quality of meat is really good. Garlic naan bread is amazing. Good value for money.

"Okay"
3/6
Walt M.2 years ago · 1 review

I use the Shish Mahal for many years ,before it moved to Park Road . As always the food was superb as was the table service . However what has let it down in my opinion is the withdrawal of the complimentary starters. It was customary that when settled in your at your table the waiter brought some popadoms and an assortment of dips ie Mango ,Indian pickle ,etc in a dish which had 4 samplers in it . On this visit we received nothing I feel that this is detrimental to the restaurant as it was a lovely welcoming gesture which has gone .A reason I feel that we returned again and again was for that lovely welcome we used to receive .Sorry but I have to mark the Shish Mahal down because of this . Don't know if we will hurry to return .There are plenty more superb Indian restaurants around the West End maybe time we tried another .

"Great"
5/6
Kathryn R.2 years ago · 1 review

We've been going to the Shish Mahal on and off for 40 years and have witnessed a few changes . The food is usually of a high standard. However on this occasion , I noticed that when my usual order of mixed Indian vegetable curry that there were not as many mixed Indian vegetables as usual . The other change was in the consistency of the Gulab Jamin which is normally spongy and delicious . Whilst they still had the same delicious taste texture it was rather slimy. I'm not saying I didn't enjoy my meal I'm just saying that it was a different eating experience but I have experience there before

"Excellent"
6/6
Ann B.2 years ago · 1 review

The Shish Mahal is our favourite curry restaurant. The waiters are so helpful and part of the experience, ensuring you all have a fabulous meal. Always very light popadums with spicy onions. The pakoras are great. My favourite main dishes are Lamb Khas Desi and Chicken Gingerial, both originally staff recommendations. Lovely tiles on the wall, beautiful linen tablecloths and napkins and a very relaxed atmosphere. Perfect place to take friends.

"Excellent"
6/6
John a.2 years ago · 1 review

second time at this restaurant and what a meal good quality plenty of it and very tasty,4 of us all had different choices and we all agreed it was the best food in years' would recommend the lamb tikka main course with a special tandoori roti, and try the mushroom pakora to start.the pakora starters are quite a large portion so be careful and don't bag yourself up before the main course, bill for 4 was £85.00 with two starters 4 mains two breads, bottle of pinot 1 beer and a cola, not bad for a top quality restaurant in the new west end of glasgow ,will be back on my next visit to glasgow

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter R.2 years ago · 1 review

I first ate at the Shish Mahal in 1964 when it was round the corner in Gibson Street. I know of no other restaurant that has maintained such an extraordinarily high standard of cuisine for 50 years!! Well done to Ali and all the staff and the superb chefs.

"Excellent"
6/6
William M.2 years ago · 1 review

I first visited Shish Mahal with student friends way back in 1967 when it was based in Gibson Street. I've lived in London for 40 years but never miss a visit to Shish every time I come back to Glasgow - it's always a highlight😁