Reviews The Aston Taphouse

City CentreBritish, Steak, European££££
Excellent
4.8/6
101 Reviews
The Aston Taphouse Newport image 1
The Aston Taphouse Newport image 2
The Aston Taphouse Newport image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

101 The Aston Taphouse Reviews

Read reviews about The Aston Taphouse here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Aston Taphouse. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Aston Taphouse.

Excellent
4.8/6
101 Reviews
Food:Great
Value for money:Good value
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Waiting time:Very good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Will N.2 days ago · 1 review

Great food. Nice place and setting. Will be back again!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Lucy C.6 days ago · 1 review

Lovely evening, great food and lovely atmosphere. Happy they accept our dine card.

"Excellent"
6/6
Samantha S.20 days ago · 1 review

Our server was amazing very attentive. Quality of food was excellent

"Excellent"
6/6
Jayne o.a month ago · 2 reviews

As usual, lovely food and lovely people to share it with

"Good"
4/6
Laura F.a year ago · 1 review

Four of us went for a meal at the Aston last night. The food was amazing, as always, but we sat down at our table at 7 and ate at 9!! I can fully understand Monday nights are busy and there were two big parties, but we were forgotten about and didn't have our order taken for over 30 minutes. On the plus side, they were apologetic and provided us with complimentary olives. When the food arrived, the dauphinois potatoes were dry and overlooked, as if our food had been sat around but the waitress was very accommodating in quickly getting the chef to cook some more. I will definitely be returning as I regularly eat here and the food never disappoints, and the slow service was a one off - I've never had this issue before.

"Good"
4/6
steve c.a month ago · 2 reviews

We visited on a Sunday 18.00 the pub was deserted. We were told straight away they had run out of all Sunday lunches and about 4 items off the all a carte menu. We ordered and waited and waited. I dread to think what the wait would have been if the pub was busy. Saying that once the food arrived it was exceptional we had a wide range of meals. Everyone enjoyed there food especially the steak and ale pie. So in conclusion I would definitely go back and try again maybe they were short staffed in the kitchen after what I suspect was a busy Sunday lunch service.

"Excellent"
6/6
Annie C.2 months ago · 1 review

I had been before the alterations and the Last Inn, as it's known now, is a great improvement. The restaurant is a proper room now and very comfortable. Lack of soft furnishings does, however, mean it gets a little noisy when full. The food has always been of a good standard and that hasn't changed. Service is good and the waiting staff are efficient and friendly. We will return!

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda A.2 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food, excellent services, excellent evening. Staff very attentive despite having a big party in plus other guests besides us. Highly recommended you try The Aston Taphouse.

"Good"
4/6
yvonne J.5 months ago · 1 review

Food was OK for the price but desserts were disappointing and over priced. Service was slow although the restaurant was busy. Not fine dining but reasonable pub grub. I had a nice flat iron steak and nicely cooked. I think it was left on the pass too long so was barely warm when it arrived. Due to eating with a group and the staff being so busy I didn't send it back as I was hungry. Probably wouldn't book there again.

"Good"
4/6
Tina H.5 months ago · 1 review

Nobody at the bar, had to wait quite a while before somebody came from the back. Service thereafter was excellent. Drinks served in super clean, polishes glasses with little extras (raspberry’ in Prosecco, juniper berries in the gin). Denver steak wasn’t as tender as declared, chips not included. Everything changed when the pup quiz started, did not see that on their web site. Was very loud but we were ready to leave at that time anyway.