Reviews The Cellar Door

Old TownBritish, European, Scottish££££
Excellent
5.3/6
356 Reviews
The Cellar Door Edinburgh image 1
The Cellar Door Edinburgh image 2
The Cellar Door Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

356 The Cellar Door Reviews

Read reviews about The Cellar Door here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Cellar Door. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Cellar Door.

Excellent
5.3/6
356 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Value for money:Good value
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Exceptionally Good
Service:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Jonathan M.3 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food. Excellent service. Will be back next time i am in Edinburgh.

"Excellent"
6/6
Chuck C.23 days ago · 1 review

So good , check this place out if you're in town

"Excellent"
6/6
Cristina B.22 days ago · 1 review

I had a booking and they were waiting fo me when I arrive in. The times were corect and the services was really kind. I recommend The Cellar Door for a lunch experience, the food is also amazing!

"Excellent"
6/6
Pat W.a month ago · 2 reviews

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was superb

"Good"
4/6
Michael D.a year ago · 1 review

We went down a lot of stairs to a rather dark ambience. The restaurant was very quiet on a Friday lunchtime, surprisingly so with a lot of folk walking around on Geo 1V Bridge in Edinburgh & The General Assembly on with 700 attendees. A young lady had greeted us at street level handing out cards giving 10% off. The service of food was not quick, given only 2or 3 other tables occupied but the prix fixee menu food was good especially the fish , chips (hand cut) and pea puree. The desserts were limited but there were no wafers with the ice cream or sorbets which I found very disappointing as I always like to have wafers or similar with my ice cream or sorbet. The bill was quite reasonable but despite having the 10% off card we were told that the "special" lunch menu took account of this so it did not apply. Overall it was ok for a lunch but anyone with walking difficulties would find the stairs a problem. There were a couple of tables at street level but one would feel quite isolated eating there. The waitress was very attentive but should have known what flavours of ice creams & sorbets were on offer without having to go and ask. With a plethora of eating places around here we felt that the location & ambience did not match up to others but the food we had was good value and freshly cooked and well presented.

"Excellent"
6/6
Laura B.2 years ago · 1 review

The Cellar Door is without a doubt one of my favourite restaurants in Edinburgh. The atmosphere and staff are both very welcoming, and the staff extremely knowledgeable about the food on offer. I had Cauliflower Three Ways, followed by butternut squash and red pepper risotto with blue cheese pearls, followed by Highland Sticky Toffee pudding, all of which were delicious! Would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later!

"Good"
4/6
k b.2 years ago · 5 reviews

Cellar Door was pretty warm and busy when we arrived. Had to wait 5 mins for our table even though we arrived a little after our booking time but this wasn't a biggie. Our waitress was chatty and helpful bringing some ice and opening a door to help cool me down - place was pretty warm despite the high ceilings. First starter of creamed goat cheese with beetroot was good and well presented but could have done with more than one very small toast to go with it, the walnuts were crushed so finely that I've only just realised what the decorative crunchy dust was! The other starter, broccoli and cheddar soup (soup of the day) was very tasty. Mains were mushroom risotto which was plentiful but could have done with more parmesan to add flavour and salmon fillet, both were well cooked. We chose raspberry cranachan cheesecake and sticky toffee for dessert. The cheesecake had chocolate mixed into the base, a surprise, but nice, no whisky tho like most cranachans I've had whilst the sticky toffee pudding sauce was yummy, the pudding part tasted of ginger which was odd. Service was good but very quick, felt like we were in California and there was another sitting of hidden diners waiting for our table!

"Excellent"
6/6
Lesley W.2 years ago · 1 review

Really good meal, nice to see good vegetarian dishes on the menu and we liked the Scotttish-themed dishes. The puddings were especially wonderful, and we had excellent service. There is a great atmosphere there too. If we had one suggestion it would be to lower the music volume a bit once the place filled up. Would certainly recommend The Cellar Door.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kimberly D.2 years ago · 3 reviews

We had a fabulous meal at The Cellar Door! It is a bit hidden but finding it was well worth it. The food was fresh, the menu had great variety and it was a great value. We also had a fantastic picpoul wine which is a new addition to the menu. Highly recommend a meal here if you are in Edinburgh!

"Excellent"
6/6
Richard V.a year ago · 1 review

With so much choice in Edinburgh The Cellar Door is a gem. We weren’t sure what to expect when we arrived but once down the stairs in the Cellar we were welcomed with warms and smiles. The menu at first looked limited but full of amazing local choice which did not disappoint. Great place and definitely recommend.